Reuniting With Avocadoes

Posted on April 1, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Do you love avocado? I. Love. Avocado. But I forgot I did; today was a relearning of that of sorts.

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

The sun hadn’t quite came out by 11, but I’m really a morning runner, so I scarfed down this apple and went out to see what damage the rain had done to Providence. Surprisingly, the path wasn’t awful! How good since I needed to run up and down it 3 times to get the mileage I wanted.

11.5 Miles In 1:37:57

11.5 Miles In 1:37:57

I ran 11.5 miles just under 1:38. On the 3rd turn, I headed back down Hope street specifically so that I could stop at the happiest place on earth: Whole Foods; there’s something so amazing about ending a run here. The plan was to shop around, grab something for lunch, hurry home and prepare it there. I spent so much time browsing the prepared food that by the time I chose I just had to eat it then. All the meat dishes looked “meh” and overpicked while the soy options smelt heavenly(but that would have gone against Lent as “prepared soy”.

Honey Spiced Turkey, Avocado Massaged Kale With Roasted Cashews, Indian Cauliflower And Peas

Honey Spiced Turkey, Avocado Massaged Kale With Roasted Cashews, Indian Cauliflower And Peas

Since I didn’t plan for lunch there, I only had my camera phone to capture this; but it really was an amazing meal. The turkey wasn’t dry, and had a nice spice blend on the skin with a surprise note of cinnamon; I never would have guessed I’d like that there(TWSS). BUT by far the most amazing thing here was the avocado massaged kale with roasted, salted cashews

.

Avocado Massaged Kale

Avocado Massaged Kale

H.O.L.Y. Y.U.M. Massaged kale is the dish I heard about most when raw foodists say “Well, we don’t use that much preparation all the time. Most of the time we just rub avocado with kale and are set with something simple like that.” They are too modest. This combination is amazing. It’s so much creamier than I would have given it credit for. Does anybody have a recipe they’d be willing to share? I think I want to make this for Easter!

Avocado With Sea Salt And Hemp Oil

Avocado With Sea Salt And Hemp Oil

You can say I had avocado on the brain all afternoon–I couldn’tget enough! For a snack, I halved one and topped 1/2 with Foods Alive hemp oil dressing and sea salt and the other half with just sea salt. Why don’t people snack on avocadoes more? They’re so refreshing and filling!

Tazo Refresh 0 Cal Tea

Tazo Refresh 0 Cal Tea

To wash that down, I had my last Tazo 0 cal tea, this flavor Refresh. I’ll admit: My first reaction was not a favorable one. It reminded me a bit of mouthwash. But it also completely grew on me, and by the end I was feeling refreshed and wanting more! I am loving the inflow of stevia sweetened beverages into mainstream brands.

Juniper Original FroYo

Juniper Original FroYo

It was SO nice out today–we hit 60 and with sun! This is big for New England lately. I think frozen yogurt from Juniper was definitely in order. What is it about sweetened, tart whey that tastes so darn good? I feel like it’s not the cleanest thing to eat, but then again no one’s eating this everyday so it’s OK in moderation.

Divine White Chocolate With Strawberries

Divine White Chocolate With Strawberries

While I was waiting for dinner to cook, I read this article concerning chocolate reducing heart taxation. It’s a good read if you want to convince yourself that all that Easter candy is fine! It made me hungry for some of my favorite white chocolate by Divine. Of course, then I read the part about white chocolate not counting because of the absence of cacao powder; I guess I’ll just have to have dark chocolate later to compensate 😉

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Fries

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Fries

I still had 1/4 lb of beef  to use up or freeze before tomorrow; the latter sounded like the better option. I made in a pan the grass-fed burger while roasting somesweet potato fries in EVOO at 350 for 45 minutes. Delicious! But now I can’t wait to grill over the Summer. Do you grill? If so, what’s your favorite thing? Mine is by far burgers, and all kinds! Salmon, tuna, veggie, beef, turkey, even bison.

If you didn’t read my morning post, I announced the Celestial tea winner. If you didn’t win that, you can enter one of these giveaways for Nature’s Path, Oikos, Vitalicious, and lunch boxes!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to “Reuniting With Avocadoes”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I love me some avocado- and white chocolate:)

I love to watch my husband grill! haha…grilling totally intimidates me unless it is on the George Foreman!!

on the grill..ummm everything?!?!?! omg i was watching news and RI got hit so hard with rain!! the warwick mall lot was in like 4 feet of water! i couldn’t believe it! so nice to see teh sun, isn’t it?? glad you got in a great run! LOVE avo’s! i haven’t ever had them just plain out of the skin, but it is such a good snack!!

I can’t stand reading your blog. At least not until I can hire you as my personal chef!

haha, you sound like me with my last couple avocados the other day…from english muffin spread, to guac dip, to WTF-grab spoon and EAT!
So good-must be the green!

I LOVE ending runs at WF. Welcome to the club 🙂

Do you walk home from WF’s?? LOL. Your lucky to have grocery stores so nearby. Fries look good.

Grilled salmon and portobello mushrooms! Can’t wait until summer!

!! Sounds like another method of making fishiness YUMMINESS! [so far only salmon burgers have conquered that feat]

Favorite grilled thing is veggies!! Zucchini and eggplant especially!

I have a love/hate relationship with avocados – sometimes I love them & sometimes I hate them. Not sure why!

I was loving the New England weather today – heard NH is suppose to get in the 80s on Saturday – woo hooo! I am a huge fan of Tazo Refresh, but I usually just get it on ice from a teabag at school, no sweetener. I can see how added sweetener might make it mouthwash-y.

I looove veggies on the grill! My dad also makes a pretty mean grilled salmon!

Evan love that you’re into the massaged kale! I personally think it’s just fine with how you did it but options include lemon juice, salt, pepper, red peppers/blended with soaked cashews (which is the base for my kale chip coating), also nooch mixed into say the avocado..you can go anywhere with it. SEriously please make my kale chip recipe since i now know you like creamy kale, omg it’s heaven. No dehyd? Oven door ajar 200F, flipping and watching for maybe 90 mins.

ANd yes, i love to grill me up some bison. Sounds awesome 🙂

Running injuries. I hope you can “fuel” it and it just will go away on it’s own LOL

I’ve never had massaged kale….but i might have to soon!

Your Whole Foods selection looks awesome! I’ve been hearing more and more about massage kale lately, I’m really eager to try some.

Though I’m not a huge fan of white chocolate, I have to admit that bar with strawberries looks insanely good!

Great job on the 11 miler!

I seriously LOVE my grill. If you haven’t had a grilled grass fed burger, you are seriously missing out!

I wish my runs ended at Whole Foods!!! And yes, half an avocado with sea salt is PERFECTION. Have a great weekend, Evan!

mm, avocado massaged kale?!?! Sounds excellent!! I love them both.
Favorite thing to grill? Burgers. Yeah, boring, but what can I say? I LOVE a summer burger!
As for an Easter recipe to share, we’ll see what happens. My aunt typically puts a grand Easter meal together but she is injured and on bed rest this year 😦 We’ll see what happens! LAst year it was incredible, and it was one of my first blog posts!!

I love your blog, it makes me want to start my own! Any suggestions on how/what site to use? Thanks and keep up the healthy eating!

I use wordpress(wordpress.com). From what I can tell, people are a lot more happier with it than blogger

Thanks! I’ll give it a try 🙂

Total avocado addict here. I love pairing it with mango and berries in a fresh salad.

I pretty much grill all year long. As long as I can get to the grill and it is not too cold out, it’s ON!!!

I love grilled everything, really. I can not imagine life without a grill.

i adore avocado + kale salad, except i always always make guacamole + kale salad instead, with lots of red onions, lime juice, sea salt, and minced red pepper. try it! 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

