Homemade Raisinets

Posted on April 21, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

One of my favorite Michael Pollan’s Food Rules is “You can eat all the junk food you’d like, so long as you make it yourself”. I couldn’t agree with a thought like this more. Sometimes I wonder, “Is that hamburger and sweet potatoes meal I alway make all that different from a McDonald’s burger and fries?

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Hash

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Hash

There are obvious differences: The lack of a refined-grain bun, no added oils or frying, naturally raised and grass-fed beef, etc. But even if my version topped the charts in calories, fat, you name it, I’d still feel 10 times better eating it knowing I made it myself. In fact, the last time I ordered a burger out has to have been August at Ufood Grill. I couldn’t agree more that–on the occasion–having food made for you couldn’t feel like a better treat. But if you’re making from scratch 90% of what you eat, it’s a great way to feel healthy and on top of your game.

Melted Milk Chocolate And Raisins

Melted Milk Chocolate And Raisins

Last night, I started craving milk chocolate covered raisins like nothing else. Chocolate’s not so weird for e, but dried fruit? Funky. Even though I didn’t have any, I had all the ingredients. Why not make some? I was sure they’d come out with a cleaner ingredient list than raisinets, anyway. I used raisins from the Whole Foods bulk bins and 3 chunks Trader Joe’s pound plus milk chocolate bar.

Drying Raisinets

Drying Raisinets

I might have overlooked the annoying fact that these needed to dry individually. Eventually I moved them to the refrigerator, which worked much faster.

Homemade Raisinets

Homemade Raisinets

Homemade Raisinets

Homemade Raisinets

Voila! Don’t they look authentic? I still can’t believe I was craving dried fruit, but that’s another story. These tasted so much fresher than the raisinets I remember, too. Best of all was not thinking about “How many from a King sized box is a serving?” There was no serving. A serving was how much I made and I ate them all up, happily and healthfully.

Tierra Farm Dark Chocolate Coated Almonds

Tierra Farm Dark Chocolate Coated Almonds

Give me some time and I think I could make even dark chocolate covered almonds. But last night it was just a handful of Tierra Farm‘s while passing the time with a book.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

So happy to have a fresh can of coconut milk opened that I love. It’s just 365 brand organic, but it’s so much better than the other I’ve tried. Sadly, this was the last good scoop of Justin’s chocolate almond butter :,-( I’m sure I could make my own, but I love the way Justin’s tastes. I hope to find them in stores really soon.

Oatmeal With Mighty Maple, Pomegranate Chobani With Mint Dark Chocolate

Oatmeal With Mighty Maple, Pomegranate Chobani With Mint Dark Chocolate

I think we can extend the homemade metaphor to breakfast. As in: No matter what or how much you top oatmeal and yogurt with, it’s healthy so long as you do it yourself. That seems legit, right? My oatmeal was actually quite reserves with just 1 huge plop of mighty maple. Do you think it’s a problem when you start singing “Addicted” by Simple Plan to your peanut butter?

Pomegranate Chobani With Mint Dark Chocolate

Pomegranate Chobani With Mint Dark Chocolate

Look where those bears wound up today! Trying to steal some of my chocolate. This was a new bar to me: Dark Chocolate Mint by Divine. It was good and definitely had some minty staying power. I wasn’t a fan of the crisps, though(never am). I’m still infatuated preferring Alter Eco’s dark chocolate mint on this one.

What was your last do it yourself project? Besides these raisinets, I haven’t had much of a chance to play around this semester between everything else :-/ A little birdy tells me, however, that there’ll be vegan and gluten-free chocolate cupcakes coming up this weekend…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

21 Responses to “Homemade Raisinets”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I made my own iced tea from tea bags last night πŸ™‚

Can’t wait for the cupcakes! Gluten-free! Yay! πŸ™‚

Those Raisinets are ingenious. I have a feeling that some “little birdies” would snatch them up faster than I could make them, though!

Look at you! That’s awesome! My most recent huge diy project was making naan.

Rasinets, very cool! Now you got me wanting some though…I just might be able to fit that hehe.

Those raisinets look scrumptious! Looks like you did a fantastic job. I agree with your thoughts on home-made meals, even if it’s filled with sugar or fat. I know when I’m making baked good at homes that I’m not adding preservatives, HFCS, etc.

My last do-it-yourself project was baking banana bread on Sunday night!

Great idea! Those look delicous!

Ahh I miss Raisinets!! Love your homemade version πŸ™‚

I hear ya on not having time to do more, due to a busy semester 😦 Hang in there!

Yum, your raisinets look amazing! Dipping dried fruit in chocolate is just about the best idea ever. πŸ™‚

Those raisinets look awesome!!

I actually don’t agree with Pollan– that’s one of the few “food rules” of his that I don’t like. Obviously I agree that homemade food is worlds better than food you buy at a restaurant, or processed food. But you can just as easily make homemade junk food, and I think saying that you should be able to eat as much of that as you want and still be healthy is something that a lot of people would abuse. I know I would! Homemade is great, but to me, practicing things in moderation is better.

I love making homemade rasinettes! Those are my go-to candy when we go to the movies…so I always make a batch up myself and then sneak them in! haha!

Does cooking count as “do it yourself”? If so, then this this morning πŸ˜‰

what do you put on your sweet potatoes when you roast them….i usually don’t need anything on them but they seem to always get a little darker than i would prefer….

If I’m roasting diced sweet potato chunks, I’ll toss them in a little water beforehand. The steam keeps the outside moist while the inside cooks

ooh, I haven’t had raisinets in SO long! Great idea to make your own.

I love making my own chocolate dipped pretzels, too. So good and easy.

last do it yourself project was stitching up some ripped clothes…which is hardly anything. i’ve made my own chocolate raisins before…cranberries are even better!

hah heck yeahh!! This was like the perfect question for me. My last DIY project was JSUT like yours!! I made dark chocolate covered kumquats because i was like, Hell no i’m not paying $5 for a little box of chocolate covered fruit if I have all the ingredients at home. BEST decision ever!! hahah

You know what would be good? Your homemade raisinets in oatmeal!

Congrats on the raisinets! I tried to make those over the break, but I failed miserably, haha. I just couldn’t wait for them to all dry.

Hopefully I’ll be having homemade banana ice cream tonight or tomorrow night…can’t wait.

Agh! You are so clever! I think I might try your trick with Craisins:)


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

