Honey, I’m Home

Posted on May 12, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

Somehow, we fit all of this…

Possessions

Possessions

plus one of these…

into one of these…

All I can say is God bless jeeps. After moving everything, I was starving. To Whole Foods we shall go!

Kale Avocado Salad, Roasted Cauliflower, Indian Tofu

Kale Avocado Salad, Roasted Cauliflower, Indian Tofu

Much better. I’m going to miss the Providence University Whole Foods so much; they had one of the best salad bars ever 😦 I’m talking, you could get whatever you want, from raw kale salad, to processed and fried Indian tofu. Where could you go wrong? After getting back home, unloading the car, and settling in, I had a little treat for dessert.

Jokerz Candy Bar

Jokerz Candy Bar

Jokerz Candy Bar

Jokerz Candy Bar

Yum! These Jokerz bars are not joking around(especially with the price). I still have no clue how they do it with the vegan caramel and nougat but I’m out to discover their secret! I had to try to recreate the snickers in nut butter form…

Vegan Caramel Crunchy Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Vegan Caramel Crunchy Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Success! I’ll add this to the nut butter recipes the next time I make it. But it takes just 3 ingredients I’m sure you have around and no prep time. It was so good, I had to make another (tiny) dish.

Vegan Caramel Crunchy Peanut Butter

Vegan Caramel Crunchy Peanut Butter

And eat it with a spoon. I won’t judge if you don’t, K?

Crunchy PB On Oats, Honey Chobani, Apple

Crunchy PB On Oats, Honey Chobani, Apple

Breakfast was really simple: An apple, honey Chobani, and oatmeal with 365 salted crunchy peanut butter. The honey Chobani has a seriously great taste that bottled honey just doesn’t do justice. It’s a bit higher in sugar than the fruit flavors but with a plain nut butter, what’s the difference? It all balances out. And now I’m staring this down to organize:

To-Do

To-Do

You can consider that my workout for today. Any marathoners want to trade?

What’s your favorite thing about going home? I’m always hearing about people looking forward to the food but I’m the cook around these parts so the food always goes with me! I’d say I’m torn between my dog and the tivo. Oh, tivo…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “Honey, I’m Home”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Simply having my own room, my own kitchen, and my family with me makes going home soooooooo much more enjoyable than being in a cramped dorm room that I have to share with a snoring roommate and a kitchen that’s not even on the same floor as I am.

The DVR (tivo, same thing) is also a huge plus even though I don’t watch TV much to begin with. 😉

I hate moving, but I look forward to throwing out/donating thins I don use or need.

There’s something about home that makes us call it home. For me, it’s more than having a roof, and a room of my own. It’s beyond being “in my own stufff”. Coming home is also retrieving good memories. It’s coming back to the feeling of security that I had when I was a kid. It’s the happiness of having back the feeling of comfort and peace that I can’t have anywhere esle than at home.

I have to say, unpacking and packing are my two least favorite things in the world! I don’t envy you one bit!

I hate, hate packing+unpacking- I just want everything tidy then and there… favourite things about my parent’s home is- my parents, I’ve grown closer to them over the years, my bed (my uni flat bedroom is RIGHT next to the toilet in the next flat- picture me trying to go to sleep at night?!), the lovely countryside and- well I belong. Enjoy the prodigal son homecoming! Are your friends all back now?

Those jokerz bars are seriously no joke. They are so good! The coconut one is amazing! Glad you made it home safely and can hopefully relax for a while! Enjoy your afternoon and your Tivo!

I hated the moving-home-from-college process. So much junk. Probably more since I’m a girl. 😉

The best thing about going home is the food is FREE.

My favorite part about home? Having my own kitchen, or really, a kitchen, going to Whole Foods (they don’t have one near my campus), and being able to drive again. And I will in a week!

Well done on the move! Aren’t you at all sad to have left campus and be done with your freshman year? I remember just being heartbroken to have to leave at the end of my freshman year. Hope you’re looking forward to a great summer!

Since I don’t have a TV, my fave thing about going to stay with my parents is getting to watch the Food Network all day if I feel like it!

I’m going to have to keep my eye out for these Jokerz bars! Holy cow…vegan candy will be my weakness for life.

Moving home was always such a hassle. Especially when furniture was thrown into the mix. After graduation, my dad, brother and I drove home in a mini van stuffed to the rim. I had to sit cross-legged, holding a bouquet of roses for 10 hours. Still, everything always fit!

My bed!!!! And my family 🙂

Congrats on being done, officially!!!

Going home is amazing because I get a real kitchen, real grocery stores, and my kitty and family!

haha I had about 3x as much stuff!

Sleeping in my own bed!!!

I hope I find a way to fit all my stuff into my car as well! Only time will tell…
I look forward to my dogs and a fully stocked pantry:)

I still don’t understand how I fit all of my stuff from school in my car — it literally defies geometry.

Welcome home, Evan! Enjoy!!

going home means free food! ok, well i guess if im visiting and not moving back in…right?

have fun organizing..i’ll be in the same boat this weekend if my apt application goes through (fingers crossed) so i feel your pain.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

