Peanut Butter And Black Beans

Posted on March 29, 2010. Filed under: Recipe | Tags: , , , , |

Hi, all! Since we’re eating out tonight for my birthday, I knew I wouldn’t be home to post, but still wanted to leave you with something. Well have I got the thing for you. The Peanut Butter Boy announced his new recipe contest today, and this is going to be my entry! It’s also a favorite recipe of mine and something I plan on making for Easter. It’s gluten-free and absolutely delicious(I promise you can’t taste the black beans), so try it out, won’t you?

Gluten Free Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies With Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-ounce can black beans, unsalted, drained
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 ounces butter
  • 3 ounces greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons gluten free chocolate chip(Trader Joe’s recommended)
  • 2 tablespoons Sunspire all-natural peanut butter chips
  • 1/2 cup White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup neufchatel cream cheese

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Puree the black beans until they are completely deconstructed(this can also be done with a potato masher if need be). In a bowl, whisk together the butter, softened, eggs, greek yogurt, cocoa powder, sugar, and extract. Add in the black bean puree, chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips and fold until all is incorporated. Prepare an 8×8 brownie pan and pour the batter into it. In a separate bowl, mix together the peanut butter and cream cheese. Add in small dollops on top of the brownie batter and swirl decoratively. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the center is fully set.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Peanut Butter And Black Beans”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

This looks so interesting – chocolate and peanut butter is right up my alley & I think I’ll need to try this just to see if you really can’t tell there is beans in there!

You know I have been intrigued by this before…the black bean part. The dairy/eggs wont work for me but I have seen it done on the net and the verdicts range from “still tastes good but there’s something a little ‘healthy’ about them” to absolutely fantastic and really dense and thick. But yours have eggs, yogurt, cream cheese, dairy…hello, if these arent good, nothin’s good!

And Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This looks like the pan of brownies I just made, but the black beans totally creep me out! I’ll have to get some courage to try it out;)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! YOU HAVE SO MUCH TO CELEBRATE! HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME WITH YOUR AWESOME FAMILY!
LOVE,BARBARA

Happy Birthday Evan! I made some pb brownies with cream cheese frosting last week, but mine were definitely no where near as healthy as yours look! I hope you had a FANTASTIC day!

Black beans and peanut butter? I never would have imagined the two combined. It sounds really interesting ad delicious though!

Yum! Hope you had a great birthday!

I am SO excited about this fabulous recipe!! Healthful, high-fiber brownies – YAY!!!! THANK YOU!!

HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 🙂

Black bean brownies are awesome! I bet this rendition is great too! Love it Evan! 🙂

Sounds like such a great recipe!! I love black beans and have YET to eat them in a sweet dessert. Very creative of you to put pb with beans…it ALMOST sounds healthy!!

Happy Birthday Evan!!! Hope you’re doing well 🙂

[…] Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Black Bean Brownies with PB Cream Cheese Frosting – from Food Makes Fun Fuel […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

