What’s Fudge Without The Butter?

Posted on May 3, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Still delicious. Still sinful. Still fudge.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Yesterday, at home, I was feeling ambitious: I’m going to make fudge. But what is fudge by its definition? As wikipedia told me, it’s fundamentally sugar, milk, and butter. No chocolate?! Well, not at it’s core. Those are the 3 ingredients that “make fudge”. Penuche is made with brown sugar. And chocolate fudge is made with the addition of cocoa powder. But what if you don’t want milk, or cream, or butter? And what if you’re a lazy bastard without a candy thermometer and only have the microwave at your disposal? Well, that’s when you need Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vegan chocolate chips(e.g. Trader Joe’s) OR 8.5oz sweetened dark chocolate
  • 4oz natural vegan butter substitute(e.g. Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk

In the microwave or over a double-broiler, melt together the chocolate chips and butter substitute. Take care not to burn the chocolate. Once fully incorporated, sift in the powdered sugar and pour in the non-dairy milk. Stir until fully incorporated. Pour into a small, square pan about 6 inches by 6 inches. Drop on the counter a few time to remove any air pockets and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

I’m sorry; this was just too easy. I’m a little scared for every part of my body affected by sugar that this delicious dessert can be made so quickly and simply. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk as the liquid, and the flavor could not have came out cleaner. Maybe vegan penuche will be next? The possibilities are endless! Now go make a pan and have another slice because it’s cholesterol free and no animals were affected in the process of your sinful, sinful treat.

Endangered Species Organic Smooth Dark Chocolate With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Endangered Species Organic Smooth Dark Chocolate With Vanilla Peanut Butter

I also indulged in 6 squares my favorite chocolate bar smothered in vanilla agave sweetened 365 peanut butter. Uhhh, does anyone remember when I mentioned opening this jar? Because it’s half gone. I don’t think I’ve gone through a jar of nut butter this fast before, and it’s a store brand! I think that speaks to the magic of 365.

Nature's Path Peanut Choco' Granola Bar

Nature's Path Peanut Choco' Granola Bar

And when I woke up, this wrapper of a Nature’s Path Peanut Choco’ Chewy Granola bar looked pretty guilty(i.e. I ate it during Brothers & Sisters). I expected to be sore and tired after yesterday. I certainly was tired and enjoyed the sleep. But when I woke up at 7:40, I really just felt like running–no timing, no pressure. Just running.

8 Miles In 71:56

8 Miles In 71:56

I went for an easy and slow 8 miles in the gym. Despite the heat and the humidity, the entire thing was made 10 times more pleasant with The Today Show and Betty White. Will you be watching her on SNL? I definitely will be! By which I mean I’ll be watching it on the internet the next day, but still, enthusiastically.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

Vanilla Yogurt With Peanut Sunspires, Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

Vanilla Yogurt With Peanut Sunspires, Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

I have a problem: Once I get on a flavor or flavor pairing, I can not stop obsessing about it until the next craving. Hence the abundance of chocolate and peanuts in this post. At least those are foods that’ll fuel you well. A vegan chocolate peanut butter fudge batch next? Oh, somebody turn my brain off.

Since I’ve already asked and know if ya’ll like fudge, what are you having for lunch today? I’m super excited for mine, because it’s fried and already prepared 😀 It’s the little things in life…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

15 Responses to “What’s Fudge Without The Butter?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I happen to have a salad sitting in the fridge.

I love that you can make this in the microwave, awesome!

I have never attempted fudge, but my boyfriend made me pumpkin fudge for Christmas and I know it involved a lot of cussing and trial and error…

next up should be tiger fudge (peanut butter and chocolate fudge! mmmmm)

Ohh my goodness, so much chocolatey goodness in the post! Love it!!

I forgot Penuche even existed. Its such a strange word!

I had a salad and salmon sandwich. I sort of wish it was fried… 😉

That fudge looks amazing!

I have the same problem with flavors too. Once I start the day with chocolate PB its all I want the rest of the day!

Drool. Beyond good. OMG I need these in my life! I’ve made vegan fudge before and it’s a similar recipe, however mine calls for coconut milk and about twice the powdered sugar LOL And is not a microwave option. This is sinfully easy!! and I am SO all over this one, Evan! Not to mention it seems like it makes a “reasonable” amount. My version makes almost too much, if that’s possible with fudge 🙂

I was thinking this would catch your eye. It’s a little processed, but still better than 90% of things out there. And you can’t beat the ease of it! Next time I think of dropping any serious cash for a dessert, I’m just thinking how cheap and easy this is and if it’s worth getting anything else

Omg, that fudge looks incredible! I can’t believe how simple it is, I definitely will be trying it soon. 🙂

This looks to die for…must make some this weekend (maybe for a friends cinco de mayo party…)! I had some split pea soup from last night, just as good!

Yum! That fudge sounds amazing.
I had homemade hummus for lunch today:)

I had a salad with a Quorn patty on top…easy and simple!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

