Feeling Not Quite Right

Posted on March 25, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

Right after posting last night, I was still a little hungry :-/ That ain’t right! I guess snack food at dinner maybe isn’t the most filling option. Oops. Oh well, I knocked out another one of these apples from the dining hall and felt happy again. If only that were the simplest part of my night…

So Delicious Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

So Delicious Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Doesn’t thisย So Delicious yogurt with milk chocolate peanuts look excellent? Well, looks can be decieving. As soon as I opened the yogurt, it smelt a little moldy. “But it looks fine!” I thought, so I dressed it with vanilla stevia and the Sunspire drops. I took one bite and knew it was off–yuck! In the trash all this went ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It wasn’t even close to expired, too!

Milk Chocolate Peanut Sunspires

Milk Chocolate Peanut Sunspires

So I grabbed more peanuts…

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

…And gave it another shot. This time, thankfully, things tasted right and this was delicious. But I couldn’t help but feel “dirty” with the taste of mold around for most of the rest of the night. Have you ever eaten something that’s gone bad accidentally? I’m the worst at throwing out food, so I’ve eaten a lot of “questionable” produce, but that yogurt was beyond question.

Purely Decadent Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Purely Decadent Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Where was my head tongue last night? Instead of oatmeal, I was craving someย Purely Decadent chocolate peanut butter swirl coconut milk ice cream; why deny a craving? It wasn’t “right”, but it damn was tasty ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy to have discovered an all-natural chocolate peanut butter ice cream I like. If only my wallet and health could be as happy for me.

Perfect Foods Cranberry Crunch Lite Bar

Perfect Foods Cranberry Crunch Lite Bar

Contrary to the title and the previous night, this morning I woke up feeling excellent; don’t you love it when you can spring out of bed fresh like you never even went to sleep? I didn’t feel like I needed much even, but I grabbed 1/2 a Perfect Foods cranberry crunch lite bar. These things taste great when they’re fresh from the pack; after a week or so lying around the fridge half opened, well, that ain’t so right.

11 Miles In 1:38:45

11 Miles In 1:38:45

Did I mention I was feeling good? 11 miles good. And I didn’t even get bored between all the distractions. For the first time in a while, I was the first one to the gym; then again, not much competition at 6:35. My other option would have been to run later on after my midterm, but for some reason getting it done early just felt “right” even if it did put me to a rush.

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Honey Maple Peanut Butter, Pineapple Chobani With Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Honey Maple Peanut Butter, Pineapple Chobani With Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Pineapple Chobani With Mini Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Pineapple Chobani With Mini Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Breakfast was a quickie and eaten in class while taking a midterm(oh yes, I have coordination). There was pumpkin oatmeal with honey maple protein peanut butter. On the side, I had aย Pineapple Chobani topped with Trader Joe’s mini peanut butter cups; I’m not sure if the flavor combination was the best, but when two amazing things come together how can it not be even more amazing? And I’m so grateful to have the instructors I do. I give them every reason to think I’m incredibly weird; instead, I get a “good luck on the race and early happy birthday” on the way out.

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

Now I’m snacking on an apple and coffee. Great combo, isn’t it? Good Lord, I think I’ve gone through a whole pesticide laden apple tree this past week. I just need to make lunch and then attend my last class before Spring Break at 1! And those 2000 more words of paper I have to write… that’ll happen sometime, too ๐Ÿ˜‰ย And time sneaks up on you because it’s the last day for Averie’s lunch box giveaway.

Don’t Sweat It

Sweat during your workout? Definitely. But one of the best things you can do for mental health is not stress what you do not control. Some people find this through acceptance; some people find it through a higher power. Whichever way is right for you, it’s important to recognize there are some things in life we don’t choose but we can prepare for. Just today, I couldn’t choose what passages would be on my midterm. But I could prepare for whatever came my way and reduce stress through that. How do you find acceptance over what you can’t control? Or, for a more fun question, What’s the last thing you ate that was well-expired?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “Feeling Not Quite Right”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Hehe fun question!
I had some spinach yesterday that was expired by three days, which is a lot for greens. But it looked ok, and–more importantly–smelled ok… so I ate it :). I’m still here!!

I had a few bad experiences chugging from the milk carton. Too many moldy milks and now i ALWAYS use a glass! I dont stress that my statistics teacher can barely speak english because i cant control it. I just roll with it. Also, I made a google account and my google reader does not update me when you post? It does with everyone else’s blog but not yours. You changed your feed though right?

the feed should just be http://www.foodmakesfunfuel.com or http://www.foodmakesfunfuel.com/feed. It always takes a couple of hours for google reader to register

I once bought some hummus, got it home and then realized that it had expired a week earlier, I ate it anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ It tasted just fine. I think of expiry dates as suggestions!

I actually just put some milk in my coffee that was expired… I have gotten so much better in recent years at letting go of things that I can’t control. I usually let myself have about 30 seconds of freak out time and then I just deal with it. If I can’t change it, I can’t change it!

pineapple chobani! I need to try that flavor STILL!!!! I love the addition of mini PB cups! (trader joes?)

such a good question and it made me realize that this is so try! I HATE vomit, as I shared in my earlier post in my blog, however I know its a human process and i will vomit sometimes in my life and I think that I just have to come to terms with this and let it happen! when I think about it more, it is a natural processs and usually happens beacuse there are things the body is trying to get rid of, so I am beginning to accept it more and more ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve eaten some questionable stuff as well!

Ahhh I am such a control freak. I just keep reminding myself that I have no control over anyone/thing except myself. Sometimes its works.

sadly i probably eat a lot of things that have expired. mostly granolas and stuff so it actually doesn’t taste off at all. i have drank milk well past it’s expiration date. hey, i can’t afford to throw stuff away! haha. miraculously i didn’t get sick or anything although it was hard to choke the stuff down

Oh I am so BAD at looking at expiration dates. I don’t even want to know half of the stuff that I have chowed that was bad. Now my husband is the complete opposite. He WILL not eat anything that is within 1 day of expiring. haha…opposites attract?!

oh, i am so lame – i don’t eat anything that’s expired! chalk it up to the food sanitation course i took in college…if it’s past date i’m not eating it!

You can eat and take a midterm at the same time?? I’m impressed!

Bleh! Eating something that’s gone bad is the worst. In my experience, DAIRY is the worst of the worst with this situation ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Definitely greens that are considered “past date” if they make it that far are by all means good enough for me!

Oy, my roommate and I had to stop buying regular cow’s milk after one too many spoiled cartons. Now I drink almond milk!

Oh, man….that cone looks delicious…I could use one of those right about now.

As for what I can’t control — I realize that I will always crave chocolate. To control my desire for chocolate, I have a little piece just about every night. THat way I never overdue it or deny myself what I want.

As for things that I ate well-expired…yikes, dare I even admit this…but stale cheeto’s. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a weak moment.

Bummer about the yogurt–I hate throwing out food! I’m the same way though–if it’s anything dairy-ish, I won’t touch it if I think it’s off.
Your breakfast looks amazing!!

my whole career is about letting go of control – no matter how hard i work, it doesn’t mean i can get what my goal is. it is insanity, but i have learned to get used to it.

Currently enjoying some So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk with my overnight oats that’s been expired for quite a while.

I wish I could’ve eaten that pineapple chobani. mold said “no go!” though….strawberry banana just didn’t fill the tropical void.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

