What Would You Do?

Posted on May 8, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

My newest Friday night television obsession is the ABC show What Would You Do? The whole show is based on what used to be a 20/20 segment where they put real people in morally compromising situations with hidden cameras to tap their reaction. Since I’ve been watching 20/20 and this segment for 5-6 years, I was excited for this(You can go ahead and do the math; you’ll just find out I turned into a grandpa at a really young age). As much as I wanted to recommend this show, I didn’t have much to say about it. That was until I had a What Would You Do? moment in my own life.

At the gym, someone clearly left their Debit card and hadn’t noticed since they weren’t around the entire while I was there. I’ve seen lost personal property at the gym before and left it, but since this clearly had the person’s name on it I decided to take it and find them. When I tried to find a school email, they weren’t in the system; at this point, I thought I’d made a huge mistake and wanted to go throw it back on the gym floor and forget about it. Instead, I used one of my most prominent skills: Facebook stalking. I was able to track them down and message the person, who actually cancelled the card right away and said thank you but that I could tear it up. What would you have done in my situation? In their’s? I think we both did the best thing; I definitely would have been hesitant to take anything from the gym if I didn’t think finding the owner would be reasonably easy, so if it were a real gym I’d probably have turned it in to the front desk and went on my way(there’s no staff there; it’s just a single room of machines).

Butter Toffee Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Butter Toffee Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Cherry Fage With Lemon Ginger Macaroon

Cherry Fage With Lemon Ginger Macaroon

For breakfast I had a bowl of oatmeal with Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter; how is it that I haven’t eaten this peanut butter in weeks?! It may not be vegan, but it’s perfection. And on a cherry fage I crumbled my last lemon ginger macaroon from Emmy’s Organic. You know you’re a blogger when you forget that “real” macaroons have egg whites in them and aren’t raw. They also aren’t this yummy.

Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Right before leaving for the gym I remembered my fudge in the refrigerator. My runs are a lot better when I do some serious prefueling. Ironically, I thought eating chocolate before a run would just be crazy and cheap. But fudge? Now that’s a class act.

I ran 12 miles on the treadmill. In hindsight, I have to question how sane it is to run on an electric machine when there’s a huge thunderstorm outside. But the thought didn’t occur to me until mile 7 so I kept going. I also got to watch Ice Age and laugh out loud at the line “It’s hard to get fat on a vegan diet.” Someone hasn’t tried my fudge

Black Beans And Daiya, Spanish Potatoes With Salsa

Black Beans And Daiya, Spanish Potatoes With Salsa

Black Beans And Daiya

Black Beans And Daiya

Dr. Zevia

Dr. Zevia

For lunch, I threw together a little Spanish fiesta with foods from the dining hall. I topped black beans with Daiya, which is still pure magic in case you’d thought I’d forgotten. On the side were some Spanish Potatoes and salsa, and a Dr. Zevia to wash it all down(OK, actually to empty the can so I don’t have to carry it out of the dorm).

Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Microwave Vegan Chocolate Fudge With Vanilla Peanut Butter

Dessert was more vegan chocolate fudge with a little vanilla peanut butter. I have a recipe for vegan peanut butter fudge in my mind! But obviously I don’t want to release it until I can make a test batch.

So Delicious Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Coconut Milk Ice Cream

So Delicious Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Really, the fudge was just an apertif for the main course: So Delicious chocolate peanut butter swirl coconut milk ice cream. I’m going to cry in the time that I don’t have this between moving out of the dorm and settling in at home. It’s that good.

Citrus Kombucha

Citrus Kombucha

Righteously Raw Caramel Dark Chocolate Bar

Righteously Raw Caramel Dark Chocolate Bar

After that I walked to CVS where I got the most perfect Mother’s day card and picked up a citrus kombucha and ate that as a snack with 1/2 a raw chocolate bar. I’ve had this 1/2 lying around for so long frankly because I haven’t cared for it; if you’re looking for raw chocolate, better to try Nibmor or Lulu’s or even make your own with my recipe. Speaking of recipes…

Maple Baked Tofu, Roasted Broccoli And Sweet Potato Chunks With Maple Syrup And Sea Salt

Maple Baked Tofu, Roasted Broccoli And Sweet Potato Chunks With Maple Syrup And Sea Salt

I cooked! OK, it wasn’t anything more than maple baked tofu with roasted broccoli and sweet potatoes. But it felt soooo good to get back in the kitchen and turn on the oven after more meals than I can count from the dining hall or Whole Foods or made of oatmeal. Don’t get me wrong–I love a good meal made for me here and there. But there’s nothing more grounding than making something yourself.

Do you feel like you need to cook or bake from time to time? Clearly, I do. Do you think it’s “hard to get fat” on a vegan diet like Sid the Sloth says? That’s how I used to think–that vegans were sticks who ate grass–, but after learning more and reading so many wonderful vegan blogs I know they can cook with the best of them and it’s still everything in moderation that’s key. I’ll point out everything here today besides the butter toffee peanut butter and Cherry Fage was vegan. And what would you do?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “What Would You Do?”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Your fudge is making me drool!

I don’t think it would be hard to get fat on a vegan diet, there are SO many yummy vegan treats!

You are such a good person! I would just turn the card into the staff, but I like how you went even farther and contacted the person.

oh i think it’s very easy to gain weight on a vegan diet. i’ve done it! it was simple!

is dr. zevia like dr. pepper?!

That’s the idea behind it, though I haven’t actually had Dr. Pepper ever, or at least in a really long time, so I couldn’t say how accurate the flavor is. It’s kind of like cherry, but with some darker licorice and ginger flavors going on.

You did the right thing in regards to the credit card for sure! I’m in a baking mood lately, serious cookie cravings, but your fudge always looks sinful, especially with PB!

Your fudge looks excellent, as do those oats! I just got some of that Naturally Nutty and cannot wait to try it. I love every other naturally nutty nut butter I’ve had so I know it can’t fail me 😉 The maple baked tofu also caught my eye…as does anything maple!
I think you did the right thing at the gym – if it were me I would have just brought it to the front desk or done something like what you did. If I lost it I certainly would have canceled ASAP, too!
And I love cooking or baking! Of course, I live at home so it’s a whole lot easier for me to get in the kitchen 😉

Ok, one time I left my credit card on the bus and the kid found me on facebook. It was the nicest thing anyone ever did for me! I noticed when I got home that it was gone, and by the time I signed onto facebook three minutes later the kid had already messaged me, and he went to my school. it was great.
your fudge is seriouslyyy tempting me..might have to make it

I wouldn’t have took the card back with me to my room or personally. I would have dropped it off to staff in the gym though – then if the person went back it would be there with lost and found or something.
Chocolate PB ice cream??!! man, you guys have all the good flavors down there! I’ve only seen the plain vanilla coconut…stick to my breyer’s 😉

Seeing as the students who man the gyms don’t actually do much I probably would have done exactly what you did! I always think about how much it sucks when I lose something!

I’m hearing more and more about Daiya cheese. I gave up trying to find a great cheese substitute as it’s never to my expectation, but I have to say that this one seems to be something else. How would you comapre it to regular dairy cheese? Is it really good?

I normally don’t even like regular mozzarella, but I love mozarella style daiya. it tastes more like a cheddar, and it’s delicious. There’s no complaints about it to be found here.

How crazy! I totally had a What Would You Do moment last week! I was moving out of my dorm. My parents were parked in the garage beneath Boston Common, and on the way though the Common I found a Suffolk student’s ID sitting on the rock wall. I didn’t know if I should take it or not, but I did. When I got home, I sent her a facebook message and she also told me to tear it up! Yay for teenaged-grandparents to the rescue!

I definitely think you did the right think with the debit card. I’d found someone’s wallet before where I went to undergrad and couldn’t find them on facebook, so I looked them up on the school’s email system and they were so glad I’d found it. It was weird going through someone else’s personal thing, but I only did to find out who the owner was.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

