I Put My New Shoes On And Suddenly Everything’s Right

Posted on May 2, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Hello, Hello! In case you missed it, here’s my race recap from this morning. My unofficial time is 1:37:29 but I’m still waiting for their website to update. In the meanwhile, here are some photos my mom took at the finish line.

Crossing The Finish Line

Crossing The Finish Line

Rehydrating

Rehydrating

Hardware

Hardware

Like I mentioned, I showered up and headed home just for the day afterwards. Boy, was that exhausting! I really couldn’t help but make use of the grill while I was there.

Grilled Grass-Fed Burger, Brussels, And Corn

Grilled Grass-Fed Burger, Brussels, And Corn

Mmmm, tasty! The corn I didn’t really care for; sure, it’s a whole grain, but even with some grass-fed butter it’s pretty bland :-/ But I do love a good burger with salt and ketchup. I spent a good amount of time on the couch with Tivo, but managed a few moments in the kitchen, enough to whip up this for a snack:

Mystery Snack

Mystery Snack

Any guesses? It’s chocolatey, caloric, delicious, and contains no animal byproducts! I think I pretty much gave it away at that 😉 Expect a recipe to come(and to see much more because I took near the whole pan back with me).

Avocado Kale Salad With Salted Cashews, Parmesan Cauliflower

Avocado Kale Salad With Salted Cashews, Parmesan Cauliflower

On the way back we stopped at Whole Foods where I was damn-near famished. I guess that was the post-run hunger hitting me. I took advantage of the salad bar and got Parmesan cauliflower and avocado rubbed kale salad with salted cashews. Yum! These are my two favorite things that Whole Foods makes that, try as I might, they just do it better.

New Shoes

New Shoes

The highlight of the day was getting new shoes!! 10 months and 1 day later, it was about time. The funny thing is is that these are the exact model as my old ones. I knew I liked the brand, and when I saw that these were $30 off, how could I pass them up?

Organic Pink Lady Apple

Organic Pink Lady Apple

Getting back to my dorm, I snacked on an apple unpacking. The shuffling around is always the worst part; but at least I don’t have to do laundry tomorrow 😀 Happy Monday to me. I could not wait for everything to be away and to have dinner.

Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oiled Greens

Chickpea Salad With Raw Parsley Cheddar, Mulberries, And Hemp Oiled Greens

I just needed something easy and raw, so I had a salad with chickpeas, Navitas Naturals Mulberries, Next Generation Dairy organic raw & probiotic parsley cheddar, and salad with Foods Alive hemp oil sweet & sassy dressing. The hardest part of this was knowing that I was going to eat it and taking the cheese out to breath an hour beforehand.

Do you get any magazine subscriptions? What are they and any horror stories? I get Food Network and Rachael Ray. I bought them both after Christmas with gift money because it’s much cheaper to get them by mail than at CVS, which I would have done anyway. I love my food magazines, but they’ve both tried to repeatedly bill me, and I just got a bill in the mail for Rachael Ray to charge me again. I’m sure I’m not the only one with troublesome subscription issues given the nature of the industry.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

16 Responses to “I Put My New Shoes On And Suddenly Everything’s Right”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I signed up for my magazines (Backpacker, Fitness Magazine, and Yoga Journal) through Amazon and don’t have any problems with that.

The mystery snack looks amazing! And that’s awesome about the new shoes! After 10 months I’m sure you were really in need.

I bet it’s some sort of fudge 😉 Nice and chocolate-y. Whatever it is, I could use some of that today. Mmm…

Congrats on your race! Post-race hunger usually hits me like a train when it finally sets in. Looks like you had some yummy eats!

Congratulations on the run! That is great! Your eats all looks delicious! I don’t get any subscriptions any more. I don’t know that I have ever had any problems before though. Good luck getting them resolved!

yeah, magazine subscriptions are quite annoying. i get them for free with airline miles and just ignore the paperwork that inevitably comes.

congrats on the race too!

I’m eagerly awaiting the recipe for your gorgeous chocolate lusciousness! 🙂

Once again, I’m sooooo excited for you about your incredible race accomplishment – you rock!! 🙂

I’m addicted to my food magazine subscriptions too! 🙂 I subscribe to Gourmet, Vegetarian Times, Cooking Light, Taste of Home, and Cooks Illustrated – too many magazines and so little time! 🙂 I’ve had a similar problem, where the magazines would send me “renewal notices” telling me my subscription had expired when I had just purchased the subscription a couple of months before! Sigh… Once I switched to ordering them through Amazon, though, the problem went away – hooray! 🙂

CONGRATS!!! What an awesome race time! You are doing so great. I can’t wait for that recipe…

Wow you are WAY overdo for new shoes!

Congrats again! That chocolate deliciousness is out of control…can’t wait for the official recipe. I get runners world and thats it and haven’t had any issues yet.

Your blog title- best yet! I loveee this song!!

Congrats on your race! you rock!

mizuno! i didn’t know you wore mizunos! i think they’re the best!

Sweet new shoes! I’ve gotten the exact same model of running shoes for the past 4 pairs–I know what I like. I’m due for a new pair myself…
I subscribe to Runner’s World, Self, and Clean Eating. What do you think of the FN mag? It sounds right up my alley.

Food Network is definitely one of my favorite magazines. I guess the recipes aren’t so interesting because you can literally find them all on their website, but they have a lot of tips and tricks for cooking. I also like how they do a lot of small-town, local food exposes, so every once and a while I’ll found out about a new place near me.

If you’ve got a pair of shoes that work definitely stick with them! I love love love my current shoes (and I should! I spent 2 hours picking them out)

the mystery choco looks JUST LIKE what i term raw vegan brownies on my blog. your raw vegan brownies are more cakey, mine are def more fudgy, like this. dates, cahsews, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, agave. am i right?

magazines. tip of the day. They will keep sending you invoices upon invoices,that’s the publishing industry. The only time you ever pay it is truly about 30 days b4 your subscription expires if you want to continue it. otherwise they will keep sending ad infinitum….

shoes. i am a nike repeat buyer, same brand, etc. if it works, dont mess w/ it!

kale, cauli and i may add tofu, WF does a phenomenal job at.

Just caught up your awesome recap– CONGRATS!!!! You rocked that half!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

