“If I’m Running, It Ain’t At 6:15”

Posted on April 13, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good morning! I hope you feel refreshed. I sure do sleeping in. I think I’m still catching up on sleep lost from Saturday night and I knew a 6:15 wake-up was not happening. I was thinking of running soon but I’ll just take a rest day and call the whole thing off.

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Can I change the name of the blog to “Oats and peanut butter”? Because that’s all you’re getting today since that’s all I felt like. I blame the fact that something in our hall smelt like freshly roasted peanuts. God, I can’t pass those up. I tried to recreate some sinfully unnutricious Reese’s peanut butter and had a little too much fun putting it on my oatmeal.

Peanut Butter Ingredients

Peanut Butter Ingredients

Despite the combination of 365 brand peanut butter, Madhava vanilla agave, and vanilla bean sugar, it didn’t really taste that sweet :-/ Maybe I wasn’t using as much sweetener as I thought, but I’ve had the agave in peanut butter before and it tasted better than this. Oh well, there’s always the next bowl!

Oats With Mighty Maple And Milk Chocolate

Oats With Mighty Maple And Milk Chocolate

And there was another bowl. This time, it was a more tried-and-true combination of PB&Co.’s Mighty Maple, which you must know I’m addicted to for a sweet peanut butter, and some Scharffen Berger milk chocolate, which is perhaps the dreamiest I’ve ever had but better to get as a gift than pay for yourself. A little sea salt to this and it was like a gourmet peanut butter cup. Yum.

It felt very good this morning to have time to sip coffee, walk around, check email and blog all before having to do much activity; that’s definitely not how my Tuesday/Thursdays would go otherwise. Eventually, my taste buds led me to yet more oats and peanut butter…

Pumpkin Oats With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter, Pomegranate Yogurt With Orange Dark Chocolate

Pumpkin Oats With Butter Toffee Peanut Butter, Pomegranate Yogurt With Orange Dark Chocolate

I broke open a new can of pumpkin and had to celebrate with Naturally Nutty‘s butter toffee peanut butter. And for a fun yogurt-mess, I started with a fruity flavor of Chobani and added some fruity chocolate.

Vivani Dark Chocolate With Orange And Pomegranate Chobani

Vivani Dark Chocolate With Orange And Pomegranate Chobani

I remembered really loving the combination of pomegranate and citrus chocolate so I thought I’d try it with Vivani’s orange dark chocolate. The combination was good, but not quite magical. Vivani’s dark chocolate is just a little too dark to let the sweetness of the citrus shine. Of course, since I love their 72% dark chocolate, I knew this could never be a bad bar 😀

And now in between classes I’m the luckiest man and get to take a trip to Whole Foods. I did not realize how low on oat bran I was when I went on Sunday! The answer? Very low! I usually only use Trader Joe’s oatbran, but since he’s 10+ miles away the bulk bins will have to do. And if I put this off any longer I’ll never be back in time for my next class. See you tonight!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to ““If I’m Running, It Ain’t At 6:15””

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That is a great combo- and I’m loving the oatmeal:)

Good for you for taking a day off when you need it, your body will thank you!

Sometimes your body needs the sleep more than it needs the miles!

Such a random question but do you ever get tired of nut butters?

If I do, it’s only for a day, and I just switch to a different nut 😉

Wish my Whole Foods was that close!!!

You are making me hungry for oatmeal!

Somedays you just need a lot of peanut butter 😉

Haha, we appear to have the exact same pantry–365 PB, Madhava vanilla agave, a dangerously low supply of oat bran…
Hope you re-stocked on your oat bran though–it’s tough to live without it, in my experience:)

Thats what I just bought at whole foods this past weekend! Is that what you eat every morning as well or do you swap between/combine breakfast cereals?

I always do a 50/50 blend of steel cut oats and oat bran. I think that gives it my favorite texture

I vary mine during different times of the year or days of the week depending on how I feel: bran in the warmer periods usually and hearty mixed grain cereals in the winter.

just saw your other post; hope you’re feeling better!

and i love all the oats btw. i need to do a day of them at all my meals. haha..i’d be full of pb, apples, bananas and oats at the end of the day. oh, and way too much cinnamon to be legal.

Try making your own roasted pb! I used a pot and also cookie sheet. Your vanilla ball looks like one of my protein truffles! Have you tried rolling it is cocoa/chopped almonds/coconut/hemp and freezing or refrigerating????yum yum yum!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

