It’s A Freaky Friday

Posted on April 23, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I was enamored by labels.

Gluten-Free, Vegan Baked Mac N Cheese With Broccoli And Mushrooms And Tempeh Bacon

Gluten-Free, Vegan Baked Mac N Cheese With Broccoli And Mushrooms And Tempeh Bacon

Ordering Garden Grille’s vegan, gluten-free macaroni and cheese, I forgot a few important things: I don’t like macaroni all that much, and a meal without a good amount of fat and protein just do nothing for me. Sure, this was kind of tasty with the vegan cheese. But really I just wanted to gnaw my arm of 5 minutes afterwards because it felt like eating air. Cheesy, vegan air.

So Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

So Delicious Vanilla Bean Coconut Milk Ice Cream

When I got home, I broke into our fridge and went straight for two things: fat and protein. First up was the (frozen) fat from So Delicious vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream. I swear, even if it’s just ice cream, it filled me up 10 times more than macaroni ever would. It’s also sooo much tastier, wouldn’t you think?

Plain Oikos With Organic Raspberry Jam

Plain Oikos With Organic Raspberry Jam

Onto the protein, I had a plain Oikos with organic raspberry jam swirled in to sweeten. Delicious and 100% organic–how fun! Isn’t it funny when the foods that make us feel best and full are the same ones we eat all along?

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Lastly(finally), I finished off the night in my own bed with some oatmeal. I’m not sure why, but I woke up at 2 freezing with the heat high and under covers; somehow among the shuffling I managed to get sick, apparently 😦 It took a long time to finally feel OK and fall back to sleep, so I slept in and decided not to run, at least first thing.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Cashew Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Chocolate Cashew Butter And Coconut Milk

Pomegranate Chobani With Dried Cranberries, Blueberries, And Dark Chocolate

Pomegranate Chobani With Dried Cranberries, Blueberries, And Dark Chocolate

To make a chocolate nut butter, really you just need cocoa powder, sweetener, and some form of vanilla flavor. I made this with Madhava’s vanilla agave. It was good, but Justin could do better. Since no morning’s complete without fruit and chocolate, I broke a chocolate bar filled with dried blueberries and cranberries over my pomegranate Chobani; it has fruit, so it’s healthy, right?

Tonight I am attending an auction at my old high school. While I’m excited, I am a little wary going into it as my first event where I’ll be avoiding gluten. I’m hoping I’ll be able to just enjoy the night, but I’ll also have a pocket full of larabars or something just in case. And in my absence, I have a post prepared on how to shop and save at *drumroll*… Whole Foods! Yes, I do believe it’s possible, and I’ll tell you how.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “It’s A Freaky Friday”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

You, my friend, are promptly being added to my blogroll. I gotta hear these Whole Foods money saving tips 😀

i thoroughly enjoy your unique eating style – yogurt and chocolate? yes please! vegan mac n’ cheese? why not? as long as it tastes good, right?

good luck with the event – lara is ALWAYS a good thing to have on hand just in case 🙂

You just might be one of my new favorite blogs to read :). Vegan mac n’ cheese…I’d be sold too, even if I am gnawing my arm off later. Love your nut butters, they sound delicious! And that oatmeal with chocolate cashew butter and coconut milk is making my mouth water…

I can’t wait to hear your tips on WF…really I spend too much money there.

Good luck with the auction; are there going to be just hors d’oeuvres or is it a full out meal? Most events usually have fruits and veggie trays, so you can stick to those. I usually don’t like to bring anything because I don’t want to be singled out as “different,” so I usually just suck it up or eat a lot beforehand. But…if that’s not possible, Larabars are one of my favorites, either banana bread or lemon bar. Deeeelicious.

Coconut ice cream is sooooooo good!

I need some coconut ice cream ASAP.

Good luck with the gluten free night. I CAN’T wait to hear the Whole Foods post!

Love the idea of coconut milk as an oatmeal topper.
Can’t wait for the Whole Foods post!

A pocket full of larabars, I love it. Good luck tonight, and have fun!

I’m lovin’ that ice cream cone, I want to go get myself one stat!

I’m SO excited about your suggestion for making chocolate nut butter!! YUM!! I’m so going home tonight and making a batch of chocolate almond butter… 🙂 My current favorite treat is strawberry Chobani with cocoa powder stirred in!

I hope you have a great time at the auction! Bringing a larabar is always a good idea… 🙂 I’m eagerly awaiting your Whole Foods saving post!! 🙂

anyone know of other student food blogs similar to this? … I really enjoy reading this one and love to find out what other college students are doing !!:)

do you know of any student food blogs?… I really enjoy reading yours and want to see what other people are doing !!

Mmmm all that chocolate in the morning looks so good! I have been wanting to try making my own nut butters so I bought some hazelnuts, almonds, and cashews…think I am ready!

And I can not wait for the WF’s post! I think there are ways of making it budget friendly too so reading about your buys will be interesting! hello 365 organic goodies!

I am so sorry to hear that you got sick last night, I hope that you are feeling better today and take it easy… you dont want to get sick before finals!! lol!! 😛


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

