I’m A Nut And Oxidize Them, Too

Posted on April 19, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Hey, all! How was your weekend? In cased you missed it…

I enjoyed such a low-key weekend because honestly I have no clue when I’ll be getting that again. Next weekend is off-the-wall busy with family and then after that I have my half-marathon. Already?! And that comes just before finals kick up. Greeaaaat. My point: Rest(when you can get it) is good.

My favorite thing of the weekend came from Averie’s blog talk about protein and metabolic types. You can take this online test to find out what kind of oxidizer are you. I was a fast oxidizer. I completely disagree that a 50/20/30 ratio protein/carb/fat ratio is right for me; I could never eat that much protein, shun protein powders, and j’adore carbs. But besides that, the test was shockingly spot on. Always eat fat or protein at a meal/snack? Check. Avoid caffeine and alcohol? Check. Eat fatty meat and don’t overcook it. Somebody knows me too well… Don’t eat a meal around carbs and avoid high GI foods? Close-enough-check. What kind of oxidizer are you? And do you think it’s right? Speaking of fat and protein(but mostly fat)…

Hazelnut Toffee Dark Chocolate With Sweetened Peanut Butter

Hazelnut Toffee Dark Chocolate With Sweetened Peanut Butter

I sipped on almond amaretto teeccino while eating the last of a hazelnut toffee Endangered Species bar topped with vanilla peanut butter. So really, I’m nuts(pl). Sometime’s(alright, most times), there’s just nothing better than the combination of chocolate and peanut butter. I sweetened mine with Madhava vanilla agave.

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter And Milk Chocolate

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter And Milk Chocolate

After that I finished off the jar of 365 peanut butter by making the same sweet kind as I did with the chocolate and topping it on oats. I also included some scharffen berger’s extra rich milk chocolate. If you’re looking for a gift, nothing says “I love you” like milk chocolate with butterfat. Yum 🙂

Healthy Hazel Boomi Bar

Healthy Hazel Boomi Bar

This morning I felt starvacious waking up and like I could have eaten a whole meal. Instead, I wanted to get a run in first thing so I grabbed a healthy hazel boomi bar. There was definitely no joking around with the hazelnuts here; I love how they were the first ingredient. Besides that, it didn’t seem all that flavorful, though it was certainly enjoyable.

10.5 Miles In 90:27

10.5 Miles In 90:27

I spent 90 minutes watching The Today Show. I think if I didn’t start my week off like that, I’d just feel lost in the news and weather.

Oatmeal With An Egg And Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter, Vanilla Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Oatmeal With An Egg And Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter, Vanilla Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Soy Yogurt With Milk Chocolate Peanuts

Even though I’m starting to think more and more there’s merit to being a fast oxidizer and being more satisfied with fats and proteins, I’m not about to change how I eat. Greek yogurt really fillsme up, but today I was craving a soy yogurt with milk chocolate peanuts, so that’s what I had. I added an egg in my oats to replace the protein, and topped with cinnamon raisin swirl PB&Co. peanut butter. Yum! I have a lot of “gourmet” peanut butters, but I like PB&Co. because they’re a bit cheaper and easier to buy at markets near me.

What kind of oxidizer are you? Do you think it’s about accurate? Also, I’d be amiss not to mention the Boston Marathon today! Good luck to all its runners! Having always grown up in MA, I can’t understand why the world hasn’t stopped here today like it’s not a holiday, and why the race isn’t on TV 😦 I’m following along on Boston.com

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “I’m A Nut And Oxidize Them, Too”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I took the online test and found out that I’m also a “fast oxidizer”. Seems to make sense! Although I’m with you on eschewing the macronutrient ratios. I think it would be REALLY hard for me to eat 20% protein.

Love all the hazelnuts in the Boomi Bar. They’re my fav nut 🙂

This metabolic test really confuses me. I had almost the same amount of A B and C!

First time I hear about teecino.. I guess is answers my question about good coffee alternative I was asking in my post about health benefits and risks of drinking coffee!

That picture of the chocolate topped with peanut butter makes me drool.

I LOVE PB&Co. I took a big spoonful of The Bees Knees this morning. Just ate it plain, right out of the jar. And the Dark Chocolate Dreams is DELICIOUS spread on a banana.

Have you ever read ‘Eat Right For Your Blood Type?’ I like learning about different health ‘theories’ and ideas.

What an awesome test! I am a “balanced oxidizer” and it makes since for me!

That chocolate topped with nutbutter is AMAZING.

Ooh, I’m going to take that quiz right now! Fun!

Interesting quiz… It doesn’t really help me at all. I think I am a mix of all of them.

Where do you get the vanilla agave? Sounds great!

The flavored madhavas are a little tougher to find than regular agave. You can order them places online. I get find mine in Job Lot, which won’t mean much unless you’re from the lower New England area. I believe you can also request Whole Foods and other grocery chains to start carrying certain products through their websites

I love that everyone is posting up the links to their weekend posts. I would totally do that if I posted more than once over the weekend! Anyways, I was wondering if you would mail me some raw dough from Bertuccis? And some crayons that the hostess gives you too?!

I always get so hungry after reading your posts. How do you like teechino? I’m thinking of switching over, but a little worried about how it tastes.

I really don’t mind subbing it for coffee from time to time, and if I were determined to really quit coffee I’d be happy enough to keep it and only it around. As is, I bounce in between that and decaf. I’d say it tastes a little herbal and fruity based on the two flavors I have(amaretto and mocha). The mocha is definitely more like real coffee. The bright side of it is you need 1/2 a tablespoon for a cup so a bag lasts FOREVER.

Hmm I think I have a few Boomi Bars in my bar stash–I hope one of them is that hazelnut flavor. Hard to believe that hazelnuts are the first ingredient!

I took the test when Averie posted it. It was a completely new concept to me. Pretty much, my result was that I’m in between fast and slow. I guess I agree with that? I just kinda eat what I want to eat when I want to eat it….

I am glad that my test is coming in handy over here, too! Coolness! Funny some of those ppl read my blog and missed the test on my post. Note to self: too damn much content in each post for people to see the forest from the trees LOL

This
Hazelnut Toffee Dark Chocolate With Sweetened Peanut Butter

Hell yea.

The oxidizer thing. For me, it’s pretty dead on. I am slow, I need so little protein. Even less than I blog about. I mean, I really feel like I could live off carbs in the form of raw plants and a little fat. And oh yea, I do 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

