Cinnamon And French

Posted on April 14, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

Good morning! Thank you for all of your kind words. I feel 75% better and will probably head back tonight for classes tomorrow. To clue you in on what went down, yesterday during the day I coughed a lot and it had that “bacterial” smell/taste to it. At 4:30, I started coughing more and more, and then for 2 hours could not stop shivering to the point where I couldn’t do anything productive. EMS came and checked me out, but there was nothing apparently threatening and I signed a release waver. I did decide, however, in those hours I was shaking that it was important to go home. I couldn’t even cook myself a hamburger last night, had no appetite, and needed not to have to fend for myself like usual, you know?

Apple

Apple

Like I said, I had no appetite; even on rest days, that’s not like me at all. I tried taking a bite of this apple while I was waiting but the solid foods were not my friend and I couldn’t eat any more :-/

Mango Tango And Cinnamon Cookies

Mango Tango And Cinnamon Cookies

We stopped at Whole Foods before leaving town where I picked up what clearly was the dinner of champions(/sarcasm/). The Mango Tango was exactly what I wanted/needed and went down smooth. I was craving some easy to digest carbs, which was really hard to satisfy when you’re in a rush and eating gluten-free. I also wanted something cinnamon, which is why I picked those cookies. I ate 4 but once I realized the solid food was making my fever go up, I stopped.

So Delicious Snickerdoodle Ice Cream

So Delicious Snickerdoodle Ice Cream

Finally at home, I took 3 scoops of So Delicious snickerdoodle ice cream and went directly to bed. I must have been sick, because the little cookie dough balls weren’t even my favorite part; what’s up with that? Of course, I tried getting as much sleep as humanly possible, but probably clocked in around 8 hours.

OIAJ, French Vanilla Yogurt With Fig Jam

OIAJ, French Vanilla Yogurt With Fig Jam

Finally, “real food” started to seem appealing. It was even more appealing because it was in a jar; something tells me Brandi would be very jealous of this ๐Ÿ˜‰ Being home meant slim pickings on the yogurt availability.

French Vanilla Yogurt With French Fig Preserves

French Vanilla Yogurt With French Fig Preserves

I found aย Frenchย vanilla Stonyfield in the depths of the refrigerator and some fig preserves i picked up on a trip to France I took over a year ago. Oolala! The fig preserves were homemade; it was more like a figgy syrup with whole dried figs in it, but it definitely wasn’t bad. I love picking up things like preserves on trips because then you really get the “flavor” of the destination.

What do you eat when you’re sick? I’m all about the juice! Especially when I just don’t want to eat solid foods. Would anybody answer Greek yogurt? If so, here’s a Oikos giveaway!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

27 Responses to “Cinnamon And French”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

yes, jealous!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ SO glad you’re feeling better.

If I just have a cold, I usually still eat like normal but things don’t taste the same. I did have that bad stomach flu a few weeks ago that was going around and I couldn’t eat ANYTHING except saltines and gatorade. Not fun.

I hope you are feeling much better! I have some weird allergies thingy that won’t go away!

I hope you’re feeling better!! When I’m sick only oatmeal and plain toast can really be stomached. I never even want anything like water or liquids.

French fid preserves sound awesome! When I’m sick I want tons of carbs, like toast and grilled cheese and cereal. well…I always want those things.

Sorry to hear you had such a tough day yesterday, but glad you’re feeling better!

when I’m sick, I usually turn to pb on toast. And for some reason, I often drink diet sprite if it’s a stomach thing. I don’t know why. I don’t usually drink soda.

So glad you’re feeling better!! Yeah, when I’m sick, all I want are cold liquids like juice, water, and (blushes) diet sprite– it’s my “go to” sick drink.

When I am sick I always crave applesauce. Weird, huh?

Glad you are starting to feel better! When I am sick I always seem to want bananas, weird but that is just how I am.

Glad to hear you’re feeling better, that sounds awful! I like carby foods when I’m sick. Smoothies are always a good choice ๐Ÿ™‚

Glad you are feeling better Evan! For me it’s all about smoothies and oatmeal when I’m sick!

I am all about soup and oatmeal when I am sick. It goes down easy and makes my throat feel better.

I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better! Sounds like a scary virus.

When I’m sick, I tend to crave liquids (smoothies, juice) and carbs like toast.

Fig preserves and snickerdoodle ice cream looks DELICIOUS.

Glad to hear you’re feeling much better! Yum about the fig preserves; I’m all over figs. So delicious. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I happen to deal well with veg. stock which I always have in the freezer back at the legit house (not school). At school, I haven’t been sick to the point of not wanting solid food *knock on wood*

I with you on the juice! Glad youre feeling better!

When I’m sick, I drink so much juice and Gatorade and eat loads of soup. But your Stonyfield combo looks goooood:) Feel better!

I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been so sick! High fevers are scary! I hope you feel all better very, very soon!! Sending big get-well hugs…

When I’m sick I usually drink lots of green tea with honey and lemon, since it’s so soothing!

Glad to hear you’re feeling better Evan!

I love to drink Odwallas and Bolthouses when I feel gross – I’m not sure if it’s the placebo effect or what, but I feel better after!

If I have a cold, I want juicy, cool things like fruit.

If I’m running a fever and feel cold, I want hot soups but nothing creamy

Evan!! Feel better soon! That sounds serious ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I drink 7UP and chicken noodle soup. And maybe some chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚ Get well, wouldja!?

I am all about the oats when I’m sick…oh wait–I eat oats all the time:)

wow! i’m glad you’re starting to feel better!

and when i’m sick, it’s all about non-milk smoothies…i drown myself in them.

Glad your feeling better!! See – you took my advice and had some ice cream ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh,…and I seem to just eat whatever has usual even when I’m sick…it’d take a monster truck to stop me from just randomnly snacking…

Glad you are feeling better! Sounds like a pretty rough day.

For sickies, I eat Malt-0-Meal with toast or have chicken soup and ginger ale. The ginger ale soothes the tummy a lot. If it is something like the stomach flu, I always go back to the BRAT diet for a few days: banana, rice, applesauce, toast. Does the trick every time.

aw Evan, sending healthy vibes your way!!! I would definitely answer greek yogurt — then again, I eat that when I’m not sick too.. I’m just obsessed

I actually don’t think I could eat Greek yogurt when I’m sick because of the whole sour cream…ness. I think oats would be a better choice for me.

Feel better!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

