A Taste Of…

Posted on April 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update |

I’m glad you enjoyed my post on how to save at Whole Foods. Talk about using lessons we learn, yesterday we went to Whole Foods to buy ingredients for cupcakes I’m baking today for my cousins birthday tomorrow. I was also pretty ready for lunch the second we got in the store and got creative.

Kale, Carrots, Dark Meat Chicken, And Almond Butter

Kale, Carrots, Dark Meat Chicken, And Almond Butter

They didn’t have quite what looked good on the salad bar, so I shopped the rest of the store. For my dad and I, I got

  • A bunch of kale
  • A lb bag of baby carrots
  • An herb rotisserie chicken
  • Almond butter

None of it was from the salad bar and because of that we saved a lot of money. We also came home with a good amount of chicken and carrots.

Chicken With Almond Butter

Chicken With Almond Butter

After hearing Jillian Michaels talk about spicy almond sauce chicken on the Today Show, I couldn’t get it out of my mind. The combination of fat and protein was so sultry and filling; you must try this! And kale is quickly becoming my new (expensive) habit; I just love crunchy kale or spinach, while most other greens I could pass.

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

On the way home, I snacked on a red delicious apple for dessert. Apparently, they aren’t the favorite of the blog world. But I still love them! Do we really have to go through all of Summer and berry season to get back to apple season again?

Whole Food Groceries

Whole Food Groceries

The one fun thing about being away from home for so long is the new things I was able to find that have appeared since I’ve been gone. This Whole Foods is bigger than the 2 near mine, and I noticed a host of new 365 products including 365 coconut, avocado, and walnut oil! How fun! They also had some new So Delicious ice creams. Of course, yesterday was also Cookie Friday…

Vegan Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie

Vegan Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie

Back in Providence we picked up a cookie when we ate from Garden Grill Cafe. It crumbled a little bit, which I assume comes from being vegan and gluten-free. And the flavor was a little chalky(or, more likely, garbanzo beany). But besides that it was pretty delicious! I think you could stick chocolate chips in anything and it would come out good. I just have to wonder if I’ll be able to make gluten-free, vegan cupcakes today with a better texture…

Cashew Cookie Larabar

Cashew Cookie Larabar

I snacked on a cashew cookie larabar on the way to an auction last night. I was really worried that going in that suddenly living gluten-free would be a lot harder. If I’m in control of the menu, I can always just load up on protein and veggies. But it seems like people always want bread and carbs when they’re holding events since they’re cheap and easy(and who can blame them?). As it turns out, that was not a problem.

Molasses Glazed Wing And Kona Crusted Steak

Molasses Glazed Wing And Kona Crusted Steak

Everyone was raving about the steak. It was good, but honestly my grass-fed burgers come out better 90% of the time. Maybe I should start a burger joint?

Korean BBQ Pork, Shrimp And Mushroom In Truffle Butter, Seared Tuna, Salmon And Avocado On Cucumber

Korean BBQ Pork, Shrimp And Mushroom In Truffle Butter, Seared Tuna, Salmon And Avocado On Cucumber

I had this plate times about 4 8-| The seafood was all amazing. The tuna was cooked perfectly, and I kept taking more and more. The salmon and avocado was also fantastic and I have no idea what they put on it to make it taste so good! Loads and loads of MSG probably, but I’d like to think it’s just some grocery item I haven’t discovered yet.

I would have thought I’d have felt a lot worse about eating meat that I didn’t know was raised naturally or ethically; I didn’t. None of that was on my mind, and I just enjoyed the night. I eat local and organic so much that one night out of the year wasn’t going to make me a carnivore or a supporter of the mass meat industry.

Raw Vegan Brownie

Raw Vegan Brownie

Since we were in Boston after all, I picked up a raw vegan brownie from Grezzo’s before the event to enjoy for dessert(I figured any dessert at the event would have gluten). As always, this was brilliant. I think I need to up the nuts and cocoa powder in my recipe to emulate this one.

Huge Paella

Huge Paella

There was also this HUGE paella some restaurant laid out. At some point during the night, I definitely stole about 5 mussels and 10 shrimp from it, which were OK but shrimp really isn’t among any of my favorite seafoods and mussels are just freaky.

Billy Costas

Billy Costa

The celebrity auctioneer of the night was Billy Costa, who hosts a local restaurant review show along with a lot else on his resume. He was absolutely hysterical! I might have been laughing a little too much when he picked out my mom from the crowd and started ragging on her leopard print jacket 😀 It was all in fun, and they raised a lot of money towards financial aid.

Endangered Species Organic Smooth Dark Chocolate

Endangered Species Organic Smooth Dark Chocolate

I finished the night with some of my favorite chocolate bar in bed. Every night needs a sweet ending 🙂 I didn’t fall asleep until probably 1(and woke up at 6:40 this morning!). I’ve always thought how fun it would be to frequent events like this night after night, but honestly I think more than once a month and it would drive me nuts; I enjoy a night in my PJ’s with roasted veggies far too much. What about you?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “A Taste Of…”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I am with you, I can do the occasional night out like that, but I am such a homebody! I like the cozyness of sitting on the couch at night to unwind and eat my oatmeal treat! I am so with you on saving money at Whole Foods…the salad bar is hit or miss and definitely expensive!

I just found your blog and have enjoyed reading some of your posts–especially the ones on saving $$$ at whole foods and the one on earth day (how being vegetarian doesn’t necessarily represent that you are kind to the earth. It bothers me when people say that). Being someone that is very in tune with food production, both organic and conventional; it is nice to see a blog with a different approach. I suppose your posts reminded me a little of myself in a lot of ways. I’ll be back!

That is a nice spread! Wow…I wish more public events and functions would cater meals like that!!

Ahh, organic kale is super cheap at our market– that’s partly why I love it so much!

I’m the same way– one or two nights out on the town are enough for me 🙂

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the WF post. I need to employ that today when I go grocery shopping (unfortunately not at WF, but a similar type grocery store).

I’m so glad you found lots to eat and you didn’t have to worry about starving!

I like going out and socializing, but I always enjoy my “alone time” afterwards.

And for me? Kale = love.

I never thought of chicken + almond butter! I need to try that! Going out once in a while is fun, but I’m all about cuddling up at home with a snack and a book or movie. I’m glad I’m not the only college student who feels that way!

I dunno about chicken + almond butter, but the chocolate chip cookie sure does look good!

cool about billy costa. i listen to him on the matty in the morning show every morning. those guys are too funny!

I absolutely love having a night in to just chill in my pj’s, catch up on blogging and clean a little bit. My life feels so much more organized for the rest of the hectic school week after that.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

