Candy Bar Oatmeal

Posted on April 9, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Shall we start with the obvious? I eat a lot of of candy bars, particularly chocolate bars.

Vivani And Endangered Species 70% Dark Chocolate

Vivani And Endangered Species 70% Dark Chocolate

I’m not complaining. Remember when I said here that I want to aim for at least 1oz of dark chocolate a day? I wasn’t kidding. That would be a “tasting plate” of the last of my Vivani 72% dark chocolate and some Endangered Species organic 70% dark chocolate. This boy knows what he likes. Of course, we can’t eat candy bars all the time.

Oatmeal With Justin's Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Justin's Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

That’s when we make oatmeal taste like candy. Almond Joy, anyone? After reading this post on Heather’s blog, I was reminded how amazing coconut milk and grains are together. I don’t have a rice cooker, so oats will have to do. The richness of organic coconut milk pairs so well with Justin’s chocolate almond butter; it’s beyond words.

Who needs and Almond Joy? I have oatmeal.

Chococonut Nature's Path Bar

Chococonut Nature's Path Bar

I woke up bright and early for a run, because I have so much to get done today I wanted for running to be out of the way. This Nature’s Path Organic bar definitely tastes more like a candy than granola bar. I still don’t get much of a coconut flavor out of it :-/

11.5 Miles In 1:39:18

11.5 Miles In 1:39:18

I think the dark chocolate must have worked, because I pushed through 11.5 miles on the tready at a 7.0 pace, which is faster than I was doing before. While I know it’s the running outside that’s boosting my speed, I’d like to think it’s dark chocolate. I can hope, right?

Madhava Vanilla Agave Nectar

Madhava Vanilla Agave Nectar

Madhava recently sent me a box of their agave nectars which I was super excited to try and review. Agave, as you probably know, is an unrefined, vegan sweetener noticeably sweeter than sugar. There’s plenty of scandal around its actual properties I could get into but won’t now. The bottom line for me is that it is just a form of sugar in the end, but one of the ones I’d rather eat than refined white sugar. And when they’re doctored up with flavors like this vanilla, what’s not to love?

Oatmeal With Milk Chocolate And Peanut Butter, Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Oatmeal With Milk Chocolate And Peanut Butter, Vanilla Greek Yogurt

I sweetened plain yogurt with the vanilla agave, and made my own peanut butter with 365 brand smooth and a squirt of vanilla agave. If you like a soft, mellow vanilla tone to flavors, this is perfect for you. It wasn’t as intense as a vanilla bean, but definitely added intrinsic flavor. The peanut butter I’ll tell you tasted just like what you get in a Reese’s cup; the Scharffen Berger milk chocolate and sea salt on top totally enhanced the experience. Let’s compare:

Vs.

Oatmeal With Milk Chocolate And Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Milk Chocolate And Peanut Butter

I’ll take my oatmeal, thank you.

What was/is your favorite candy? Growing up, I was always a Reese’s and milk chocolate peanut butter supporter. My all-time favorite had to be the Reese’s Fast Break. A bag of the “minis” would not last long around me. My lifestyle transition to an all-natural diet has been made simpler by Newman’s Own Organics’ milk chocolate peanut butter cups and Sunspire’s milk chocolate coated peanuts. But I still have secret hopes that someday someone will make an all-natural Fast Break, and a few recipes I have yet to try to mimic this.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “Candy Bar Oatmeal”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

As for favorite candies, it’s always been a close tie between Snickers and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

Great job on the 11 miler!

Definitely Reese’s! Peanut butter definitely has my heart

I was a huge Snickers fan. I still like it, but I am a chocolate snob now and prefer Godiva. 🙂

I was always a Reese’s girl, the cups are my fav though 🙂

You should definetly make that picture your desktop background!

I lsed to LOVE Snickers. Haven’t had one in forever!

I love kit kats, 3 musketeers, twix and peppermint patties! chocolate lover at heart.

You just put me in Reese’s heaven. As in, I’m gonna die if I don’t get one. So maybe I should try the oatmeal, huh?

Vanilla agave!? I’ve never seen it before. I’ll be on the lookout! I’m sure it’s fabulous. Nice workout, Evan! You are a running machine! Good inspiration for me to up my mileage for the 1/2 marathon!

My favorite candy bars are Twix and Kit Kats. I like some crunch!

Have a great weekend, buddy!

Reece’s peanut butter cups are definitely my favourite. They only became available over in the UK a few years ago, so when I was growing up they were always a special treat that my dad brought back from the US when he went there with work. It’s the mix of peanut butter and chocolate that never fails!

My favorite candy used to be a Three Musketeers, followed very closely by Peanut M&Ms. Oh, deliciousness…

Now I’m all over chocolate-covered almonds.

Gotta say–Almond Joy is my favorite. I used to really like Baby Ruths as a kid though.
Your candy bar oatmeal reminds me of when I was on a Girl Scout Cookie Oatmeal kick–Tagalong oats were amazing!

I’ve tried their amaretoo flavored agave; beware as it is very very strong…so if you like amaretto, you’re good to go.

and growing up i loved 100 Grand and butterfinger. Today? I can’t stand the things…

reese’s pieces, kit kats, watchamacalits, and mounds bars. yum.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

