The Sound Of Food

Posted on March 26, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

White chocolate roses and blogging for pitons,
bright copper oat bowls and warm oven mittens,
brown paper lunch bags filled with cheese strings,
these are a few of my favorite things.
Pomegranate Chobani With Organic Dark Chocolate

Pomegranate Chobani With Organic Dark Chocolate

I didn’t intend for a “favorite foods” post. But when you’re eating, how can you not just want to eat all the best? And when you’re a blogger posting what you eat, that’s what you blog about! I think it’s safe to say pomegranate is pretty much my favorite flavored Chobani, and with my favorite dark chocolate by Endangered Species it’s just a winning duo.

Endangered Species Organic Smooth 70% Dark Chocolate

Endangered Species Organic Smooth 70% Dark Chocolate

And since there were only 4 more squares left, how could I not finish off the organic smooth dark chocolate; as always I’m a little sad to see this one go after only 2 days of eating, but with Easter and a birthday coming up, I feel as though it might be chocolate season 😉

Oatmeal With Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter

When the paper’s written
And the  computers off
And I’m feeling tired
I simply reach for my butter toffee peanut butter
And then I don’t feel so wired

5-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookie

5-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookie

And even after that I was feeling a little “snacky” so I grabbed a 5-ingredient peanut butter cookie from the freezer and called it a night. I try not to have “a favorite recipe” and to love all my recipes equally. But… anything that’s filled with that much peanut butter and so simple you can make in a dorm environment is pretty special.

Coconut Milk

Coconut Milk

This morning, I bit the bullet: I opened up a can of coconut milk. Have I mentioned, coconut milk is among my favorite things? But you can only eat so much at a time, and I’m only one person, so 2/3rds ends up going bad. I decided to look at it the other way, though, and notice that 1/3 will be eaten before I have to throw it out 🙂 That made me happy as a clam

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

Twister Power Coconut Milk Yogurt

Twister Power Coconut Milk Yogurt

Dare I say, it doesn’t get better than the combination of Justin’s chocolate almond butter and fresh coconut milk. Simply words can not describe it. And I always worry about protein on Fridays during Lent; usually I can not give this a second thought and go with cravings, but on a day when I have to ignore any meat cravings it makes me focus a bit more. Since So Delicious coconut milk yogurt is creamy and dreamy, but not protein-rich, I added 2 tablespoons of Navitas Naturals‘ twister power powder, which is a 6g protein and antioxidant boost from hemp, maca, and cacao. If nothing else, this tasted good. It was just the right amount of chocolate sweetness with a clear hemp flavor and a bit of maltiness. A new favorite thing? We’ll have to see…

Mental Health Week Wrap-Up

I hope you’ve all enjoyed some stress relieving tips. If nothing else, they’ve helped me get through this midterm week, which I’m happy to report will be all done once I get my butt to the Classics department to turn in a hard copy of my paper 😀 Stress can be our biggest enemy or out biggest motivator; we just need to learn how to control it. Tonight, I’ll repost all the tips when it’s time for the giveaway!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

21 Responses to “The Sound Of Food”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

You always get so poetic when you have a paper due Evan!

The poet that didn’t know it? 😉

I never leave your blog not wanting some Chobani with dark chocolate! You’re killin’ me! : ) Have a great weekend, Evan!

Love the poem!!! 😀

You are correct about the stress – I’m still working on controlling it myself. Ack! LOL

Looking forward to your tips – and the giveaway!!! 😀

Nice! You made it through mid-term week without too much stress! Enjoy break!

Do you always have to waste the coconut milk?

Lol, well I’m not wasting it like I’m pouring it down the drain. It just happens to go bad before I eat much of it usually. For storage tips, transferring it to a plastic, seal-tight lid container is a lot better than keeping it in the aluminum can

Haha, I just mentioned a few favorite foods on my post today too…great minds think alike.

I can’t wait till Lent is over either…there will DEFINITELY be chocolate.

I’ve never heard of Justin’s chocolate almond butter! I thought there was just the regular, honey, and maple. Hmmm…I may need to stock up on that on my next grocery trip.

Wish i could find all of the great stuff you use… I just hopped on the coconut train but i am still in the discovery stage…

That yogurt looks amazing! I need to give it a whirl because I seriously was Pavlov’s dog right now.

I have the same problem with coconut milk! annoying. And I want to try that twister protein powder…sounds good!

Congrats on being done! Enjoy your break!

Where do you get the naturally nutty? It looks awesome and toffe is a fave flavor of mine. Can hardly think of a better combo.

It’s from naturallynutty.com

I love coconut milk too!!! I buy it both in can and carton form. It’s so good on everything! Have you ever tried making coconut rice?

So I seriously need to try coconut milk in oats. WHY have I never thought of that? You’re a genius dear 🙂

I have *got* to try your 5-ingredient peanut butter cookies. They look so much like the ones my memere used to make and anything with that much peanut butter goodness is going to be awesome. 😀

Loved all your stress tips – they really helped while I’ve been stressing this week! 🙂

Oh, how I love the Sound of Music 🙂

Love your version of it too 🙂

Haha, love your rendition of “My Favorite Things.” I am diggin all the coconut representation in this post:)

Do you like the chocolate almond butter more than the peanut butter? I have only tried the peanut butter!

Not really, It’s just holding me over until I can get the peanut butter again

I can just imagine Julie Andrews running through the aisles of whole foods singing your rendition of “favorite things”.

Yay for you being done with midterm! Must be such a relief!!! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

