Homemade Nut Butters And Ten Tips To Tweet

Posted on April 16, 2010. Filed under: Book Review, Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Thanks for all the great veggie burger suggestions; keep them coming! I’ve got a whole slew of brands to look for next time I go to Whole Foods and can’t wait to find some fun flavors. I’m also loving the recipe suggestions. I didn’t even think of making my own! For the remaining time at school, I don’t see that happening. But over the Summer it sounds like a fun project.

Sweet Utopia

Sweet Utopia

Last night, my entertainment was Survivor, old SNL skits, and reading some of Sweet Utopia which I mentioned I was sent from Books Publishing Co. to review. I like how it didn’t jump in to recipes but laid out what a vegan kitchen should have and everything that’s going to be called for in this book. What I wasn’t a fan of was the overemphasis on everything vegan; I think I’d rather be wowed by a recipe and look back in hindsight thinking “that was vegan?!” than be convinced going in these recipes will be “different”. I only got 2 recipes in after all of that, but one definitely struck my eye as the most decadent chocolate cake I could think of and I can’t wait to make it some time soon.

Green & Black's Cherry Dark Chocolate Bar

Green & Black's Cherry Dark Chocolate Bar

There’s so few joys in life lesser than opening up a new bar of chocolate and seeing the shiny tin foil.

Green & Black's Cherry Dark Chocolate Bar

Green & Black's Cherry Dark Chocolate Bar

I snacked on 20 squares Green & Black’s cherry dark chocolate while watching Survivor. I’ve had this a lot on Greek yogurt but not so much on its own. Eating it like this made me realize how intense the cherries were in flavor. Wow! I bet that also means they’re packed with antioxidants, just like the dark chocolate? Yeah, we’ll call this one healthy.

Organic Cripps Pink Apple

Organic Cripps Pink Apple

We picked up a few organic apples on sale at Whole Foods before I moved back in to the dorm. I didn’t care so much that they were organic that they were fresh; eating this definitely made me feel better than eating one sitting in the cafeteria for who knows how long.

Chocolate Pecan Butter Ingredients

Chocolate Pecan Butter Ingredients

I got a fun idea in my head watching SNL reruns: chocolate pecan butter. Don’t you love it? I just took a scoop of my homemade pecan butter, some cocoa powder, and vanilla agave and a touch of sea salt.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Pecan Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Chocolate Pecan Butter And Coconut Milk

Yum! I think this could be called German’s Chocolate Cake oatmeal; it was that good. The sea salt was definitely the touch that made the chocolate flavor more pronounced, as with the coconut milk. I can’t believe how long this batch is lasting! I tell ya: if you move it to a plastic, seal-tight container in the fridge, it stays fresh a lot longer.

10 Miles In 89:29

10 Miles In 89:29

I knew I’d be running inside since rain was in the forecast, so I wanted to get up early and run at the gym. Still, I knew I needed to rest, and resisted setting the alarm. After enough sleep(sleep bores me), I hit the gym for 10 miles a bit later than usual. Apparently, the later crowd does not have the same TV preferences as the earlier people. I’m referencing the girl who changed The Today Show to 16 And Pregnant. Really? Really?

Oatmeal With White Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk, Strawberry Vanilla Yogurt, Vitabears

Oatmeal With White Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk, Strawberry Vanilla Yogurt, Vitabears

Breakfast was filled with flavors of Spring and Summer: vanilla, strawberry, coconut, almond. This was actually all inspired by my favorite white chocolate bar, and was a good substitute short of eating that for breakfast. The yogurt was plain Greek sweetened with Madhava’s vanilla agave and Crofter’s organic strawberry conserves

Raw Almond Butter With Fair Trade White Chocolate With Strawberries

Raw Almond Butter With Fair Trade White Chocolate With Strawberries

This is an almond butter I made over Winter break. It has raw, organic almonds and pieces of my favorite white chocolate bar, which is fair trade and has bits of strawberries in it. I think the vitamin bears wanted a taste 😉

Do you ever feel like for every Twitter follower you gain, you lose 2 more? Well, the good news is some of those are just people who follow you hoping to be followed back who then go back and unfollow. I wouldn’t worry about them. But you might also be doing things to genuinely annoy people. I know I have, and am in no way touting perfection righting this list. If anything, it’s a bit of self realization on places to improve. If nothing else, it was educational and comical. Enjoy!

  1. Don’t tweet every little thought that comes to your mind. “I wish my portable laptop had a portable toilet” may sound  cute, but someone on the other end is probably saying to themselves “What were they thinking?!”
  2. If you’re conversing with someone in particular, put @theirtwitID first. This way, only people who follow both of you will see the relevant conversation. If it’s really personal, direct message.
  3. Care about who follows you. Don’t just follow to be followed.
  4. Retweet! People follow you because they have the same interests as you. If you find something to your liking, share it.
  5. NOT EVERYTHING NEEDS TO BE SHOUTED!!!!!
  6. Cap your tweets. No one wants their Home to be filled with one face.
  7. There are other ways to communicate with people close to you. If you know someone well, use the phone to tell them what to add to the grocery list. Not Twitter.
  8. A Twitpic says a thousand words, which is useful when Twitter only lets you type 140
  9. Use #hashes and trending topics to get your voice in a stream of people with the same thing on their mind.
  10. Shortened words and syncopated grammar for space reasons is understandable. Misspelling and wrong grammar just looks poor.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “Homemade Nut Butters And Ten Tips To Tweet”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I’ve been holding off on Twitter so far (I need another distraction like I need a hole in the head), but when I do finally jump on the wagon I know I’ll appreciate the tips!

Oatmeal With White Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk…
White chocolate almond butter…?!?!?!? What is this? I NEED SOME!
And I love the little bears about to take the plunge into the gooey mess of goodness!
It made me laugh. 🙂

Happy Friday!

I love the little bears watching your food : )

I have to admit- I haven’t ventured out into the Twitter world yet–it scares me! haha

I always get great ideas for new products to try from your blog, I am going to have to search for that cherry chocolate bar now!

Love these Twitter tips!

I haven’t gotten into twitter yet. I’m feeling a little behind but I can’t take on one more thing!

That is so crazy–the girl next to me at the gym did the exact same thing! She changed it from the Today Show to 16 and Pregnant, and I got a little peeved!
Your chocolate pecan butter sounds AMAZING.

Not on Twitter…too many distractions as is!!!

I love opening up a bar of chocolate– it makes me feel like Charlie from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!

I am guilty of many of the tweeter tips you suggest we avoid. Busted.

Good Twitter tips!! And truly I am sorry that you had to endure 16 and Pregnant while running…seriously you are a tropper!!

hahah i only use twitter for giveaways but i think your tips are spot on! hahah 🙂

Agreed on the twitter stuff! All of it. Period. Lovely looking almond butter; in fact, I want to make some when I go home at the end of semester! I feel the same way about dining hall apples: crap (and usually macoun…so mushy, too!)

Just came across your blog thanks to other followers of yours (thanks guys). Excited to read more. That chocolate sounds delicious and I am a huge fan of a nice FRESH pink lady!

~Christie

Thanks for the twitter tips. I didn’t know about #hashes. How does it works exactly?

If you put a # symbol before a word, then you can click on it and get all the same tweets with that hash. For instance, a lot of people watching The Biggest Loser will add #BL9 when they’re talking about the show. If you click on that, it brings you to a chat stream that shows all the tweets with #BL9 in it, even if you’ve never followed or been followed by those people before

Thank you so much! I’m still a just a beginner at twitter.

I don’t know why but those three bears lined up on your bowl are making me giggle out loud. And I’m at work so not only is it embarrassing but I can’t really explain why I’m laughing to others without feeling really stupid. “Oh just laughing at the three sour gummi bears…”

I don’t tweet so those references flew right over my head. Except the shouting! one, it’s one of my biggest pet peeves when people use !!!! over and over.

Amen on your thoughts about twitter!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

