Gross

Posted on April 20, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

Look away if you’re squeemish; everything in this post is rather gross. Yes, there is an ugly side to being a blogger(which we so often choose to show over the pretty or boring). The best piece of advice I got today was from miss Carrie Underwood while I was running; she told me that sometimes that mountain we’ve been climbing is just a grain of sand. In my ears, that was just what I needed to hear. Or what I really needed to hear is another day, another shower.

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Cheesecake for breakfast: I can definitely dig it one day, but if I did it more often I’m sure I’d feel a bit gross. This definitely wasn’t the way to start the day on a healthy foot. Then again, it didn’t take much convincing to get me running after class with all that sugar running through me.

11.22 Miles In 1:31:09

11.22 Miles In 1:31:09

I felt very good running today; I could have/would have loved to run farther, but as things were I couldn’t. I felt like a half-marathon might have been fun, but the weather was turning gross and I had a class to attend. Boo 😦 I also stopped conveniently at the Whole Foods salad bar to grab lunch because I didn’t have enough time to make anything. You know what else I didn’t have time to do? Shower. Gross(did I just admit that?). At least I made it to class on time with food.

Grilled Chicken In An Indian Oil Sauce Over Spinach

Grilled Chicken In An Indian Oil Sauce Over Spinach

Trilogy Synergy Kombucha

Trilogy Synergy Kombucha

I just love Indian food, but can we all admit it tends to look like a gross pile of poo? It just does. At Whole Foods, I took grilled chicken and put it in a container with one of the Indian prepared foods’ sauces. I added that to some spinach I had and made a salad with extra chickpeas but ended up not touching those; I grossly underestimated how much chicken I had. Because nothing says “back on track to healthy” quite like kombucha, I sipped on a trilogy for dessert.

Kombucha Stained Pants

Kombucha Stained Pants

I suppose it’s also gross to have mystic mango Kombucha stains on your pants from the day before. Whoops! Great flavor, though. Those pants are in the dirty clothes now; 2 day’s my limit.

Peanut Butter Zig Zag Purely Decadent Ice Cream

Peanut Butter Zig Zag Purely Decadent Ice Cream

I am grossly failing project clean out with my chocolate and ice cream. I don’t even care to mention how many half-eaten pints I already had before buying this one because I “just had to have chocolate and peanut butter”. Oh, and on those chocolate bars? I bought three more when I was at Whole Foods since they’re still on sale. I’m sure I’m saving $3 down the road; I just don’t feel like I am.

Peanut Butter Zig Zag Purely Decadent Ice Cream

Peanut Butter Zig Zag Purely Decadent Ice Cream

So, this was pretty damn delicious. Between the chunks of peanut butter and flaked coconut oil chocolate, I could hardly tell there was chocolate ice cream. But it wasn’t quite as good as the chocolate peanut butter swirl ice cream made with coconut milk. I’ve had this discussion with other foodies: once you’ve had coconut milk ice cream, any other vegan frozen dessert is just gross.

Forming Grass-Fed Beef Patties

Forming Grass-Fed Beef Patties

I’m pretty sure there’s something gross about handling raw beef in a dorm room; I’m just so used to it it doesn’t phase me in the least. And, yes, I wash my hands and everything and keep it all very safe; I run this place like a restaurant 😉

Thai Kitchen Coconut Milk

Thai Kitchen Coconut Milk

I really hate wasting food(I would sooner eat questionable foods than throw them out), and there was nothing wrong medically with this coconut milk. It just sucked. And if you’re going to eat something with the nutritional stats like coconut milk, you should at least enjoy it, right? Right. This went down the drain, and I’m back to 365 organic.

Organic Pink Lady Apple

Organic Pink Lady Apple

This apple was not gross because I picked it out at Whole Foods last Wednesday. Is it gross not to wash organic produce before eating it? Maybe. But how else would I be getting my B12?…

Feet

Feet

I just had to include a picture of my feet in this post; I think of them as the epitome of gross and they’re about the 1 thing I’m a little self-conscious of. The left one has a few blisters which won’t go away(because I won’t stop running), and the 2nd toenail on my right foot died and is now on top of a new one that grew in its place. Gross, right? Something tells me Ryan Hall isn’t about to win America’s Next Top Foot Model anytime soon, either.

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Hash

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Hash

You won’t find me saying that there was anything gross about this meal. Unlike the last 2 grass-fed burgers I’ve had, the meat was fresh and cooked through. And I cooked the sweet potatoes in a moderate amount of grass-fed cow butter. I’m sure I could just eat a plate of grass but all this is so much tastier 🙂

I don’t even want to ask about all your grossest habits; haven’t we been through enough? I do want to know how do you take your potatoes? I’m sure this is going to sound incredibly snobbish, but I thought about it today and I refuse to microwave a potato if I’m short on time for a meal. I’d rather just not eat it. I can’t explain it, but I suppose it’s like how I prefer steamed broccoli 100 more times than raw. Blech. Anyone else like this, either with potatoes or a similar food?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “Gross”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I feel the same way about cooked/raw broccoli!

I also think raw meat is SO gross, but I don’t have a problem with it after it’s cooked. Aaaaand that cheesecake for breakfast…definitely not gross. 😉

I am ok with a microwaved potato, but I prefer it baked in the oven…hands down. I am a food snob of the highest quality, so I don’t even know where to begin! I won’t judge you for anything I saw today!

Now…cheesecake for breakfast…you are on to something!

If I am in a rush, I will cancer-cube potatoes to soften them, but I like ’em finished off in the oven or on the grill.

I really enjoy that particular peanut/chocolate ice cream – I have plain chocolate dairy free in my freezer now & it’s no comparison – totally gross against coconut milk ice cream!

YOu definitely officially have runners feet! I have some gross habits too…but I won’t share them here 🙂

the same thing happened to one of my toenails!! I just painted over it to cover it because it looked a hot mess… why don’t you just paint your toenails, evan???? simple solution!!! hahahha

Yeah I can’t eat raw broccoli. It sucks!

GROSS!!!! haha, jk, although I’m not.. I’m happy you have admitted to two things in this post that I am actually holding back on myself. First, sometimes I don’t shower after I workout 🙂 IN fact I am posting this confession in a few days in an “honesty” post. Second, my feet are nasty too. I have calluses and plantar warts. GRRRROSSS!

When i was your age, i didnt like nuked taters at all either. So i never did. As the yrs have gone by, i just dont really like potatoes so whether i oven cooked or nuked wouldnt matter.

All produce = the more raw the better. Cooked broc, cauli, etc.. no way. Raw!

The blisters and the toe nails. All runners have beeen there. Sad but true. Gross, but a reality of life.

The stains everywhere on your pants and the fact that this isn’t a “pretty post”…it’s life. Wait til you have a child. What was once gross becomes normal every day stuff. LOL

So this post wasn’t too bad until you posted a picture of your feet. Though mine aren’t so fab either and I tend to be a little self-conscious when I where sandals.

I refuse to microwave anything, but if I’m short on time I’ll grab something quick and easy and save the potatoes for when I have time to cook them properly 🙂

haha I was thinking about posting my burns I got from the oven, then ripped the skin off of it taking a lead fall in rock climbing, but I figured people would be too grossed out by it 😉

gah i used to hate micro veggies! i always think, “noooo my nutrieeeeentssss….” but after dorming, i’m like screw it. atleast i’m eating veggies 😀

cheesecake for breakfast? yes please!

Haha, your feet are disgusting… and i have definitely been there. I think i am on my 5th big toe nail that i have lost in the past few years… Epsom salts, my friend! They work wonders…

I’ve been running for 10 years and have never had toenail problems. but i say that now and i’ll have a bum toe. hah!

i hate my taters nuked. must be baked; always!

who knew that kombucha stained?!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

