Would You Eat It?

Posted on March 31, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

*Tonight’s your last chance to enter the wellness giveaway!*

My jaw dropped when this ice cream creation popped up on my Google Reader.

Yes, you see that right:Β turkey ice cream. They describe it as “super premium chocolate ice cream with morsels of real turkey covered in dark chocolate swirled with sweet potato, chocolate fudge and cranberry sauce“. It’s set to be released in October, and you might not believe my first thought: Awesome! Yes, I was actually excited by this. Letting the shock past, I realized this will probably have a lot of less-than-natural ingredients in it, and the meat will be from questionably treated animals, so I will not be partaking in Turkey Day ice cream when it’s out. That’s not to say I might not try to recreate it in the kitchen with some vegan chocolate ice cream and Tofurkey πŸ˜‰ It then occurred to me that the reason I wouldn’t eat this might very well be different from a lot of yours. Maybe this doesn’t sound exciting to you. Or maybe you don’t want meat, ethically raised or not. That had me thinking all day what would other people not eat that I am and why?

Maplemazing Salad

Maplemazing Salad

Maplemazing Salad

Maplemazing Salad

Could I interest you in a maplemazing salad? This was something I threw together on a whim and it was so damn good. It was also vegan, sodium-free, and did I mention amazing? The center was a bed of spinach surrounded by maple baked tofu On top, I mixed together 1/2 can chickpeas, carrot shreds, golden raisins, maple syrup, and no-salt indian spice blend(the secret ingredient), and topped it off with Tierra Farm‘s maple glazed nuts. Holy yum! I was worried about the indian spice blend at first but it added just the right level of heat and a twist to keep it interesting. Meanwhile, I think nuts on salads are my new addiction.

Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Cream

For the first time in days the rain stopped; to celebrate I grabbed some So Delicious coconut milk chocolate ice cream. This is creeping up to be my favorite chocolate ice cream; there are only a handful of recognizable, non-GMO ingredients and it has a great sweetness for such a low sugar content. This was dreamy to scoop on and enjoy the day.

Coconut Chocolate Chip Oatmeal

Coconut Chocolate Chip Oatmeal

I might have been a little too excited for my oatmeal this afternoon. This was just a flavor combination I’ve been dieing to try: coconut shreds and chocolate chips This did not disappoint, either. The coconut on its own was nutty enough for the salty oats, and the chips were just bursting with sweetness. I also forgot what a great snack oats can be when you have the time to sit down and enjoy them–so filling!

Grass-Fed Burger, Mustard Sweet Potato Chunks Over Spinach

Grass-Fed Burger, Mustard Sweet Potato Chunks Over Spinach

My first dinner back was about as classic as they come a burger with sweet potatoes. To keep things interesting, I tossed the cooked sweet potatoes with mustard and then microwaved them for 3 minutes(they were a little hard). It wasn’t quite as flavorful as I was hoping but it was good for a change of pace. The burger, of course, was cooked to perfection, though now I’m looking forward even more to grilling over the weekend.

So, back to the opening question, would you eat the turkey ice cream? I’d also be very curious to know which dishes from today of mine you’d not eat and why. Call me curious πŸ™‚ On a much different note, I’d gladly eat these snacks or any of this prize giveaway

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

27 Responses to “Would You Eat It?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I would totally eat turkey ice cream…my husband and I frequently make a trail mix of almonds, mini chocolate chips, and turkey jerkey. The combination of sweet and savory is such a winner in my book!! YUM!

I totally wouldn’t eat the turkey ice cream πŸ˜€ It just sounds unpleasant to me.. plus, turkey’s out of my diet now!

You should try visiting Japan if you’re interested in crazy food concoctions! They have stuff like ice-cream ramen.. and very very questionable icecream flavors.

I def. wouldn’t eat the turkey ice-cream, gross! That has to be their April Fool’s Day joke!

haha, obviously i wouldn’t eat it since i don’t eat meat. i’m trying to imagine being a meat eater again though and even then i don’t think i’d want it. the only meat i can imagine in ice cream is bacon for some reason.

your salad looks great! i love nuts on salads too. i think they really take them to the next level.

I’m not sure how I feel about the turkey part, but the rest of the ingredients sound so good I just might have to try it! I have a feeling this is an April Fool’s thing though…

I wouldn’t eat the turkey ice cream and I am not that big of a coconut fan for the oats. I can’t believe you had a SODIUM-FREE salad and thought it was amazing with your salt addiction! πŸ˜‰ I’m still waiting to chow down on some grass fed beef this summer!

I’m sorry, but no. That sounds really unappetizing to me. Maybe its because I’ve never, in all my life, been much of a meat eater but the thought of eating it in ice cream makes me feel a little queasy. My sister saw this though, and she thinks it looks absolutely delicious. So to each their own.

All your other meals look great to me..maple tofu salad looks genius, and coconut chip oatmeal looks and sounds dangerously delicious (if you know what I mean)

As long as it didn’t have real turkey in it, I’m down.

:O I don’t care if it’s organic, farm-raised, fair trade, or otherwise, I don’t think I will be trying the turkey ice cream. I did see a recipe for chicken soup ice cream in a cookbook – but I think I’ll skip that one, too πŸ™‚

Your maplemazing salad looks delicious! It’s so much fun to throw together something tasty πŸ™‚

oats with coconut and chocolate chips. nice. I have a link in my recipes to all my Oats Creations and some of them are things like coconut oats and butterfinger oats and the like πŸ™‚

Turkey ice cream. Ummmm no. Even if i ate meat, or dairy, i would never pair them. Or coconut milk ice cream with a morning star chic nugg. Those flavors do not go.

THe peanuts. Real reason you dont feed nuts, and in particular peanuts to a baby, is because peanuts are very high in aflatoxin which is a neuro disruptuer and, well, toxin. All nuts have it but peanuts are the worst. They are “dirty nuts” (twss) and holisic types shun them in favor of almonds, cashews, etc.

And of course, choking hazard. And of course sensitizing the gut to allergens before there is what is called “complete gut closure”. Which occurs around 1 yr of age when the intestinal mucosa fully “seal” and the membrane is not poroous. Prior to that, it’s like pouring battery acid on skin if your gut lining is not fully sealed. Lactation education training 101 πŸ™‚

What else now that science class is over.

Oh and good to know that you are not as catholic as i thought you were. honestly, i thought you were Full On into it. I felt like such a heathen in your presence. LOL Glad you are not signing up for the priesthood or anything πŸ™‚

I am definitely trying the turkey ice cream! YUM!

Why wait until then!? do it now!!!

Bleh– that ice cream does not appeal to me at all! And not just because I’m a vegetarian. There are few food combos that gross me out, but I think you (and Turkey Hill) just found one!

I am hoping that is an april fool’s post on turkey hill’s part, ’cause turkey ice cream sounds nasty! Though, JONES soda did make turkey flavored soda once.

I like the Luna & Larry’s dark chocolate coconut milk ice cream better than So Delicious, but I think it is more expensive. I had a coconutty day yesterday too – french toast with coconut – SO good!

I love ice cream but there’s no way I would eat Turkey ice cream. I need my ice cream to be a sweet treat and not funky.

No no and definitely no! Haha I’ve always had a weird thing about mixing sweet with savory. My dinner just doesn’t belong in my dessert!

Weirdly enough, turkey ice cream sounds tasty. I always love the sweet/ salty combos like chocolate pretzels or honey and peanut butter…that said, I am also a vegan so I won’t be eating that ice cream anytime soon! I will be experimenting more with sweet/salty combos though. πŸ˜‰

Turkey ice cream…that’s gross.

I’d take the citrus kombucha hiding in the back of your lunch photo though πŸ˜‰

That ice cream sounds so gross! I don’t think Turkey ice cream is for me πŸ˜‰

The thought of turkey ice cream kind of made me throw up a little in my mouth. Not my thing AT ALL!

Um…that ice cream sounds totally delicious to me for some reason. I want it!

I would for sure try it… it’s hard not to be apprehensive about it, though!

No. Nonononoo I would not eat the turkey ice cream!! I have a panic attack if any of my food (that doesn’t go together) touches on a plate, this ice cream just give me the willies. If my gravy runs into the jello salad on Thanksgiving? I get a new plate.

There is an ice cream shop in NYC, Max and Mina’s http://www.maxandminasicecream.com/, where they make all sorts of weird flavors, with some normal ones thrown in there. They make a lox flavor (smoked salmon) that I tried and it was not so good. So I won’t be trying anything like turkey ice cream. Everything you eat looks good to me, though. Except coconut, but I’m not a big fan.

I totally thought that ice cream was an April Fool’s joke at first. It sounds nasty!! Chocolate covered turkey? Really??? Oh goodness. Sorry!

gahhhh turkey ice cream…there is simply no way i can do that. yep, just no way.

however, i will take one of everything else in the post. i LOVE the idea of tossing tofu in maple syrup – definitely adding that to my to-do list.

have an amazing weekend, and congrats again on that 1/2 mary race last weekend! i think i forgot to leave a comment to congratulate you πŸ™‚

i am both shocked and delighted by that turkey ice cream. i want it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

