Did You Know?

Posted on April 12, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Did you know my favorite part of Mondays is being able to do the laundry and have a completely fresh closet of clothes?

Did you know 95% of people with gluten-intolerances don’t know they have it or haven’t yet been diagnosed?

Nature's Path Organic Mmmaple Pecan Chewy Granola Bar

Nature's Path Organic Mmmaple Pecan Chewy Granola Bar

Did you know the Nature’s Path Mmmaple Pecan contain milk byproducts? I would have thought they were vegan. Still tasty, though, and probably the most nutritious out of their line!

Did you know instead of pressing soft tofu you can bake it for 90 minutes at 350 instead and it will come out with the same texture?

Maple Baked Tofu, Roasted Broccoli And Sweet Potatos, Maple Glazed Nuts

Maple Baked Tofu, Roasted Broccoli And Sweet Potatos, Maple Glazed Nuts

Did you know maple baked tofu now has its own recipe page? It does! It was also the theme of this lunch, with roasted broccoli, sweet potatoes, and some Tierra Farm‘s Maple Glazed Nuts. Mmmm, maple.

Did you know if you put even just a little liquid(in this case, maple) on the outside of a sweet potato, it prevents it from developing an ugly skin burn while roasting? Only a blogger…

Liberte Raspberry Goat Milk Yogurt With Dark Chocolate Chips

Liberte Raspberry Goat Milk Yogurt With Dark Chocolate Chips

Liberte Goat Milk Yogurt

Liberte Goat Milk Yogurt

Did you know goat milk is easier to digest than cow’s milk because it’s closer to human milk? You can thank Averie for that factoid. It’s also deeelicious if you ask me; I had to pick this up when I was at Dedham Whole Foods because it’s so rare, too. I love the combination of dark chocolate and raspberry, too. Yum!

Did you know a new study suggests that eating high calorie/high fat foods most of the time causes imbalances in the body similar to heroine that then creates a compulsion to eat only high calorie/high fat foods and more of them? Did you know I’m screwed if that’s true?

Did you know this used to be my favorite flavor of ice cream when I was younger? It also just one Turkey Hill’s annual flavor competition. It’s taken years, but I’ve finally found my au naturale replacement.

So Delicious Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl And Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Creams

So Delicious Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl And Chocolate Coconut Milk Ice Creams

That replacement would be So Deliciouschocolate peanut butter swirl coconut milk ice cream, which j’adore. The only drawback(besides the price tag) is it’s a little chalky in texture, which is odd because the other flavors aren’t. Humph 😦 I’m willing to try different brands.

Empty Pint

Empty Pint

Did you know law of the freezer states when you finish one pint you are thereby allowed to replace it? I already have in mind what I want to replace it with…

Did you know you should always let cheese come to room temperature before serving it? It’s more pungent and flavorful that way. On the contrary, if you stick it in the microwave, that just makes it a melted mess.

Chickpea Salad With Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oil Dressing

Chickpea Salad With Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oil Dressing

Chickpea Salad With Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oil Dressing

Chickpea Salad With Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oil Dressing

Did you know you absorb more nutrients when you use a fat-based dressing on a salad? Even more reason to pour on the Foods Alive hemp oil sweet & sassy! I swear I could drink that stuff. Besides that, my salad involved chickpeas, Next Generation Organic Dairy raw & probiotic parsley cheddar cheese, and Navitas Naturalsdried mulberries.

Did you know this is the first time in a long time I’ve celebrate Meatless Monday? By celebrate, I mean I just didn’t have a meat craving.

Tell me something I don’t know

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “Did You Know?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

So awesome…I loved this post!

Did you know that lemons contain more sugar than strawberries? True True!

I’ve got to try that dressing, sounds amazing!

Well, you may know this, but this post is very fun to read. Thanks!

Did you know that dogs have nose prints that are each unique, just like human fingerprints.

I so love your themed posts – they’re super clever! 🙂 I also love learning new things… like the incredible fact about the salad dressing and nutrient absorption! Fascinating! Thanks for all the great tidbits of knowledge! I can’t wait to try the room temp cheese – hooray for even more flavorful cheese! I’m also SO psyched about the maple tofu recipe, and the alternative to pressing tofu! YAY!! Can’t wait to fix your recipe this week – thank you! 🙂

I did know the gluten fact! I actually had meat today, so surprising for me!

Did you know that new vehicles have plastic gas tanks that make it easier for thieves to steal gas from parked cars? (I’m a mechanic’s wife, it’s all I got!!)

I’m beyond confused with my gluten issues. Some days it’s horrible and some days there are no issues. I’m finally having bloodwork done in a week to see if they can figure anything out…

I just realized I had a meatless Monday too. Woot!

glad the goats milk/easier digest factoid has stuck with you.

Gluten. Ahh.. yes, I denied for my entire life i was gluten intolerant but in my late 20s after living in the bathroom, moody, cranky, irritable, no appetite, I realized this was just not normal. This was a good 6+ yrs ago so not quite the buzz worthy status it is now…but I got off gluten and then dairy and am still soy-light. And one bite of anything is not worth feeling like crap for days!

Love this post, Evan!

You are so wise Evan! Did you know that botanically speaking a banana is an herb? B-A-N-A-N-A-S

Interesting “did you knows?” I didn’t know ANY of that stuff. How does only determine if they have gluten intolerance? Is there a test performed by the doc or is it just based on how you feel?

I’ve seen that Liberte yogurt at WF. Looks good. I’ll have to try!

jqlee- it is very important to go to your doctor is you suspect you have a true gluten intolerance- you need to have blood tests and something called a colonoscopy to confirm it. Coeliac disease is so much more than possibly feeling a bit rough after eating gluten- because it causes malabsorption you can suffer from complications including anaemia, vit deficiencies- espec. B12- which can cause permanent nerve damage, possibly colon cancers, stomach ulcers, a certain type of T cell lymphoma… it is often associated with a characteristic skin condition too- dermititus hyperformitus. You need to be monitored by your doctor to check your antibody levels (immune system) aren’t still raised against gluten when avoiding it- otherwise you could still have problems. Hope that helps.

What Jo said. Doctor testings are available and should be employed in the event they might be necessary

love your blog. this post is so cute! I didn’t know ANY of these things haha.
did you know that elephants are the only mammal that can’t jump?? Crazy!!

Great post, and very informative!

Did you know that apple seeds contain trace amounts of cyanide? Who knew something so nutritious possessed something so potentially poisonous in its core?

did you know that kangaroos and emus can’t walk backwards?

and i’ve thought i might have a gluten intolerance…i’m just too stubborn to spend more $$ and see if i am w/ all the gluten free products…

I would’ve thought the transition to be hard, too. But I’ve just stopped eating anything that might have gluten in it to begin with and it hasn’t been hard at all. There’s never gluten in things like fruit, veggies, meat, beans, oatmeal, peanut butter, yogurt, cheese, popcorn, chocolate, or ice cream(except some with cookie dough), so there’s never any worry about getting “gluten free” any of that

the idea of chickpeas and cheese together sounds SO good!!!! I want some right now 🙂 I did know that about goat milk, my cousin told me that! so cool, right? good thing because I LOVE goat cheese!!

I am SO making that maple tofu recipe, ASAP!
Did you know that one kiwi has almost your entire daily needs for vitamin C?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

