Special

Posted on April 26, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

You might think someone who’s willing to post such a large portion of their life on the world wide web would live for attention. I don’t. In fact, in life I really hate being “special” in any way or getting extra attention at all. But some days that’s hard to avoid. Some days, you just stand out whether you’d like to or not.

Organic Red Delicious

Organic Red Delicious

Like this apple. It was probably the biggest piece of organic fruit I had ever seen. It held me over 2 and 1/2 hours. I love it when organic fruit is humongous; it gives me hope for organic farming.

Avery's 4th Birthday

Avery's 4th Birthday

We drove to New Hampshire for my cousins birthday party. It was at a local raquet club where the kids could swim in a pool. I conveniently forgot my bathing suit and went out to pick up the pizza with my father and grandfather. Of course, I didn’t want to be “special” but I couldn’t eat the pizza because of the crust. On the way back, we stopped at a natural food store where I found a salad bar.

Stir-Fried Greens, Pineapple, Organic Chicken

Stir-Fried Greens, Pineapple, Organic Chicken

I was having a good vegan streak this weekend and wanted tofu, but chicken was what they had :-/ It was very tasty chicken, I must add. I also had some greens and pineapple, and ate off to the side trying not to seem “special”(though it was pretty obvious). I must add: pizza still smells really good even when you can’t/won’t eat it, and the one with pineapple and marinara sauce was tempting me.

Birthday Cake

Birthday Cake

Thank God for birthday cake, because I could have sworn he was turning 4! 8-| Obviously, I passed on this, but not on this…

Gluten-Free Vegan Midnight Chocolate Cupcake

Gluten-Free Vegan Midnight Chocolate Cupcake

The cupcakes I made were a hit, even though I really didn’t care for the frosting. Even my older cousin who doesn’t care for chocolate loved them. My aunt, in trying to describe them, gave them every “special” title in the book: vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, organic. I was surprised she didn’t add Jesus made them. They weren’t 100% organic, but they were all-natural.

Organic Baby Carrots And Orange Zevia

Organic Baby Carrots And Orange Zevia

Coming home, I was really torn whether to try and go back to campus tonight or not. I was tired, not prepared, and overall a grouch, so that made the answer pretty simple after chewing on the last of some baby carrots and an orange Zevia. And since no one felt like cooking, it was out to dinner.

Coconut Curry Tofu And Veggies

Coconut Curry Tofu And Veggies

I had such a coconut milk craving last night, you wouldn’t have believed it. We went to Big Fresh Cafe. After explaining why wheat noodles wouldn’t work for me in this dish, and that I’m just not a fan for rice, my plate was a big bowl of veggies, tofu, and coconut curry sauce. I’d rather get a big bowl of “special” ordered food I love than not eat 1/2 of it. And I loved this; I could have drank the sauce, but I didn’t. Come to think of it, that may not have been vegan if they used eggs or anchovy in the sauce. Regardless, I need to make curry more.

Endangered Species Deep Forest Mint

Endangered Species Deep Forest Mint

I bought this chocolate bar while at Whole Foods and started digging in with some mocha teeccino. It may be a project cleanout fail but it wouldn’t be much longer I could get a decent mint chocolate bar for $2.

And I finished up with the emotional roller coaster that is Brothers & Sisters and a bowl of oatmeal with almond butter, which photos my camera is withholding :-/ It’s probably just as well since I didn’t bother to photograph the 2 fingerfulls of almond butter and handful of almonds I had afterwards. I think I was on an almond kick, especially after baking these.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Special”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I seriously love curry and between simmer sauces and just using curry powder and coconut milk, it’s pretty easy to make something super tasty!

Ah…coconut curry is so delicious. I’m dreaming of it now. There’s a thai restaurant by my house that has THE best coconut veggie curry ever. The sad part is that I haven’t been there in such a long time.

And your cupcakes look amazing, once again.

Avery’s birthday cake is super cute!!

The is one BRIGHT birthday cake! So cute! I didn’t watch Brothers and Sisters yet, now I’m afraid!

Nothing wrong with being special 🙂

That cupcake looks great– glad they were a hit!

Pizza is sooo tempting! At a meeting last night they offered pizza which everyone besides me ate. They even both of my favorites (from my previous non-healthy life): Canadian Bacon & pineapple, and pizza with everything on it. Grawr.

That coconut curry looks awesome. I love a big pile of veggies to soak up the sauce 🙂

I agree, there’s nothing quite like the intoxicating smell of pizza, right?
That curry looks amazing!

I wish I was special 😉

Evan, it’s totally time for you to launch your own bakery. You’ve had SO many amazingly delicious looking and sounding creations!! I can totally see them being a huge huge hit!!!

glad your cupcake went over well! so great to hear!

my roomies made a peanut curry tonight and i got to taste some; it was awesome! totally something i bet you would dig.

i LOVE huge fruit and if it’s organic – big thumbs up. i need to get to a farmers market stat!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

