Oops, Was I Supposed To Fast?

Posted on April 2, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I’m 110% distracted by my breakfast and reading the closed captioning on the Today Show right now, so if this has a bazillian typos, that would be why.

Chococonut Nature's Path Chewy Granola Bar

Chococonut Nature's Path Chewy Granola Bar

Nature’s Path sent me a few of their granola bars to try and this one had been freakin’ call my name: chocolate and coconut? Yes please! This bar was super sweet–like a candy bar. I’m surprised it actually had more whole grains than sugar, too; that’s a plus. But it wasn’t very “coconutty” even if the chocolate was pretty amazing. If you want to avoid the Quaker Oats bars and have your kid not know the difference, the Nature’s Path ones are brilliant. Otherwise, I think there are better and more nutritious bars.

Pumpkin Oats With Mighty Maple, Maple Cashews, And Maple Butter

Pumpkin Oats With Mighty Maple, Maple Cashews, And Maple Butter

2 things were amazing last night: Grey’s Anatomy and this bowl of oatmeal. And neither of them were very pretty, either. But I assure you the combination of mighty maple, whole roasted cashews, and gritty/sweet maple butter was a little bit of heaven. It was weird not having my pumpkin oats salty; I don’t know if I liked that part. But otherwise this was divine chocolate.

I started watching The Marriage Ref with Kirstie Alley, Jimmy Fallon, and Sheryl Crow last night; to my great surprise, they were actually pretty funny! But I was beat, so I turned in early and was asleep probably by 10:30. Glorious.

For breakfast, I wanted a big slice of German’s Chocolate Cake. Not happening? I can do better.

Coconut Milk Oatmeal With Dried Cherries, Chocolate Cherry Greek Yogurt

Coconut Milk Oatmeal With Dried Cherries, Chocolate Cherry Greek Yogurt

Coconut Milk Oatmeal With Dried Cherries

Coconut Milk Oatmeal With Dried Cherries

After making this, I remember hearing that you’re supposed to fast on Good Friday and have 1 “meal”. 1 meal?! I have like 5 or 6 a day. If I ate 1, I don’t know how I’d function; even if I took a rest day, my hunger would be haywire. Then it occurred to me that I’ve never actually fasted on good Friday or any other day. No one enforced it in my house, so why start now? Have you/do you fast? Or how do you fast?!

Besides that, the breakfast was amazing; could it even be called a breakfast without Green & Black’s chocolate? Clearly not. In a plain Chobani went cherry butter and a little sweetener. I think that’s why I like plain yogurts the best: You can doctor them up however you want. And I’m still working on that can of coconut milk I opened a while ago, which tastes just as fresh; coconut milk on oatmeal makes it incredibly rich and satisfying. For me, a “German’s Chocolate Cake”, even though it gets its name because of German’s Brand Chocolate, entails chocolate, coconut, and cherry. But apparently it isn’t those flavors for everyone! So what makes a “German Chocolate Cake” to you?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Oops, Was I Supposed To Fast?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I think the cherry is the key ingredient in German Chocolate Cake. I was never very good at fasting. Maybe that’s why I’m a retired Catholic?

Your version of the cake looks so much better:)

they sent me a couple boxes of those granola bars but I am not really a granola bar fan. Guess i will give em a shot.

The coconut is what makes German Chocolate cake for me…without that I feel it is just plain old cake! 🙂

oh ive been waiting to try those bars thanks for the review

I usually fast for yom kippur because my 2 best friends are jewish (I’m not really anything) and I support them. it is SO hard, just eat a lot the night before, drink water, and concentrate on other things.

yeah, i can not even think about fasting
i would most likely strangle someone (Im extremely non pleasant when i haven’t eatin)
ha! ill take my food please, sorry God(:
anywhoo, i love your blog as well as all the yummy foods you consume and i read it a lot so i figured i should stop blog creepin and introduce myself, my name is Taylor
hope you have a good day, keep up the grand bloggin!

Cherry butter sounds good. I love all the flavors in your brekkie. Mmmmm…
I don’t fast on Good Friday, but I also eat meat on all the Fridays in Lent. I’m not really religious, I just like the idea of sacrifice so I give something up every year (this year: baked goods). I have no idea what the actual rules are. I red on someone else’s blog that it actually ended yesterday???? All I know is come Sunday morning I’m going to have myself a little feast.

Cake for breakfast is the BEST. Even if it’s only cake inspired. 🙂 Also, I have seen one episode of the marriage ref and I thought it was hilarious! I want to watch more…

Oh man…I’ve never fasted. I don’t think I’d be very good at it. Or at leats not very friendly while I was doing it.

Amen. I’m waiting for the day I have to fast for an operation and I’ll be the grumpiest patient on the floor

I don’t really have any advice. If I have to fast after 8 PM for a doctors appointment, that is pushing it 😉

German Chocolate Cake to me = chocolate and coconut…not so much the cherry in my mind.

I love making cake-inspired bowls of oats–hence my carrot cake oat bran obsession!

Chocolate and coconut definitely make the German Chocolate Cake to me 🙂 Awesome combination!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

