Jars, New Products, And Raw Desserts

Posted on March 27, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I hope you’re all liking the wellness giveaway! You have until March 31st to enter.

Tazo Rest

Tazo Rest

One Lucky Duck Raw Chocolate Chip Cookies

One Lucky Duck Raw Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was not terribly hungry for dessert last night while watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution. Did the chicken scene just make anyone else want to give up on meat? I couldn’t go that far, probably, but it makes me feel good that the meat I choose is wild, natural, or organic and minimally processed.

I must have been affected by a British accent because I snacked on “tea and cookies”, with Tazo Rest and One Lucky Duck‘s chocolate chip raw cookies. This was the last sample from One Lucky Duck I had and it did not disappoint. I liked how–very easily–there was a flavor distinction between the cookie and the chocolate, which isn’t easy to do at all with raw foods. It also didn’t have that raw, fall-apart-in-your-hand texture but wasn’t stale. They’re a bit pricey but a good treat for a raw foodist.

Almost Empty Nut Butter Jars

Almost Empty Nut Butter Jars

I couldn’t help but noticing not one but 2 of my nut butter jars were on their last leg. And since I had just had a chocolate chip cookie made mostly out of cashews, this couldn’t have been a more perfect pairing 🙂

Oats With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter And Raw Cashew Butter

Oats With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter And Raw Cashew Butter

On top was the very last of P.B.Loco’s cookie dough peanut butter and Love Raw Food’s cashew butter. There was definitely more nut butter than oats so this was delicious and rich. And I love just being able to toss the jar out when you’re done 🙂 Is it just me, or is it still impossible to get the jar satisfactory empty no matter how much you work at it?

Chia Moon Drop

Chia Moon Drop

I woke up at 5, and took an awful long time getting back to bed(hence not waking up again until 9, yikes!) :-/ Sometime then, I got snackish and went for Uli Mana‘s chocolate chia moon drop. It was a good choice. I think I got through half of it before even realizing where the chia were; that was a good thing since they still sort of freak me out. It was nice and chocolaty, too. I wish it were richer(maybe add some cacao butter?), but it was still pretty great.

Honest Foods Pomegranate Walnut Crisp Granola Plank

Honest Foods Pomegranate Walnut Crisp Granola Plank

I woke up at 8, put on my glasses, and then woke up again at 9. Oops. Don’t you hate when that happens? After deciding what was for breakfast, I grabbed a new Honest Foods granola plank to try out.

Pineapple Chobani With Pomegranate Walnut Granola, Pumpkin Oats With Walnut Butter In A Mighty Maple Jar

Pineapple Chobani With Pomegranate Walnut Granola, Pumpkin Oats With Walnut Butter In A Mighty Maple Jar

Pineapple Chobani With Pomegranate Walnut Granola, Pumpkin Oats With Walnut Butter In A Mighty Maple Jar

Pineapple Chobani With Pomegranate Walnut Granola, Pumpkin Oats With Walnut Butter In A Mighty Maple Jar

Another almost empty nut butter jar? I spoil myself 🙂 In the Mighty Maple jar went pumpkin oatmeal and a scoop of walnut butter; the pumpkin, peanut, walnut, and maple all work so well together! And I had a pineapple Chobani with about 1/3 of the Honest Foods granola plank. I like the ideas of the grab-n-go granola, but the pomegranate flavor in the pomegranate walnut crisp was just not there. It also wasn’t very crisp? It was much more chewy and soft. All the walnuts and peanuts made me happy, though, so clearly I wasn’t complaining much.

I’m sure you’ve noticed Cancun 2010 is no where in my Spring Break plans, haha. In case you were wondering, today I’m heading home to see my dog for the first time in 4 weeks. It’s felt like forever! Tomorrow, I have my 1/2 marathon to run along the New Hampshire coast–not looking forward to the weather. And then Monday is the day I become one really old teenager. We won’t celebrate until Easter with the relatives, though(OK, there’ll be a little celebrating ;-)).

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Jars, New Products, And Raw Desserts”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Have fun visiting your dog! If I hadn’t seen my dog in a month I’d miss her so much! Have fun with the half-marathon in the morning. Hope the weather cooperates a little bit at least!

Any exciting birthday plans? Did you luck out and get spring break during your birthday?

Chocolate chip cookie dough pb?!? How did I miss that one?

Have fun reuniting with your dog!!!

Very jealous of your One Lucky Duck samples!

those raw cc cookies sound good! finally a healthier cc cookie?
i think you are the best person to ask this next question: i need an all natural whey protein bar. i haven’t a clue where to look or trust first. i can’t have soy, don’t care much about the sugar, but do care about taste. any ideas?

I was just talking about this with Mama Pea, except it was the opposite where she wanted ones with soy and not whey, lol. But I can definitely help! Below are all the reviews I’ve done for soy free protein bars. My favorite is the Amazing Grass one, but I think that’s also the priciest. I would also easily recommend any of the Perfect Foods, all of which I loved. http://foodmakesfunfuel.com/product-reviews/bars/amazing-grass/chocolate-peanut-butter-protein-bar/ http://foodmakesfunfuel.com/product-reviews/bars/jay-robb-bars/cashew-coconut/ http://foodmakesfunfuel.com/product-reviews/bars/jay-robb-bars/Fudge-brownie-jay-robb/ http://foodmakesfunfuel.com/product-reviews/bars/perfect-foods/

Good luck with your race! As many jars of nut butters I go through a week, I never eat oats in a jar. They are just too small 😦

why dont i have these in my pantry: One Lucky Duck Raw Chocolate Chip Cookies

wtf?! I want those!!!!!!!!! I didnt even know those existed, and now i want.

And the super quiet reference to your bday…OMG I would love to take you out for a night of underage drinking, some crazy revelry, buy you a lap dance and generally paint the town up with you. And we could talk about Jaime Oliver’s stuff in between rounds of shots 🙂 Havent seen the show but i am on board with his kids/obesity stuff and yeah, i wished i had taped it.

I can’t wait to read your race report Evan! I know you are going to ROCK it!

Enjoy home and your doggy! Good luck on your race!

That chicken scene was SO gross. I can’t believe the kids still wanted to eat the patties!

P.S. Have fun in New Hampshire 🙂

happy early b-day, Evan!!! Hope you have a good race tommorow and enjoy your down time and pupper:)

It’s funny that you should mention snacking during JO’s show last night. All the shots of his nice dishes got me hungry, so I got a snack–then they started showing that chicken scene, and I suddenly lost my appetite!

How come I can’t find those granola planks anywhere?! What section are they in at Whole Foods?

I know I’ve seen the bars(though I can’t recall the planks) with the children’s food. This was a sample from the company to review


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

