For The Sake Of Sanity

Posted on May 4, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

At the end of this post, you might question whether I have an ounce of sanity left in me. I might say I’ve never felt more sane. Finals period started today for me 2 hours ago and go on for 2 weeks from today. It’s going to be a loooong 2 weeks.

Lulu's Rare Heirloom Chocolate Bar

Lulu's Rare Heirloom Chocolate Bar

2 long weeks full of chocolate, like a new Rare Heirloom bar from Lulu’s. Oh my. Oh my, oh my, oh my was this good. It was unusually sturdy for a raw bar, with chunky coconut sugar. Even though it was 85% cacao, it wasn’t too bitter. It just tasted like pulling cocoa off a cacao tree and chowing down. Thank you for my sanity.

Honest Foods Almond Trail Mix Bar

Honest Foods Almond Trail Mix Bar

Is it insane to love the smell of a bar more than the flavor? Because I do. I could have sniffed this all night without actually eating it. These almond trail mix Honest Food bars smell like opening up a bottle of amaretto. Need I say more? I may not have had many to any drinks in my life, but I’ve definitely had enough Italiano desserts to know when a liquor’s good.

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Chocolate Peanut Butter

And there will be oatmeal, lots and lots of oatmeal, over the next 2 weeks as a constant “stabilizer” in life. Equally, there will be lots of Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter in that time, too. Justin, don’t fail me now. I might have been blaring out loud Mika’s Happy Ending and Natalie Imbruglia’s Torn while eating this. If so, don’t worry, it was all for the sake of sanity.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

You know how sometimes you wake up at 4am thinking “God, I just really need some vegan fudge right about now” but you never have it on hand? Yeah, maybe it’s a good thing if you don’t have it in the same room as you. Nevertheless, this was tasty.

D'Anjou Pear

D'Anjou Pear

10 Miles In 87:01

10 Miles In 87:01

What insane person would wake up 2 and a half hours before their first final to run 10 miles when they aren’t training for anything? Hi, nice to meet you, too. I could have made worse nutrition choices at that time than a pear, like more fudge(and the thought did cross my mind).

Oatmeal With An Egg And White Chocolate Strawberry Almond Butter, Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

Oatmeal With An Egg And White Chocolate Strawberry Almond Butter, Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

Cherry Fage With Trail Mix

I’m sane, and this trail mix from Whole Foods is crazy good; I just had to go back and get more. It has in it–from what I can tell–massive chocolate spirals, dark chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, raisins, sweetened cherries, peanuts, almonds, chocolate coated raisins, and peanut butter coated yogurt raisins. Deeeelicious.

Trilogy Kombucha

Trilogy Kombucha

After my test, I walked a bit and treated myself to a Trilogy Kombucha from the bookstore; I’ll drink for my hydration and health on someone else’s money 😉 Now I can’t believe the amount of stuff I have to get done in the next 2 hours. Will I keep my sanity? Do I still have it?

What’s the most embarrassing thing on your ipod? I ran listening to music in the gym this morning, and put my whole ipod on shuffle. It was fun coming across a lot of songs I forgot I had or wouldn’t have listened to otherwise, and then came this song. Oh brother, how tastes change.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

18 Responses to “For The Sake Of Sanity”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

hahaha…i have been getting up and running insane miles while not training for anything for…months? hah!

and yes, that trail mix from WF is freak’n awesome. i can’t buy it it’s so dangerous!

Lulu’s bar looks wonderful! It reminds me the chocolate bar I bought directly at the chocolate factory in Grenada. Pure pleasure!

Mika = <3!
Good luck with finals, I feel your pain.

Peanut butter covered yogurt raisins???? Whole Foods here I come! My iPod is one giant question mark. My taste in music is all over the place. Case in point- my go to running playlist has both New Kids on the Block and Whitney Houston.

You have quite a long finals period! Mine is only a week. And I need to go on a chocolate run to keep me satiated during all this studying…

Happy Ending + Torn = LOVE. Excellent song choices.

That lulu bar sounds insane! I have got to give it a try! The white chocolate, strawberry almond butter…um, hello, tasty! Good luck on your finals. I know things are crazy, but I am sure you will do well!

I have Justin Timberlake on my IPOD…does that qualify?!

If JT’s embarassing, I have a LOT to be ashamed about, lol

Most embarrassing thing on my iPod? Eamon’s “F-ck it.”

Yup.

I often wake up at 4 am wanting to have a freaky time. unfortunately, I have nobody to count on 😦

Lol! Fudge helps all feelings of loneliness 🙂

Finals for me started yesterday and end Friday at two…lots in a short time! Good luck on yours, and running before my finals keeps me sane, too. That and it gets me up in the morning 😀

I HAVE to try that chocolate, my nickname is Lulu!!

Good luck on all the finals 🙂

ah good luck with the next two weeks, Evan. I’m sure some good eats will get you through!

You’re making me crave that delicious trail mix!

Chocolate is a must for exam season! Good luck, I know you’ll do really well!

Just listened to that song twice….kind of like it! Lol! Most embarrassing things on my iPod…oh boy…’N Sync, Backstreet Boys, 98 Degrees, Justin Bieber, Hall & Oats, Whitney Houston’s Greatest Hits, Ace of Base singles…I could keep going. If I lost my iPod whoever found it would probably think I’m a tween. Oh well.

The 4am fudge, sounds like something I would do…even though I know a smarter choice would be a banana or cereal…

My ipod played lindsay lohan recently, I cringed…


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

