Waiting On Chickpeas And What The Internet Knows…

Posted on April 28, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I’m glad you all seem to love fudge almost as much as I do

Could I resist having a piece this morning after photographing it? Not a chance. That does not bode well for how long this will last in my freezer. At least it’s raw, and the coconut oil gave me good energy for a run.

10 Miles In 90:16

10 Miles In 90:16

Maybe that’s a lie, too. This run was a little slower than I’ve been able to do recently. My left foot hurt and I suspect it’s because there’s so little arch support. These shoes seriously have 2000-3000 miles on them, and I really need a new pair 😦 Perhaps after the half-marathon this Sunday. Besides that, I was entertained by the new Dr. Who and pushed past that.

Blueberry Chobani With Sprouted Almond Butter

Blueberry Chobani With Sprouted Almond Butter

Instead of regular class, I had an earlier museum tour today. I didn’t have enough time between running and that for a proper lunch, but it’s always important to fuel, so I threw some Better Than Roasted Sprouted Almond Butter and sea salt on a blueberry Chobani; I love the blueberry/almond flavor combo.

Ancient Egyptian Mummy

Ancient Egyptian Mummy

The museum tour was pretty interesting; the RISD art museum is famous and somewhere I’d really like to spend more time if I get the chance. As is, we just had 40 minutes to go through a few rooms and get lectured on ancient artifacts.

Tumeric Spiced Carrot Cake Chickpea Salad With Toasted Walnuts, Gingerade Kombucha

Tumeric Spiced Carrot Cake Chickpea Salad With Toasted Walnuts, Gingerade Kombucha

Tumeric Spiced Carrot Cake Chickpea Salad With Toasted Walnuts

Tumeric Spiced Carrot Cake Chickpea Salad With Toasted Walnuts

I was so excited for this salad when I got back. I’ve been toying around with the thought of carrot cake chickpeas in my mind for a while now, and this was a spicy twist on that. In the mix was

  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 2 tablespoon chickpea water
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • shredded carrots
  • organic hunza raisins
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon tumeric
  • sea salt

I took the extra 5 minutes to go down stairs and toast some walnuts in a pan, too. If you have the time, you really should toast your nuts. The flavors here were all incredible and I loved it! This’ll definitely be a new salad recipe to keep in mind for the future. On the side and in my next class I sipped on a Gingerade Kombucha.

Vanilla Bean Purely Decadent And White Chocolate Cranberry Giovanni Gelato

Vanilla Bean Purely Decadent And White Chocolate Cranberry Giovanni Gelato

Vanilla Bean Purely Decadent And White Chocolate Cranberry Giovanni Gelato

Vanilla Bean Purely Decadent And White Chocolate Cranberry Giovanni Gelato

Even though the weather is crappy and cold, I can still crave ice cream; I can always crave ice cream. In accordance with project cleanout, I knocked down both of these pints, neither of which had a real serving left. I think the combination of a coconut/vanilla flavor with white chocolate was bliss. Could someone make a vegan white chocolate ice cream next, maybe? I’d buy. That was all in prep for dinner.

Grass-Fed Burger And Sweet Potato Chunks

Grass-Fed Burger And Sweet Potato Chunks

It wouldn’t be a Wednesday night in this house dorm without sweet potatoes and a burger. How long has it been since I’ve had sweet potatoes? 4 days? That’s too long. This meat also tasted nice and fresh since we just got it Monday and I hadn’t unsealed the pack yet–yum!

I always find it funny seeing what website my internet thinks I want to go to just when I type in the first letter. Some of them are dead on; others I can’t fathom what it’s thinking. I thought I’d post them all here for a laugh and encourage any other bloggers to do the same.

A- Aol.com/television

B- Brown.edu

C- CarrotsNCake.com

D- Database Library(Brown)

E- EmmysOrganics.com

F- Foodmakesfunfuel.com

G- Google.com

H- HealthyTippingPoint.com

I- iHerb.com

J- JPLicks.com

K- KickassCupcakes.com

L- Loveveggiesandyoga.com

M- Mycourses.brown.edu

N- Nomeatathlete.com

O- Nothing

P- Pokemon.com

Q- Quakeroats.com

R- Rhoderaces.com

S- Stonyfield.com

T- Tinyurl.com

U- Ulimana.com

V- Vivani.de

W- Wikipedia.org

X- Xagave.com

Y- Youtube.com

Z- Zingbars.com

Anyone care to post this on their blog for themself?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “Waiting On Chickpeas And What The Internet Knows…”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I just recently found gluten-free ice cream cones…is that what you use? I am going to try them tonight!!

Those aren’t real, they’re little plastic dishes

Just started reading your blog! Love it. What a funny post. I started typing in letters and all of mine are hilarious!

Hey Evan! I love your blog…and Doctor Who rocks!! And I love what your computer generated for “P” πŸ™‚

love that I came up for L!!!!
that’s pretty awesome!

And the fudge. Just read all about it. First, very impressed you are able to get that smooth a texture with a food proc not a vita.
My raw vegan choc brownies are much more gloppy that yours are, it’s almost like a fudge. But I have never put coconut oil in them. I need to make your fudge! OMG awesome!

As for toasting your nuts and the funnuts or whatever they were called in the last post…you’re just full of nuts. (twss!)

and get some new shoes…NOW
I have inujured myself for months running on crap shoes that were past their prime which as a runner, can happen in the matter of 4-8 weeks. Shoes..don’t skimp on em. Cut back the choco budget before you cut shoe budget. Dare i say something comes before choc?
yes…injury-free legs/feet!

that little itty bitty cone is adorable.

Oh Evan, you just made my soul hurt with how many miles you have on your shoes! I get people coming in to see me all the time that have worn their shoes for YEARS and have all kinds of problems. They are always amazed at how good shoes with actual cushioning feel!

I think it is burger night for me tonight πŸ™‚

lol…funny game. That chickpea recipe looks awesome!! Thanks for sharing!

Don’t feel bad about the shoes Evan. Don’t get me wrong, you def need new ones, but I think it’s funny because I just started running, and I hurt my knee. People ask me first how old my shoes are. I look down, avoiding all eye contact, shifting back and forth, and answer in a really small voice, “8 years.” Yeah, I bought them at the beginning of college. Not good at all lol. I won’t be running again till I can afford new ones.

haha, some of the ones that come up for me are kind of embarrassing. Lke, “H”, hair loss, yeah, I have this weird bald spot on my right side and I’ve tried to figure out how to get hair there for some time now.
Thanks for the carrot cake chickpea salad recipe. That just sounds fantastic!! You’re so clever. Oh, and it’s hard to say no to fudge, whether it’s morning or not, I don’t blame you!

2000-3000 miles?!?! That’s ridiculous! I’ve heard some new-school-old-school runners say that shoes get better once some of the cushioning is gone, because it’s too much… but I don’t think I’ve ever heard a number like yours. I wish you would have gotten new shoes BEFORE your half marathon; I feel bad for your poor feet.

I am honored to be your ‘N.’ But Pokemon.com?

If I had a blog, I would post that list! That salad looks interesting. I think I have everything but the nuts. I need to go to the store anyway, so I’ll try that out for sure either tomorrow or this weekend.

And you should really invest in new shoes! If you need added arch support with your new shoes, superfeet are amazing for that. I swear by them!

I’m with you, there definitely needs to be a white chocolate flavored vegan ice cream. The carrot cake chickpea salad sounds delicious too! πŸ™‚

I am still so impressed how you cook in your dorm. I absolutely never have the urge to cook, and I would just eat the food the dining halls offered.

I love chickpeas. I love carrot cake. Thus, I MUST try this salad.

Pokemon.com ….Lol!

Yeah my feet have been killing me lately too because of the lack of arch support in my shoes… :/

Carrot Cake Chickpeas are genius!!! I will definitely be making these VERY soon! Sounds great!
And fudge love? Yes… and yum.

And I have never heard of sprouted almond butter- not homemade. Very cool. Thanks for the link!

Happy Friday!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

