Shape Up RI Half Marathon Race Report

Posted on May 2, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Race Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

But first, I’m going to make you sit through the prefueling.

Mint Dark Chocolate And Raisins

Mint Dark Chocolate And Raisins

Oatmeal With Vanilla-Maple PB And Raisins

Oatmeal With Vanilla-Maple PB And Raisins

Not too exciting, except for the random raisin cravings. I think my body needs iron! I figured after a mostly vegan day that might be the case. As always, sleep was not easy on a Saturday night on campus; I woke up to loud music around 1am. Fortunately, I was tired enough to sleep through most of it and got 7 hours or so, waking up promptly at 6:30.

Amazing Grass Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bar

Amazing Grass Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bar

My pre-race “breakfast” was an Amazing Grass chocolate peanut butter protein bar. I chose this because it’s nutritionally dense and covers all the macro’s and micro’s well. It had agave nectar for slow burning energy peanut power forย satiety.

Standing at the starting gate could not have felt more “real”. Looking around, seeing all the other runners and marathoners was definitely inspiring. Even though I promised myself not to feel any pressure to sign up for another race in the near future, this definitely got me on a high that had me thinking. And then the gun went off!

Rehydrating

Rehydrating

Miles 1-2: Its here! Its here! It’s really here! I was very excited to be running. And I had no clue how fast I was going because my Garmin kept bouncing between 8 and 6; I was just hoping the people I was with were running a reasonable pace.

Miles 3-4: Ugh. Providence is hilly! And the hills set in early. At least by this point I was on the part of the course that I used to run daily, so I knew the terrain like the back of my hand.

Miles 5-6: At the 5 mile marker, I was not on pace for meeting my goal. I really stepped it up and took the downhills like a madmen. Unfortunately, they changed the layout of the course so I was a bit confused where we were going; but I was going and going strong.

Crossing The Finish Line

Crossing The Finish Line

Miles 7-9: Do not underestimate the power of people cheering from the sidelines. I never felt more loved than at this stretch with all the spectators. At a time when my head was saying “You’re only half way there”, everyone else was cheering “Half-way, half-way!”

Miles 10-11: I always try to run strong, be composed, and keep a level-head. At this point, I told myself it was OK to fight, struggle, and swear, so long as I won in the end.

Miles 12-13.1: The last mile is always the easiest. There were signs and people everywhere, and at this point I knew I had my time even if I slowed down considerably. I crossed the line with an official time of 1:37:51 and grabbed the medal at the end with enthusiasm.

Hardware

Hardware

Overall: I could not hold my water today! I think I peed 5 times before the race, and had to again the entire time through. At the end, I was probably dehydrated because I didn’t drink a lick, but it all worked for me. That just goes to show how nervous I was. But I did it! I beat my goal. And I feel no pressure to run off and sign up for another one ๐Ÿ™‚

My parents were at the finish line. I really had no plans for after the race but I decided to come home for the day(I really didn’t have the energy to do my own laundry, haha). I made a little breakfast for the car ride.

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

I have no clue what was in this trail mix, but it was delicious; I might have to go back and buy the whole bin. All I know is that the giant chocolate swirls were superb. And with the sweet cherry from the fage, it was definitely a magical pairing. I might have to get this again later on when I go back to RI to have for a dessert ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m plenty happy being on my couch, reuniting with Tivoed shows(hello, Little People, Big World), and am about to fix that iron problem with something off the grill! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

25 Responses to “Shape Up RI Half Marathon Race Report”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations!! Sounds like a fantastic run!!

Huge congrats on surpassing your goal!! I hate how hard it is to get a sound sleep during the weekend on campus, so frustrating! Glad you got some rest.

Congrats on a great race and accomplishing your goal! That’s awesome! Enjoy the rest of the day!

Woo-hoo! A half-marathon PR and lots of dark chocolate sounds like the perfect way to spend a Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

Hooray! If chocolate counts as prefueling sign me up for a 1/2! I love LP, BW. Im a sucker for real-life reality shows.

Congrats Evan!!!!!!!!!!!!
And this is so true: Do not underestimate the power of people cheering from the sidelines.

Totally.
It has helped me so much in half’s to have that. People that stand on streetcorners and cheer racers on are salt of the earth people and you truly CAN feel their love and support.

And in the gate, waiting for the gun to go off, yes, the energy of the crowd, the spirit, the whole vibe…intensely wonderful, isnt’ it!

Congrats!!!!!!!

Congrats! Sounds like a great race, mentally and physically! I love the cheering at races, really gets me going (sometimes I get too excited and speedy)! Your pre and post race meals = amazing! I don’t think I have ever had chocolate pre-race…

Wow what an awesome time, congrats Evan!!! You rock!!

Great job with the run! Have fun refueling!

Great re-cap! I totally agree that the crowd can be such a big motivator.
I think I’ve had that same trail mix–Whole Foods chocolate cherry mix? Those little chocolate stars are SO good!

Great race!

Congratulations on the run! I love knowing your thoughts the entire time, its really cool ๐Ÿ™‚

Congrats Evan! I imagine that running a marathon is such an experience. I’m certainly not there yet!

that is an AMAZING time! congrats!
great recap, too!

Congratulations on your run! Breaking your record must feel great~ Glad you’re satisfied with what you did. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nice job on the race!! As soon as registration opens I’m going to sign up for my first half….too bad it will be in March of next year, but will be keeping up with smaller races in the mean time and improving me speed and distance! I loved the recap though – seeing what was going through your head throughout.

CONGRATULATIONS!! I’m soooo excited for you!! You are amazing!!

Great job on the race Evan!!! make sure to get some good eats in afterwards!!!

congrats Evan! You are amazing! Those little chocolate things are called “Golden Buds’ or just ‘buds’ and melt in your mouth!(I think) and have coconut in them sometimes. I ate these by the box as a kid! Thanks for the memory! I’m going to go find some tomorrow!

congrats Evan!!!!

YAY! So glad you beat your goal of sub 1:40! ROCK ON!!

Congratulations! I hope to be able to run that next year!

congrats! thats an awesome time!! my friend had to pee a lot before her race too. must be nerves.

Hey Evan!! So…funny story…I actually saw you at the start of the race!! I noticed someone in an NMA shirt and ALMOST went over to introduce myself, but it was close to the start and everyone (or I should say “I”) was nervous, so I did not (though now I wish I did).

I actually found your blog because I was looking at the official results online, and when I was looking for my name, my eyes landed on yours (how? I have absolutely no idea). I remembered seeing that name around the blog world a lot, and then flashed back to the NMA shirt…and got excited thinking maybe it was the same person! So yes, I totally stalked you to find your blog haha

Annnyway…congrats on the great race!! Looks like we finished right by each other, so we must have been running sort of “together” the whole time (and I didn’t even know it). Small world.

Congrats on a great finish! The course WAS unexpectedly hilly. I ran this one too. I’m really inspired by your time and pace.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

