My Summer In Recipes

Posted on May 13, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Health, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

All throughout the year, I’ve had a tiny list of a few recipes I’d like to try. Well, when I realized I was home and had the whole Summer before me, that list kind of… exploded. Thanks to all of your suggestions and more, here is what I hope to make and bake over the next few months.

Wow. I better get cooking, right? Thankfully, I have.

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge

Microwave Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup no-stir peanut butter*(smart balance recommended)
  • 3/4 cup natural vegan butter substitute(earth balance recommended)
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla powder OR 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract**

In a bowl, microwave the vegan butter until melted. Add in the peanut butter and stir until fully incorporated. The mixture should be a thick liquid at this point. Whisk in the sugar and vanilla while slowly adding the milk as needed. Once all the ingredients have been mixed together, pour into a shallow square pan. Keep in the fridge loosely covered for at least 12-24 hours before cutting into.

*If the peanut butter is not solid at room temperature, the recipe will not set properly

**The powder is recommended because the alcohol in the vanilla extract will hinder the setting process somewhat

Good thing I’ve been running too…

14 Miles

14 Miles

I hoped to run 14 miles today, but honestly I did not know that I would. I put myself out on the road, and after the first few miles things just felt good. At 6.5 miles, when I could have cut it short, I knew I had it in me to keep going and going and made it all in under 2 hours. Wahoo! I was excited, and ready to eat a good meal for lunch.

Chickpea Salad

Chickpea Salad

Chickpea Salad

Chickpea Salad

Ah, nothing feels more refreshing than a Summer salad. I dressed spinach in this dressing and then mixed together chickpeas, golden raisins, raw cheddar, and a little maple syrup. The maple and sea salt really draw out the flavor in the cheddar to the point where it is too good for words. Have you been following your salads for salad a day?

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge And Vegan GF Chocolate Cupcake

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge And Vegan GF Chocolate Cupcake

Dessert was the 2 things I’ve been holding in my head all day: A piece of vegan peanut butter fudge and a Sweet Utopia vegan GF chocolate cupcake. The fudge isn’t quite set to where I’d like it, but I couldn’t help digging in with a spoon; the flavor is dead on. This plus Tivoed Bobby Flay made for a perfect afternoon. Do you think I could get into a fudge throwdown with him?

Oatmeal With 365 Crunchy

Oatmeal With 365 Crunchy

I also had for the 2nd day in a row a bowl of oatmeal with 365 crunchy. What can I say? I’m obsessed. I like the crunch, but so often pre-flavored nut butters are smooth. So now that I’m on a 365 kick, I expect to be crunching away!

Organic Red Delicious Apple

Organic Red Delicious Apple

Plus an organic apple for a good serving of fruit before dinner.

Sweet Chili Tofu With Broccoli, Basmati Rice With Coconut And Lime

Sweet Chili Tofu With Broccoli, Basmati Rice With Coconut And Lime

For dinner I tried out this recipe.

Sweet Chili Tofu With Broccoli

Sweet Chili Tofu With Broccoli

I think I’ve got you matched here, Whole Foods. This was pretty fantastic. Sure, it wasn’t fried. But the flavor was nice and spicy. For the rice, we just cooked it normally and then drizzled with coconut milk and lime zest at the end. Magnifique! So simple and yet rich and flavorful.

What recipes do you hope to make this Summer? Or maybe you shouldn’t tell me because then my list will grow longer…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

19 Responses to “My Summer In Recipes”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I really want to try nutella especially in banana bread. Oh, and pumpkin oats for sure!

i’m going to try my hand at mcafe (my fave restaurant in l.a.) spicy kale with peanut sauce.

Vegan GF Midnight Chocolate Cupcakes look amazing from the last post.
This morning for breakfast i fed skylar her normal plate of raw produce: pears, carrots, cauli, brock, you name it..and then i put on kale chips. She goes mom, we don’t eat chips for breakfast in this house (age 3!) and i said well honey they’re kale chips so they’re fine. LOL

The tofu looks great but i hate soy sauce and garlic so yea i need to work on how to make that work. I need to also work on my tofu prep so it’s not mushy. I have read that freezing the tofu for 2-3 days first is the ticket.

Ok, the fudge. Dear lord there is a god in heaven. Crazy good looking! YUM! I think I will make it with Jif and see what happens 🙂

The commenting situation today..whatever 🙂 At least you’re a dude and can let it roll off. another chick and i would have had to play moderator!

I can’t wait to cook when I get home! I’ll have a kitchen 10x the size of this one and legit pots and pans 😀

365 pb is great. Almost as good as smart balance 😉

I have so many recipes saved up to try. My brain constantly thinks about food and how it works. It is an illness! The fudge looks amazing. I have a rule though…fudge only during the holiday season! Only because I don’t run 14 miles in one day! You are awesome! Congratulations! So glad you are having fun at home…enjoy your break!

Love the list of recipes! I need to up mine too…I am trying to stick to the books I bought…Veganomicon, Candle Cafe, and a few more. The fudge looks delicious!

literally, drooling over the tofu dish. wow those flavors!
this summer, my big plans are to become a raw dessert expert…using my favorite blogs to teach me how.

Hey! Just started reading your blog and I really like it! Those are some awesome recipes–best of luck!

The foods on your list sound perfecttt. I’m thinking homemade raw cashew ice cream would be a lot cheaper than the store-bought!

Maybe the fudge would set better with coconut oil?? Or you could just keep it in the freezer…either way it looks delish 😀

As soon as I hit “submit comment” I am getting up to make peanut butter cup cookies. mmmmm

What a great run! I also have coconut milk ice cream on my list of things to make 🙂

Homemade sweet potato gnocchi is on my list! 😀 I know what you mean about an evergrowing list though…there’s way too many recipes, way too little time.

Oh all your recipes looks deelish! I can’t wait to see these!! I have always been intimidated to make homemade bread but that is something I would like to tackle this summer…specifically I would like to make gluten-free challah bread!

I’m not bias or anything, but the maple ice cream AND chocolate sorbet are my first picks!!!

I made a list like that, but I think I’ll have to add your fudge recipe!

Glad to see someone else has an appreciation for golden raisins:)
As for summer cooking, I want to make that tart frozen yogurt, and I want to get creative with my new Spiralizer!

i LOVE this list! i always see recipes i want to make but forget to write them down – i might have to make a bucket list of my own. fab idea friend. and fab eats as always!

Homemade cashew ice cream is goood… although not quite as good as the one I usually get- it makes me wonder if they are being truly upfront with their ingredients list- unless they use liquid nitrogen or something crazy-Blumenthal esque! It looks like there are a lot of raw/non-cooked things on your list- a good idea if I remember what a Bostonian summer can be like, I was so glad of all the ice cream parlours! I don’t get a summer off from uni now for the next 4 years, mind you the word ‘summer’ is debatable for the type of weather we get over here ;(


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

