My And Rachael Ray’s Best Friend

Posted on May 17, 2010. Filed under: Health | Tags: , |

Before I dive into today’s subject, a quick recap from the weekend:

Today I’ve gone to my old high school’s graduation. I can’t wait to see the entire class I used to know, only younger, and all my old teachers. This reminds me of when I went back to my elementary school; I’m sure it will feel weird at first but be a blast in the end. Have you ever gone back to old places? Did things change or stay the same?

In the mean time, I wanted to draw your attention to something I can not live without: Extra Virgin Olive Oil, or, as RR would say, EVOO.

First of all, what is it? Extra virgin olive oil is the oil from the first pressing of freshly picked, raw olives. It’s a dietary fat liquid at room temperature which contains 14% saturated fat, mostly monounsaturated fats, and about a 1:15 omega 3:omega 6 ratio. Extra virgin has the most pungent flavor and is the least refined of the olive oils.

Extra Virgin Olive Oils

Extra Virgin Olive Oils

Extra virgin olive oil was the only liquid fat I used Β in my dorm, and I used it quite a bit. I love it to roast vegetables, as in my sweet potato fries, or simple broccoli. It’s great to heat in a pan and cook potato chunks, or to drizzle over a chickpea salad.

I mentioned in this post all the ways I like to save money by buying store brand. Olive oil is one of the foods that I would say you do not want to be cheap on. Splurge! A good bottle will last and it is worth the investment. I love bringing back olive oil from Europe whenever I’ve gone on vacation there.

Sicilian Olive Oil

Sicilian Olive Oil

This olive oil was recently 50% off at Whole Foods and I literally cannot wait to finish my old bottle and open this up. Each olive oil taste different depending on the season, the olives, the location, and every other factor. And extra virgin tastes moreso different because it’s the most pungent in flavor.

Grecian Olive Oil

Grecian Olive Oil

My own personal favorite olive oil comes from Greece(I suppose this was bound to happen being a Classicist). Don’t be afraid to try different olive oils to find the one right for you. Traditional practice has it that you dip bread in a saucer to give each a try, but I wouldn’t judge if you sipped a spoonful straight πŸ˜‰

This post even has great tips on how to fancify your own oil.

Vegan, Gluten-Free Cake

Vegan, Gluten-Free Cake

And did you know that chocolate and olive oil pair really well together in baked goods? When I baked this cake, I made the curious substitution of EVOO for canola oil. Could you taste it? Yes. But it was in an absolutely beautiful way. Cocoa powder is naturally bitter(especially non-alkalined which I buy); it needs sugar to make it sweet and fat to make it rich. Olive oil lends a fruitiness to the chocolate.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “My And Rachael Ray’s Best Friend”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I love Olive Oil as well, I put it on almost everything! And I’ve been curious to try EVOO in cakes as well, but my mom never let me because it was more expensive than canola oil! I may have to try it next time I bake something from scratch though!

I love using olive oil as my fat in baking – yes indeed it pairs beautifully with chocolate.

I have made baked goods with chocolate and olive oil, too – and they are great!

I love, love, love olive oil. I use it whenever I bake muffins (it’s especially good in pumpkin muffins…mmm) and it’s lovely on salads, breads, etc. πŸ˜€

I love olive oil! My favorite thing ever is olive oil infused with truffles. Omg, so amazing! Great post. πŸ™‚

I make a cake with olive oil and cornmeal that is SO good! I love it!

I’ve always be weary of substituting EVOO in baked goods but I’m glad to know it works well!

Oh wow! Thank you for answering my question from yesterday about the olive oil in baked goods. I have a friend who has done this in the past and I’ve always grimaced at the thought. Now I know better πŸ˜‰

i LOVE rachel ray!

There are quite a few excellent authentic
Italian markets that I frequent, and am so blessed to have access to Ethnic stores and real ‘food’ (not processed). The Olive Oils and Balsamic Vinegars are amazing- about 3 full isles ranging fomr $9- to the $140+. I agree. Investing in good oils, vinegars etc make such a difference and makes you view food in a different light.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

