Things To Do And Avoid On Those Hot Summer Days

Posted on April 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Do wake up at 7 before the weather turns hot to enjoy a nice run around your home streets.

Don’t go out with the mindset “I’m going to find some horses!” not knowing where the nearest horses are and getting lost 7 miles away from your house.

Do call your sleeping parents in a frenzy saying “I’m lost, can you pick me up?” and then wave them off when they find you saying “Naw, I can make the last 3 miles”

14 Miles In 1:57:24

14 Miles In 1:57:24

Don’t run 14 miles unless you really want to. Personally, that’s a bit too much out on the roads.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter And Coconut Milk, Birthday Cake Chobani

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter And Coconut Milk, Birthday Cake Chobani

Do pour coconut milk on your oatmeal and sweeten your yogurt with gluten-free birthday cake mix instead of plain sugar for some really crazy food pairings that work beautifully.

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

Don’t eat store-bought apples when you have freshly picked Summer berries lining your countertops. Unfortunately, I don’t have that yet, so I did eat this organic red delicious apple.

Dill And Lemon Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar

Dill And Lemon Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar

Dill And Lemon Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar

Dill And Lemon Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar

Do make simple summer chickpea salads with this invariable formula:

Do go to Target when you’re double fisting gift cards and hit up the sales. I got 2 chocolate bars for $5 and a 4GB memory card for $13 bucks.

Raspberry Chocolove Bar

Raspberry Chocolove Bar

Don’t expect chocolate not to melt when you eat it. I think it says something about me that my addiction to chocolate and my hatred towards melted bars almost makes me completely hate the Summer season. I love chocolate.

We've got your Green Tea Coconut Milk dairy-free ice cream ri... on Twitpic

Do eat about as much ice cream as you can get your hands on, including fun and funky new flavors like green tea coconut milk ala So Delicious. It tasted very coconutty, but I didn’t mind because it made me think of this as some fun Asian boba tea or something. The green tea was actually subtle flavor to the whole thing. Wouldn’t this have been perfect for St. Patrick’s Day?

Don’t take pictures of said ice cream on your new camera which photos you can’t upload onto your computer yet. Whoops! I enjoyed about 2 servings.

Baby Carrots

Baby Carrots

Do snack on carrots for something healthy, low-sugar, and filling when you need that added crunch to hold you over.

Don’t waste your afternoon in front of Tivo watching Food Network and Little People Big World. Err, whoops? Well, to be fair, I’m only home for the weekend and need to soak up the goodness while I can 😛

Vegan, Gluten-Free Midnight Chocolate Cupcakes

Vegan, Gluten-Free Midnight Chocolate Cupcakes

Do make amazing and delicious desserts like vegan chocolate cupcakes from Sweet Utopia to test out new recipes while cooking for your cousins birthday.

Don’t crush 2 cupcakes by fussing around with the oven lay-out 😦 I still got 18 good ones! And 2 piles of crumbs that will be tasty on just about anything 🙂

Stir-Fried Maple Tofu And Sweet Potatoes With Mighty Maple

Stir-Fried Maple Tofu And Sweet Potatoes With Mighty Maple

Do try new meals, especially when things don’t go as planned. I’m very particular about my sweet potatoes, and these were too soft :-/ I tried cooking the tofu and sweet potato together in a pan with walnut oil to crisp them about. It wasn’t amazing, but certainly improved.

Don’t even think about not enjoying those nice Summer nights. If there’s nothing on The Food Network, I spy a Sherlock Holmes DVD to keep me from getting anywhere on my Latin homework.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Things To Do And Avoid On Those Hot Summer Days”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Target is a dangerous, dangerous place!

Happy Weekend Evan!

Those cupcakes look great, I wish I was home so that I could bake them. I also wish I could have followed more of your “Do”s following my 14 miler!

I want some Green Tea ice cream!

wait did i read that right? you sweetened your oatmeal with cake mix?!

I love your chickpea salads. Next semester, I’ll be all over that.

And you found the green tea So Delicious! Yay! Isn’t the flavor so interesting?

The cupcakes look beautiful; I hope your cousin likes them.

Evan, you rock. You just rock. WTG on that 14-miler! Wowzers, seriously. Too funny you got lost…well, after the fact for you I guess ;)…I am completely guilty of wasting afternoons watching reruns on TV when I should be doing something else. What a funky ice cream flavor!! Have never seen that. Lucky to find the Vanilla Bean or Coconut here sometimes…I still like Breyers’ though – don’t judge please 😉

When I trained for my first half marathon in high school my mom made me carry money so I could call her from a pay phone if I needed to… It happened a few too many times

sweeten your yogurt with gluten-free birthday cake mix—nice idea!

the last post that vegan GF cookies need be dry and crumbly. No. They dont. Another thing ppl do is OVERbake them. I mean without eggs or fat or gluten, you need to be super careful not to overcook them which is what most ppl (sadly) do.

Kale. Not expensive IF you get it from the groc store. 99 cents a bunch to maybe 1.99 OR if you have a farmers market, this is Kale season, big time! As is chards and mustard/dandelion greens. Go and stock up!

14 miles is too much. When i used to race, anythng more than 10-12 outdoors, would really need to contemplate it…you getting lost, calling, then waving them off? Kids these days! ha!!

That’s a great do/don’t list 😉 I’m loving the muffins, I can’t wait to bake later in the week! 🙂

Oh my goodness…I need raw herb cheddar. And those cupcakes. But not in the same bite 🙂

I’m excited you used the walnut oil! I saw it at WF the other week and debated whether or not to try it. I can’t wait to see how else you’re going to use it! I bet it would make an awesome dressing!

oh man enjoy sherlock holmes! i absolutely loved it…and robert downey jr 🙂

and haha to the theme of this post. it’s not even close to summer yet so youre mean for making me think of summer 😛

great run too 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

