Better Than Candy

Posted on May 15, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I promise you something in this post is actually better than candy! 8-| Did you ever expect to hear that from me?!

Trader Joe's Almond Butter

Trader Joe's Almond Butter

It was not this extra scoop of Trader Joe’s almond butter I had with breakfast. Almond butter is good–it’s really good. But it’s not candy…

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

And my microwave vegan chocolate fudge doesn’t count because it is candy. I just have to say I love a life where I can wake up and before doing anything else make fudge; that makes me a happy boy πŸ™‚

9 Laps

9 Laps

This run was so long, and so brutal; the winds were intense today and it felt like wherever I ran, I was going into them. It doesn’t help that my neighborhood is hilly or that I forgot to stretch after yesterday’s run(rookie mistake). But I’m always prouder of a tough run I stuck out than a longer run that felt easy.

Yellow Curry Tofu Over Vegetables

Yellow Curry Tofu Over Vegetables

This was certainly not candy. Whatever made a New England boy think he could cook Thai food? I just heated up tofu in a pan and simmered it with coconut milk and yellow curry paste. It was delicious, but I was a little too quick to throw in extra salt and garlic, so that my mouth was on fire. I couldn’t in good conscious feed this to anyone without having them sign a waiver.

Lipton Lemon 0 Calorie Naturally Sweetened Pure Leaf Iced Tea

Lipton Lemon 0 Calorie Naturally Sweetened Pure Leaf Iced Tea

I cooled down with this new tea from Lipton I was sent to review. Oh. My. God. All through high school, I had an addiction to Arizona diet iced tea, which I guzzled faster than water. This was like that and so much more; the flavors of lemon and black tea really shined and it was all perfectly sweetened with stevia! This can’t get on store shelves fast enough in my mind.

Oatmeal With Honey Maple Peanut Butter

Oatmeal With Honey Maple Peanut Butter

Organic Fuji Apple

Organic Fuji Apple

Over the course of the afternoon I snacked on an organic apple and oatmeal with high-protein honey maple peanut butter. The peanut butter tastes OK–certainly not better than candy–and is only high protein because of whey powder(not a fan) so I probably won’t buy another container once I’m done with this one. So what was better than candy?

Raw Local Honey

Raw Local Honey

Raw local honey. How local?

Local Farm

Local Farm

Let’s just say I walked there and back in less than 15 minutes. When I got there, I asked the woman who runs it if they sold raw honey and she looked at me as if to say “Are there fish in the sea?” God I love rural America. Anyway, I bought a jar, walked home, and dug in with a spoon.

Raw Local Honey

Raw Local Honey

Oh my stars. Words can not express how good this tasted. No honey I have ever had compares to raw, crystallized honey. This was the best $6 I have ever spent. Expect a lot of this over the Summer; she tells me the hives are almost ready for a second turn, whatever the hell that means.

Grilling

Grilling

After not having meat since Wednesday and writing this scathing post on my hatred towards “veganism” but love of a plant based diet, I finally wanted meat again, and so we happily fired up the grill.

Grass-Fed Burger Over Bitter Greens, Grilled Potato Fries, Pickle

Grass-Fed Burger Over Bitter Greens, Grilled Potato Fries, Pickle

What says American comfort food better than a burger and fries? Just making the healthy swaps of grass-fed beef and grilling the fries in a moderate amount of EVOO really pumped up the nutrition of this meal, too. Now I won’t lie: That honey jar sitting on the counter is looking really good right about now.

Winning this giveaway would also be sweet like candy, too…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Better Than Candy”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That tofu looks deadly – in a good way! I’m pounding back about a pound of fudgy cake myself right now…I MARVEL at your running abilities and the numbers you hit…God I WISH…:(

Raw honey is amazing! I bought some local honey too and it is good on EVERYTHING.

Raw honey is DELICIOUS.

Evan, that honey looks amazing! Rural America does turn out some wonderful stuff! I could eat it straight out of the jar, too! Mmmm! And I loved that SCATHING πŸ˜‰ post on veganism. I feel much of the same! Grass fed, hormone-free iron, mmm mmm!

Wow, that honey looks amazing… nothing like any honey I’ve ever seen before – I must get / try some!

And I seriously lol’d when I read the line “whatever the hell that means.” πŸ˜›

Hi Evan! I’m new to your blog (via Danielle @ Coffee Run) and I already feel compelled to comment πŸ™‚ I LOVE raw local honey. I picked some up on a whim from a food co-op nearby and after doing some googling I read that local honey can help with allergies. I don’t know if it’s the power of suggestion but my allergies do seem better and in any event, you can’t really beat delicious honey. Especially when you know exactly where it came from! πŸ™‚

Whoaa you got that big jar for only $6?! I need to start hitting up local stores/farms…the health food stores are trying to give me a run for my money

I used to guzzle lipton tea in high school too…but then I switched to diet coke because that was “healthier” haha

Never tried raw honey but it seems like a treat from your description.

I have coupons for up to 6 free of those 0 calorie drinks, but I can’t find them in the store ANYWHERE!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

