Hungry Nights And Cookie Dough Mornings

Posted on April 3, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Last night I played Hungry Hungry Hippo. Except there was no board game and I was the hippo.

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Covered Egg

Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Covered Egg

I was really really excited to try the new Trader Joe’s milk chocolate peanut butter cup. I mean, how could it not be good?!

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Egg

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Egg

I diced it up and put it on some So Delicious plain soy yogurt sweetened with alcohol free vanilla NuNaturals. Trader Joe, I feel you took advantage of me. This was not like an all-natural peanut butter egg 😦 The ratio was all off, and I don’t even think that was really peanut butter; it was more like chocolate peanut butter. I think the best all-natural peanut butter egg will be just coating the inside of a plastic egg with chocolate and filling it with peanut butter–done.

Nature's Path MMMaple Pecan Bar

Nature's Path MMMaple Pecan Bar

I was equally really excited to try the 2nd of two bars Nature’s Path sent to me; this one was MMMaple Pecan. This smelled ridiculously good. It had a very “New England” aroma–love it! The flavor was a bit of a let down after that. It wasn’t really sweet, or really salty. It just was. But it also was probably the healthiest of any of the Nature’s Path granola bars I’ve reviewed, so kudos for that. But did that fill me up? Not a chance

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Maple Almond Butter And Maple Butter

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Maple Almond Butter And Maple Butter

If this wasn’t about to fill me up, I was going to retire, pack my food bloggin’ bags, and move to Boca Riton. I made a batch of pumpkin oats topped with Justin’s Maple Almond Butter and a little bit of maple butter with sea salt. Oh God this was good, and filling! It was a little cruel to eat this while watching The Best Thing I Ever Ate: Bacon. I. Love. Bacon. And I love maple bacon, in particular maple tempeh bacon. Two more days of Lent and I’m not giving in!

Raw Cashew Butter

Raw Cashew Butter

This morning I slept in embarrassingly late :-/ The part that bugged me was just not knowing when to run anymore. I decided to eat breakfast first, run later. In the meanwhile, I made raw cashew butter, since I loved Love Raw Foods‘ so much. It was actually one of the easier nut butters I’ve made! I just turned on the food processor for 10 minutes and voila. And what could be better for breakfast than freshly nonroasted nuts?

Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Cashew Butter, Lucuma Yogurt With White Chocolate

Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Cashew Butter, Lucuma Yogurt With White Chocolate

In some plain yogurt I added 365 brand agave and Navitas Naturals‘ Lucuma Powder which made such a nice, malty sweetness, and on top were a few white chocolate chips. In the oatmeal was Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cashew Butter. Yes, you read that right.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cashew Butter

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cashew Butter

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cashew Butter:

  • 1 scoop cashew butter
  • A few, scant drops vanilla extract
  • Chocolate Chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon agave

Oh. My. God. If you like cookie dough at all, you must try this. The vanilla entirely makes this dish, but you have to watch out not to overdo it. It’s even better microwaved a little so the chocolate melts in to the cashew butter. Do it! Speaking of doing it, I just need to get out there and run before the day gets away from me. We have big plans for dinner; let’s just say the cashew butter was just a prelude 😉

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Hungry Nights And Cookie Dough Mornings”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Happy Saturday Evan! Thanks for starting my morning out with a smile! As always! 🙂

Chocolate chip cookie dough cashew butter? Amazing.

You had me at cookie dough Evan! Have a great Saturday!

oh i bet that’s good.

Haha, I often refer to myself as a hungry hippo on those days when I seem to be a bottomless pit–it happens to all of us!
Your cookie dough cashew butter sounds amazing–for some reason I always have a tough time using up cashew butter as quickly as my nut butters. I now have the perfect use for it!!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cashew Butter sounds like something out of my wildest food fantasies. Genius!

Sorry to hear the PB Egg wasn’t up to snuff. It’s rare that a TJ’s product will let someone down…but when it does, it’s very disheartening.

Ooh yeah Cashew butter is definitely like cookie dough…maybe that’s why I like it so much.

I’m intrigued about your dinner plans… and can’t wait to eat Easter goodies of my own:)

Bummer about the PB cup! I do love hungry hungry hippos 🙂

Disappointing PB eggs, oh no….Trader Joes is usually so good!

Your chocolate chip cashew butter sounds good but I don’t like cashews. In fact, I have an almost full (as in, opened) bag of raw cashews Oh! Nuts sent me in October – you want ’em? If you do, send me your address.

EVAN– I spend 10 minutes today trying to explain to my friends about the new turkey ice cream that was coming out. Finally, one of my friends said, “Are you sure it wasn’t an April Fool’s joke?” Ohhhhhhh. 🙂

It was, but I didn’t *know* it was at the time of that post. They announced it was just a joke the next day. I was totally on board for it! Lol

Mmmm I need to try Cashew butter!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

