Today Was A Fairytale

Posted on April 11, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I’ve had that Taylor Swift song stuc in my head for the longest time now. At least today it was pretty applicable! I was in such a bad mood this morning, but once the day got going things turned for the better. I even got to visit 3 of my favorite places 😀 Any guesses where those might be?

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

This mornings breakfast was not enough to make me happy; I followed up a big bowl of oatmeal with peanut btuter with a slightly smaller bowl of oats with peanut butter. At least I know what I like? The nut butter was 365 creamy mixed with Madhava’s vanilla agave; I swear this made it taste like Reese’s PB! Sooooo good.

Root Beer Zevia

Root Beer Zevia

As if the morning weren’t off enough, I decided to drink a root beer Zevia at 11am before running. Who am I?! I didn’t feel like running; but I didn’t feel like not running. At that, I went to the gym where I could take it easy on the treadmill watching Mr. Deeds.

8 Treadmill Miles In 69:54

8 Treadmill Miles In 69:54

I did 8 miles, and they didn’t go slow or fast; they just sort of “went” and I was tuned out, listening to my iPod. At some point, I had a grand idea on how to change the day around. After I finished running 8 miles in 69:54, I ran another 3.27 miles outside in around 27 minutes and ended at one of my favorite places.

Garden Grille Cafe

Garden Grille Cafe

Love Garden Grille! Especially their brunch menu, which is only available on Sundays. Therefore, I’d have been a fool not to go. Also, my dad was driving down to Providence for the afternoon, and he was easy to persuade to eat here, too; we all just love their food!

Home Fries

Home Fries

Home Fries, Homemade Tofu Bacon, Peanut Butter

Home Fries, Homemade Tofu Bacon, Peanut Butter

I also love how flexible they let me be ordering. My favorite thing by far of theirs is the home fries, which comes as a side to every dish. And while–to their credit–all their dishes sound really good, I’m a man of simple tastes; I’m plenty happy with just their home fries, so I ordered a side of them and a side of their homemade tofu bacon and asked for a little dish of peanut butter.

Hash With Peanut Butter

Hash With Peanut Butter

Holy yum! This is an amazing flavor combination with the rich flavors of peanut butter and hash fat. It’s an odd combination, but I get it every time. How many more do you think before I get a menu item named after me? The Evan Hash.

J.P. Licks

J.P. Licks

After that amazing lunch, we decided to do something a little more fun for the day. I’ve had a hankering for a J.P. Licks ice cream all week! J.P. Licks is a local ice creamery that prides itself in wholesome, quality ingredients and fun flavors. The closest one to Brown is in Dedham(not close at all), so I was happy for the ride.

Mint Chip Frozen Yogurt With Freshly Whipped Cream

Mint Chip Frozen Yogurt With Freshly Whipped Cream

Mint Chip Frozen Yogurt With Freshly Whipped Cream

Mint Chip Frozen Yogurt With Freshly Whipped Cream

This was so well worth the wait. I ordered a medium mint chip frozen yogurt with fresh whipped cream. I can pass up the canned stuff no problem, but if you tell me your cream is homespun, I need to take a taste 😀 The ice cream was so delicious! I love how J.P. Licks keeps the crap ingredients out: no fake green dye here. And lucky for us, in that same strip mall is New England’s largest Whole Foods! That’s my third favorite place from today.

Meat Counter

Meat Counter

Can I tell you I was a little in heaven at this Whole Foods? They didn’t just have the 85/15 grass-fed beef I was looking for, they had 85/15 local beef(from Maine) and 85/15 bison! I’ve never had so many choices when getting ethical meat before. I stuck with the grass-fed, but the local meat was duly noted for the Summer grilling season.

KIND Nut Delight

KIND Nut Delight

When we stopped at Eastside Marketplace on the way back to get some cheaper groceries, I snacked on a KIND bar. The ice cream was delicious but that low-fat yogurt is like a drink so some nuts were a good change of pace.

Groceries

Groceries

For the week, I grabbed

  • Grass-Fed beef
  • Chickpeas
  • Tuna
  • Organic Oatmeal
  • 365 Peanut Butter
  • Kombuchas
  • Organic Coconut Milk
  • Wildwood Veggie Burgers
  • Tofu
  • Divine Chocolate Bars
  • Raspberry Goat Milk Yogurt
  • Strawberries
  • Tumeric
  • Organic Sweet Potatoes

I love a good grocery shop to prepare me for the week! And between sales and coupons, we saved $15 easy on all of that.

Grass-Fed Burger With Ketchup

Grass-Fed Burger With Ketchup

Strawberry Coconut Avocado Salad

Strawberry Coconut Avocado Salad

This dinner was the perfect ending for today. The fresh meat made for an amazingly juicy, delicious burger. Instead of sweet potato fries, I wanted to get some greens in me for today. I made a salad with cut strawberries, avocado, and coconut milk. The flavor pairing was unreal here and it tasted just like I hoped it would. I just love the soft, rich avocado on salad.

Where’s one favorite place you wish you could be right now? I could definitely go for an after dinner dessert at J.P. Licks 😉 Or I’d love to watch Date Night at a little 3-screen movie theater in my hometown they tore down around 7 years ago.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

22 Responses to “Today Was A Fairytale”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

i wanna be at j.p. licks too! that is some good ice cream.

Ohhh…the JP Licks looks great. Wish I were in the NE to try some!

and right now, I wish I could be at my grandmas eating ice cream…or back in Australia in Cairns at the beach/lagoon!

that is the best whole foods, ever. i need to get my butt to jp licks.

If I could be anywhere, it would be far from middle of nowhere, PA and somewhere in Boston!
If you ever get a chance, head to Richardson’s in Middleton, MA. It’s a long drive, but so worth it. The cows are on the property, they give you tons of ice cream for cheap and it’s unbelievably delicious!
I love that WF, did you hit up the Trail Mix bar?

Richardson started sourcing their ice cream into BU’s cafeteria, which was also my high school cafeteria, so I got to have plenty of it through out those years 🙂 I just wish they didn’t use all the food dyes and extra ingredients because their ice cream is sooooo good on its own

Date Night is sooooo good!! Go see it. Nice escape from reality….I’ve like to be in the theatre again – away from my brain and confusing thoughts….or in a bed and able to sleep in and not go into work tommorow…or on a trip somewhere…uh, this could be a long list…

I wish I could be biking around a lake! Great run+fro-yo=PERFECT day!

J.P. Licks is my FAV! I’m jealous 🙂

I wish I was in Tennessee!

Was the local beef grass fed? Local grass fed beef would be AWESOME.

How’d you make the dressing for your salad? Is it just coconut milk?

And those homefries look amazing. I love potatoes, haha.

I wish I were visiting my friend in DC right now, instead of next weekend!

It was just coconut milk, and it was fantastic. I think coconut milk and salt, maybe a little maple syrup, too, is my new favorite way to eat greens

I’m starting to think you’re going to Garden Grille all the time just to torture me! I would be sitting there with my friends after a long bike ride plowing through a plate of butternut squash quesadillas!

I love when restaurants are flexible when you order. It almost makes me mad when they’re not even if I said I’d pay the extra.

I LOVE that Taylor Swift song. I just like her in general too 🙂

They just don’t make restaurants/cafes/ice cream parlours/health food shops the same way in the U.K ;( That should be your money making scheme once you graduate- you’d make an absolute killing!
If I could be anywhere now… going a bit off the ball- Machu Picchu, or else the summit of Mt. Everest….

I’d like to be at the beach in Maine right about now, as long as it was 30 degrees warmer. :mrgreen:

I would have been in heaven at Whole Foods too…what a selection! 😀

I want some fro yo – it’s not big in NH for whatever reason,which is a SHAME!

Great WFs goodies – I’m jealous 😀

Oh man! Garden Grille looks like an amazing spot!

That JP Licks looks amazing. I wouldn’t mind being there at all! And I agree with you about the whipped cream…it’s only good if it’s freshly whipped!

that ice cream looks so good! i’m jealous. and that salad, i need to buy some avocado!

you know, your blog often makes me wish I wasn’t intolerant to soy. it’s such a quality, versatile ingredient, but my body just can’t take it 😦 guess you will have to eat enough of the stuff to compensate for both of us 😉

Can you tolerate soy lecithin? I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t eat that; it’s in all the best chocolate!

fortunately soy lecithin has never been a problem for me. just soy in large quantities. gotta love those quality chocolates, I dunno if I could go on living without them 😀


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

