Get Me Out Of The Kitchen

Posted on May 16, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Health, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I could have sworn I wrote a post like this before. Regardless, even if I didn’t name it this, it’s a common problem I have: I get in the kitchen and you can’t get me out of there.

Roasting Potatoes

Roasting Potatoes

Sun Tea

Sun Tea

When I got home from my run, I showered and immediately had 4 projects going in the kitchen at once. 2 of them were rather simple. I started making half-caf sun tea using 7 tea bags and some room temperature water. That I’ll refrigerate later and sweet with stevia and lemon to serve as iced tea. And I threw some potatoes in the oven to bake because I like to always have a few fully baked potatoes lying around to throw into a hash. Speaking of hash…

Home Fries And Rosemary

Home Fries And Rosemary

I threw 2 previously baked potatoes, some red onion, rosemary and EVOO in a pan to cook into home fries for lunch. I’ve been assured that, while these aren’t currently as good as some of my favorite restaurants’, it just takes time and practice.

Vanilla Cashew Cream

Vanilla Cashew Cream

And while I had that on the stove, in the blender I threw together the ingredients for raw chocolate chip ice cream. At this point, it was like a thick and frothy vanilla milkshake I could have just drank there. But I resisted because lunch was ready.

Home Fries, Veggie Burger, Gingerade Kombucha

Home Fries, Veggie Burger, Gingerade Kombucha

For protein, I had a Wildwood shitake veggie burger alongside the home fries and a gingerade kombucha to wash it all down and rehydrate.

Home Fries With Red Onion And Rosemary

Home Fries With Red Onion And Rosemary

Again, not as good as when I get it at Nick’s or Garden Grill, but getting better. The red onion and sea salt are really key for the flavor. I can’t wait to try this again with part sweet potato.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

10 Miles

10 Miles

Before my run I ate a piece of microwave vegan chocolate fudge and that powered me through 9 laps of the neighborhood. I definitely did not feel fast today but after 3 days of outdoor running on hills I guess that’s to be expected.

Organic Fuji Apple

Organic Fuji Apple

I snacked on an apple a little later on in the afternoon after I cleaned up all my messes(a food processor is not the same as a blender when it comes to liquids). Eventually, my cashew mixture had chilled…

Raw Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup cashews
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup amber agave
  • 1/4 cup vanilla bean infused sugar
  • 1/2 cup cacao nibs

In a blender, puree the first 4 ingredients until they are fully mixed. Store this liquid in a container in the refrigerator for a few hours to chill. Once ready, pour into ice cream maker and work to manufacturer’s directions. Add the cacao nibs 5 minutes before being done. Eat immediately or keep in a tight container in the freezer.

This was so fun to make! I can’t wait to make quarts and quarts of ice cream this Summer. I let this sit in the freezer for a bit but I think the texture was actually better right after being churned. It definitely had a cashew flavor, but not in a bad way. This would be better with an actual vanilla bean but my way costs considerably less. Did I mention it was delicious? Let’s just pretend the cashews have no calories.

Raw Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Raw Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

…What? Was I supposed to have only one bowl? Yeah, not happening. While I could try to make some excuse that this is raw and that somehow makes it healthier, ice cream is ice cream. I will say that this is a really fun way besides oatmeal to get in some NUTrition.

Baked Beans, Broccoli And Turnip In Soy Sauce

Baked Beans, Broccoli And Turnip In Soy Sauce

My dinner was boring compared to that. I really wanted to keep eating raw: raw salmon, that is. But as much as I love rural America for its honey, I do not love it for its lack of Whole Foods and cheap sushi bars. I told myself if I wasn’t going to feel ethical eating that fish, I should just be happy eating beans. And I am. Seriously, buy 365 baked beans. They will change your opinion on canned goods.

Favorite raw vegetable? I don’t like many vegetables raw but baby carrots I don’t mind. Here’s a note: raw turnip does not taste all that good. Keep that in mind.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “Get Me Out Of The Kitchen”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

you are frickin posting machine..that, and cooking machine

raw local honey. there is NOTHING better. Omg and you do know that honey is extremely medicinial and antiviral/bacterial and has immune boosting components. google the word manuka honey, it’s austrailian and it’s about $20 a jar at WFs but the stuff is magic. and i can see that local honey looks magical!

the Raw Chocolate Chip Ice Cream- most people would say, i cant eat that i will get fat. i would say, i cant eat that, i will go broke. i guess it’s cheaper than store bought but i noted your ingredient list and it’s defi not budget food, but then again, is anything truly decadent ever? no.

the on-fire tofu,i LOL’ed to the signing a waiver

the micro fudgee, still delish

vanilla/margerine/poweder sugar, i started making frosting like that when i was 7 as an after school treat and eating it by the bowl. sweet tooth much?

i havent had baked beans in 20 yrs b/c i refuse to cook beans, the only vegan out there. and canned has too much salt. i may have to check into the 365 b/c i love! baked beans.

have a stellar time in the kitch, wish i lived closer, id come help you eat. you can cook and do the dishes 🙂

It’s amazing how the local honey actually tastes like my neighborhood and the air I breathe. And I didn’t want to mention it but what they say about raw honey and making for quick and easy digestion–so true!

What a great blog! I am adding this to the ones I read regularly!

I can’t wait until I move back home where there will be a Whole Foods with in an hour of where I live so I can pick up these amazing goodies you get from there

i think me + ice cream maker = disaster. i’d never put it down! i absolutely love raw veggies although my favorite is probably mushrooms

Ok, so I picked up some raw local honey today (at the store) and it’s all your fault 😉

That always happens to me…I can’t just have one project going on in the kitchen, I have to have 12. It’s the type A multitasker in me…

The raw ice cream (and the fudge, and everything else) = to dieee for

I really think me wanting an ice cream maker has now moved into me neeeeding an ice cream maker

I really want to go make that ice cream RIGHT NOW!… unfortunately I don’t have an ice cream maker!! nnnoooooo!

fave raw veggie would be carrots. that’s about the only veggie i prefer raw.

You are a kitchen machine! Potatoes + rosemary = deliciousness, every time. Yum!!!

I love raw regular carrots, but raw baby carrots gross me out. I know, I’m weird.

Evan maybe you could try out for Iron Chef 🙂

I just got some raw cacao nibs and they are SOOOOOO GOOOOOOOD! I love them! I just eat them plain! Mmmm! And I swear, every day I see a new Kombucha flavor. Amazing! And an awesome run, as always, Evan!

I’m the same way – baby carrots are the only veg I can have raw. I have no idea how people can eat raw broc and cauliflower!

Glad your first ice cream batch was a success!!! It’s hard to stick to one bowl, especially when it’s JUST been made.

I love baked beans, I’ll have to try out the 365 brand, I never have. They are perfect for summer cookouts.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

