Easter 2010

Posted on April 4, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

All this post made me want was cheese. I don’t eat cheese much but when I do, God, do I love cheese. I’m not even sure I understand the bastardization of it in the first place. It’s milk processed with enzymes to the point of having little to no lactose. Sure, let’s all bastardize Velveeta, but then again I wouldn’t call that real “cheese” to begin with. Real cheese is an art.

Next Generation Organic Garlic Parsley Cheddar Raw Cheese

Next Generation Organic Garlic Parsley Cheddar Raw Cheese

Keeping the theme of the night “raw”, I had some of Next Generation’s Dairy organic raw garlic parsley cheddar cheese. Soooo good *drools*. And if you were  to tell me something about this complete protein with organic dairy fat and raw enzymes wasn’t healthy, I wouldn’t believe you. Skip the Velveeta and stuff yourselves with this. By the way, it scares me that my spell check finds nothing wrong with “Velveeta”, but type “kombucha” and let the red squiggles go flying!

French Toast Oatmeal, Pomegranate Chobani With White Chocolate Wonderful

French Toast Oatmeal, Pomegranate Chobani With White Chocolate Wonderful

I was surprisingly hungry right when I woke up. Instead of running, I made myself breakfast and started food prep. Hot cross buns have nothing on french toast oatmeal. Yum! And dark chocolate, white chocolate, peanut butter–whatever you put on a pomegranate Chobani tastes delicious.

Raw Vegan Brownie With Coconut Oil

Raw Vegan Brownie With Coconut Oil

Finally I was ready to run after we went to Easter Mass. For some quick energy I had a raw vegan brownie with coconut oil schmeared on top. I don’t know if it was this sudden heat wave, improper hydration, or too much casein at breakfast, but the first bit of running was definitely uncomfortable.

Banana

Banana

Eventually, I got into my groove and did 9.5 miles around the neighborhood at a great pace. I refueled with a banana while I showered, cooked more, and waited for the relatives to arrive. Among my dishes was my Irawnic Salad

Irawnic Salad

Irawnic Salad

Doesn’t that look amazing? I finally got around to making my own and it was heavenly. I can’t wait to make this recipe more often. It was so simple, too!

  • 2 bunches organic kale
  • 3 tablespoons vinegar
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 1/2-2 avocadoes
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 cup cashews roasted with sea salt

In a bowl, mash the avocado with the lemon juice and vinegar.Massage the kale until well coated. Top with diced red onion and salty cashews. Dear Lord, is this good. It’s “irawnic” because the salad is completely raw except for the roasted salted cashews. I like to think of it like the fatty bacon slices in an otherwise “healthy” salad 😉 and that’s why it’s ironic.

Easter Table

Easter Table

Easter Table

Easter Table

Easter Table

Easter Table

There was so much good food. But I never feel pressure to eat much differently at holidays than on regular days. In fact, I make it a point to choose 3 things, and just eat those. Since there is always leftovers, I know I’ll be seeing all of this for the next few days, and that way it’s like each meal is “new”.

Parmesan Cauliflower, Maple Tofu, Irawnic Salad

Parmesan Cauliflower, Maple Tofu, Irawnic Salad

For my plate, I had irawnic salad, roasted parmesan cauliflower, and maple baked tofu. Yum! This was perfect and just what I needed to eat. The salad I think was a hit; even the maple tofu got a few fans among the meat eaters. There was no love lost hereon skipping the ham(at this meal, at least). I had seconds on the salad and tofu.

Birthday Cake

Birthday Cake

Birthday Cake

Birthday Cake

Dessert was easiy my favorite part 🙂 Since my relatives are always down for Easter, we also celebrate my birthday with them.I was very particular about my cake, but that made it just the perfect thing when it came out. It was Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free vanilla cake made with 3 organic eggs and coconut oil instead of canola. The frosting was a vegan buttercream made with earth balance and on the side was a little organic coconut shreds.

Birthday Cake With Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Birthday Cake With Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

It was dreamy. Seriously, this was one of the best cakes I’ve ever had. And I think everyone else shared that sentiment. It was perfectly sweet and moist, and you would never thing twice about the “gluten-free” texture. Bob did me well for my birthday 😀 On the side was a scoop of dairy/soy-free So Delicious coconut milk vanilla bean ice cream. Between the cake and the ice cream, vanilla beans were flying everywhere!

Irawnic Salad And Melon

Irawnic Salad And Melon

A few screaming cousins, Disney World slide shows, and pots of coffee later, I made a raw snack plate. I figured the salad wouldn’t really keep well, so I’d have those leftovers first On the side was some cantaloupe and honeydew melon, all covered in sea salt. Glorious.

I was supposed to go back to school tonight, but the day totally wiped all of us out: Church, cooking, cleaning, little cousins, etc. Not to mention I wasn’t packed and there were leftovers bursting out of the fridge Instead, we mustered up the strength for a small Whole Foods run and then leftovers for dinner.

Honey Ham, Grilled Asparagus, Roasted Carrots

Honey Ham, Grilled Asparagus, Roasted Carrots

Now the ham makes an appearance. It’s from Whole Foods, so it’s completely natural and nitrate-free. The best part of this meal was purposely avoiding these 3 and other foods at lunch so that it didn’t even feel like leftovers! Admit it: You wouldn’t have known if I didn’t mention it 😉

Well, my Easter rocked. How about yours? If you posted it on your blog and I didn’t comment, I promise I read it. I was on and off my computer all day catching up with things when I was allowed a break from being the 3 wheel on the Wii. Like I said, there’s so much I want to and have to do before I can think about school again, even though Spring Break ends now 😦 Perhaps I’ll make a chronographic list! That’s one mental health tip that’s never out of style.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

24 Responses to “Easter 2010”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

What recipe did you use for the icing on that cake!? It looks absolutely delicious! Vanilla birthday cake is definitely one of my weaknesses!

My mom took care of the cake actually(after I just told her all the ingredients to use). It was just a mixture of room temperature earth balance, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. Maybe around a 1:3 ratio earth balance to sugar?

i am in orange county, ca and we had a 7.2 earthquake. it seemed like a minute long. i have no plans for the rest of the day because we might have a 5.0-something and it might cause more damage than the 7.2.

happy easter! glad you got to celebrate your bday with family too.

Oh wow – that cake looks amazing; I love Vanilla cake -and Bob’s always tastes as good as the real thing!
I love cashews too!
Great early run for the day – do you plan out how many miles you want to run or how do you decide?

MMMMM i’m drooling over that cake!

How did you get the name for the salad? I think it’s a great idea. Happy Easter!
i love that some things never go out of style… like mental health 🙂
Katherine

The cake sounds delicious and so does the real cheese. 🙂

The brownie with coconut oil looks incredible!

Raw Vegan Brownie With Coconut Oil-nice. Im with madeline.

The cake. Holy yum. GF and vanilla, coconut oil and the vegan buttercream. If any one of those things suceeds, it’s great. The fact they ALL succeeded in one cake…epic mouthgasm.

The fact that you only choose 3 things b/c there will always be leftovers. OMG please rewrite that daily. I had to use this motto over and over around xmas on my blog b/c i was cranking out the desserts left and right and ppl were like but averie how do you do it? Im like, i dont eat it all, and certainly not on the same day, and there will always be leftovers!

Hey Happy Birthday! You have a very cool blog and your cake and brownie looks delish!

Vanilla bean and coconut are two of my favorites. That looks like such an amazing cake! Glad you had a good Easter!

I can’t believe that Velveeta doesn’t bring up the red squiggles. Is that masquerading food such a part of our everyday speech?? Ah well, your cheese-as-art looks heavenly. Now THAT’s real food 🙂

Your Easter spread looks delicious! We had beef and asparagus over here because my in-laws are all carnivores – but we had some good cake 🙂 Happy late Birthday!

Glad you had a great Easter. Mine was just “ok”, but not bad at all.

Mmmmm…beautiful birthday cake!!

Irawnic salad…lol.

Totally agree about the cheese thing, too. Velveeta is NOT real cheese, and when cheese is done right, it is an art form. A delicious, delicious art form 🙂

Wow what a great looking birthday cake! And that salad looks fabulous too 🙂

YUM so much good food! love the name of that salad “the Irwanic salad” haha

great run!!! when are you doing the boston marathon?!! (if you are doing it this year, my apologies for not knowing!) but you should do it soon if you aren’t!!

I love your theory of eating 3 foods, then you can have 3 more for leftovers, but they don’t even taste like leftovers because its new food that you didnt try the day before!!

happy easter!

Ok, that cake looks insane! I must go on a hunt for the bob’s redmill mix. Pronto!

The brownie looks really good, I am craving one now haha.

It looks like you’ll have a lot of delicious meals over the next few days.
Happy Early Birthday!

Genius idea to add coconut oil on top of your brownie. Yum!

Happy Birthday Evan!

Hi Evan!! So glad to hear you had a great Easter. 🙂 Great food never hurts! I did my trip to chinatown and got some dimsum, then made homemade dumplings that sucked more than i ever imagined. 😦 BOO.

happy early birthday!!! I bet it’s going to be a great one!!!

Hey! I drooled over your bday cake (part 2) lol. I don’t understand what ppl have against cheese?! Unless it is the unholy orange color (hello kraft chedder/marble). Real cheese has lots of lactose. I have made my own yogurt cheese, cheese curds (have you tried cheese curds!- so good from the farmers market)whey cheese, bakers cheese etc. I strained yogurt, added paprika and voila. No real bastardization took place! Your cauliflower looks so good too! Happy birthday REVISITED!
Barbara


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

