Can I Petition A Petition?

Posted on May 1, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Happy Saturday! I for one am more than happy to be closer to Summer and living at home with a full kitchen and refrigerator. Have you all seen this petition yet? Basically, it’s a petition for Obama and his family to become vegans for their influence. Uhhh, what?! I fully support those who are vegans, or vegetarians. But how on earth could anyone want to dictate how another person eats? Especially when some of those are just little girls?

If I posted this when I first heard about it, I’d have some not-so-choice words, but I think by now my minds mulled it over to speak better of it. If anything, we should be preaching tolerance–tolerance of those who have a different way of thinking or path in life. This petition shows no more tolerance than the intolerance you could find against vegetarianism in a Southern cattle farm community. More importantly, you can eat ethically and aware without being a vegan, which is part of what Michelle Obama has already done through her time in the White House. What do you think of this petition? Besides that it’s going nowhere, I think it’s a little rude. And–as always–I’m on a mission to show you can eat well and ethically without devoting yourself to any label.

Naturally Nutty Vanilla Almond Butter

Naturally Nutty Vanilla Almond Butter

I had this little bowl of Naturally Nutty Vanilla Almond Butter and a scoop more before hitting the gym. What is it about almond butter that makes me just want to eat out of the jar?! It’s so delicious! Especially with a little vanilla. I felt extra fueled after that.

10 Miles In 88:59

10 Miles In 88:59

Fueled enough to runner a faster 10 miles as the last training run before my half-marathon. That feels weird to even think about. Enough, enough. Lunch!

Maple-Walnut Oil Salmon With Craisins And Golden Raisins, Baby Carrots, Hemp Oil Greens

Maple-Walnut Oil Salmon With Craisins And Golden Raisins, Baby Carrots, Hemp Oil Greens

Motivated by Kath, I’ve been getting in to canned salmon for extra omega-3’s without much fuss. I mixed mine with maple syrup and walnut oil for something packed with even more essential fats and tasty! Over the top was Tierra Farm‘s dried fruit and baby carrots, with salad dressed in Foods Alive hemp oil dressing.

Organic Red Delicious Apple

Organic Red Delicious Apple

An organic apple for dessert!

Trilogy Synergy Kombucha

Trilogy Synergy Kombucha

On my way back from my grocery trip, I picked up a trilogy kombucha at a cafe because I felt a little down about the whole trip :-/ A lot of it was on the store’s sale, which was good. But I probably could have saved more in coupons if I was better organized. At least I didn’t blow the project cleanout challenge too much. And you can’t say I don’t eat what I buy:

Soy-Free, Dairy-Free Chocolate Sundae

Soy-Free, Dairy-Free Chocolate Sundae

Isn’t it dreamy? My whole point in going was to get some whipped cream to make a sundae. They didn’t even have regular–just non-fat sugar-free or Rice Whip, which is dairy and soy-free. The latter seemed less processed, so I went with that and made a sundae with So Delicious chocolate coconut milk ice cream. The fudge sauce was simply cocoa powder and agave nectar mixed together. Voila! OK–the Rice Whip tasted REALLY fake; if you’ve ever had rice milk, just imagine that in an airier form. Besides that, this Friday sundae was delicious and a perfect before-dinner treat πŸ™‚

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Fries With Mozzarella Daiya

Grass-Fed Burger, Sweet Potato Fries With Mozzarella Daiya

If Obama wants to eat his beef and have his vegan cheese, too, I fully support that! I made a 1/3 a pounder hamburger but undercooked it far too much 😦 I really wanted to try the daiya so instead of eating it straight from the bag I made some sort of vegan cheese fries–YUM. This was better than mozarella cheese; it was crack. I’d be lying if I said I’m not planning on having it again today(maybe twice).

Endangered Species Dark Chocolate With Deep Forest Mint

Endangered Species Dark Chocolate With Deep Forest Mint

I love mint. I could eat a salad made of mint leaves. This bar doesn’t have a great minty flavor like alter-eco’s mint bar. But it was what the Whole Foods I was at had, and I don’t terribly mind it.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

Oatmeal With Chocolate Almond Butter And Coconut Milk

And some oatmeal with homemade chocolate almond butter because nowhere near me carries Justin :-/ Oh well, now that I’ve pinned down the secret to making good homemade chocolate nut butters, I’m less enthused to go out and pay $10 for someone to do it for me.

This morning I woke up nice and early to not run. Maybe it defeats the purpose of a rest day to keep yourself from sleep. But I want to be nice and tired tonight so I can go to bed early and sneak 8 hours in somewhere before the race.

Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Cookie Dough Peanut Butter

Cherry 2% Fage With Almonds

Cherry 2% Fage With Almonds

I love Fage, especially their cherry flavor. Unfortunately, it’s about expensive as they come around here. At least it’s on sale at Whole Foods this week. The cherry here tastes just like the cherry dips at Dairy Queen! Yum! Next time I’m trying full fat. The peanut butter–again, since I’ve figured out how to make cookie dough nut butter, I’m less enthused about paying someone to do it for me. Besides, this one seems really fake since half of it melts over oats and the other half is still solid :-/ Until it’s gone, though, I’ll live it up and enjoy it.

What are your thoughts on mint? I made my gluten free chocolate brownies with a lot ofΒ mint extract once and was told it was like mouthwash; hell, I thought they were great! The more mint, the better in my opinion. Even though it’s often paired with chocolate, I wouldn’t mind a dessert exclusively with mint as the flavor. Speaking of chocolate, here’s a Bubble Chocolate Giveaway. Now I get to go to my very first race expo! I hope it’s nifty.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “Can I Petition A Petition?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Yeah, that’s ridiculous. I’d petition that petition too!

Mint = okay in certain amounts. Otherwise it’s too “toothpaste-y” to me.

Fage is my favorite too, it’s SO thick and creamy. I’ve never tried anything but the plain, but that suits me just fine.

Also, that petition is ridiculous.

Wow. That petition is a little extreme.

I like mint, but there does have to be some amount of moderation to it. I actually received an Endangered Species Mint Bar yesterday in the mail. I haven’t tried it yet, but will soon! The best mint ice cream I’ve ever had was in Europe. It was made fresh and from real mint. It initially threw me off (I was 11 at the time and used to Baskin Robbins, lol), but it was so good!

I’m so excited for your race tomorrow! Good luck!!

Wow I can’t believe that petition! Veganism and Vegetarianism is definitely a personal choice and should not be pushed on a family just because they are examples to the rest of the country. I can hear the cattle farmers complaining right now.

I’m with you on the mint flavor. The more mint, the merrier. I think a lot of companies lightly flavor their products with mint because they don’t want to offend anyone, but heck, offend me! I think I like mint chocolate better than regular dark chocolate…

Ah, and I just looked at your peanut butter cookie dough post and saw your review about the TJ’s peanut butter egg again. I didn’t realize you wrote about it before I tried it. And it was…bleck. But I ate it anyway, haha.

I think the petition is ridiculous. There are so many ways to eat healthy and be good to the environment that are not vegan!!

Not a mint fan at all!!

Great perspective on the petition, Evan. You are so right–I think the creators of the petition are aiming to get more tolerance of the vegan lifestyle, but they are obviously going about it in a very hypocritical way.
I lurve mint–at home I always have some mint extract on hand for my smoothies!

The Endangered Species chocolate is SOOOO good – I’ve only had the Milk though ;)…totally agree about the petition!!

I love mint! Pile it on!

obama. i hardly know who’s president but i can tell you what you ate on your oats this morning and also who made roasted cheetahs in omaha today. that’s the thing about food blogs is that i am sorely outta the loop on current events. i agree the petition does not foster tolerance. I would prefer petitions that have nothing to do with what i put in my body, on my body, my reproductive rights, or my animal eating or lackthereof stance to be kept nicely off the presidents desk. doesnt he like have a war to fight or something? or unemployment the highest ever? i mean really he needs to get focused on that πŸ™‚

art fair. how cool!!!!! i love local artfairs! handmade glass vase, $400 bucks. sure, ill take two. but they sure are fun to look at!

someone in your bed? that was a total wtf!

the race…congrats!!!!!!!! in advance, i know you’ll rock it! and REST today!

I love mint too! Especially in brownies… πŸ˜‰ and in herbal tea!! πŸ™‚

I think the petition is ridiculous too – good for you for addressing the petition so eloquently. Tolerance and promoting a healthy lifestyle in general is much more important than trying to force someone into one ideology!

Good luck with the race!!! I know you’re going to rock it!!

Good luck on the race and have fun at the expo!
I am not a big fan of mint, primarily because I would rather eat my chocolate straight up and it often gets mixed in with it.

I’m not a mint person. Yet even as a vegan I totally support your assertion that one can eat ethically as a non-vegan. I did for a while! And tolerance should be the main stance in anyone’s philosophy or personality; it’s a necessity. πŸ˜€


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

