An Eventful Day In Boston Part 2

Posted on May 18, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

So, I timed this to publish right when I start taking my last final. It might be a little late for this, but wish me luck!… please? Good God, I’m going to need that or a hard drink.

What is someone to do in the North End when they’re hungry and can’t eat gluten(the North End is primarily Italian-American with the best pizza and pasta in Boston)? Well, either starve to death or find somewhere with a slightly varied menu.

Antico Forno

Antico Forno

Just down the road, I found a lovely looking Italian restaurant with an open window and ended up dining here. The prices were reasonable, which isn’t something you can say about a lot of restaurants in Boston, and there were things on the menu for me.

Olives In Oil

Olives In Oil

There were bread and olives; I couldn’t touch the bread, but I was all over the olives. I loved how fast the service was; I had ordered not 5 minutes after I got there, and it couldn’t have been 10 minutes more before my plate arrived.

Involtini Di Melanzane

Involtini Di Melanzane

I ordered a dish that was rolled eggplant stuffed with mozzarella and basil baked in a plum tomato sauce. The cheese was supposed to be ricotta, but they were out; honestly, I love fresh mozzarella so that was no big deal at all. It as all very delicious with a deep, stone cooked flavor. My only gripe was the lack of a basil flavor; it really needed that to lighten it all up. But for $8, how could I go wrong?

Trader Joe's Fair Trade Dark Chocolate

Trader Joe's Fair Trade Dark Chocolate

I was still a little hungry after that and happy to break into a new chocolate bar from Trader Joe’s on my walk to Boston Common. I was hoping this was going to be a new, cheaper version of my favorite chocolate bar. It wasn’t. But it was still pretty good, definitely a bargain at $2, and all fair trade. I’ll be sure to stuff some stockings with this one.

Trader Joe's Fair Trade Dark Chocolate, Iced Tea

Trader Joe's Fair Trade Dark Chocolate, Iced Tea

When I got to the Common, I found a place to study and ordered an iced tea. Instantly, I got a HUGE headache and had some more chocolate thinking I might have gotten dehydrated walking around so much. In hindsight, it probably was the case that I had just drank more caffeine than I have in a week. Chocolate cures everything.

Picco Restaurant

Picco Restaurant

To get over the Grezzo disappointment, we stopped somewhere I really wanted to try on the road home. This restaurant is known for using local and organic ingredients. But, since it was just 4pm, we weren’t there for food…

Ice Cream Flavors

Ice Cream Flavors

They also have gourmet gelato. Did someone say gelato? sign me up.

Vanilla Bean Gelato

Vanilla Bean Gelato

I ordered the Vanilla gelato. You can really get to know a place through their vanilla. What I didn’t realize was that this would be vanilla bean and absolutely amazing. It was just so rich and creamy. And I seriously don’t think I’ve ever seen so many vanilla beans. I was in heaven. I can’t wait to go back (many, many) times over the Summer.

Raw Local Milk

Raw Local Milk

Another place I hope to frequent this Summer is Eastleigh Farm; they’re a local business that sells their own raw milk, and have faced many troubles from the State and raw milk controversy. They’ll get our support; and I can’t wait to try their cheese and ice cream!

Chickpea Salad With Raw Ingredients

Chickpea Salad With Raw Ingredients

And, yes, I got my raw meal for the day despite the closing of Grezzo’s. This was a simple salad starting with spinach and arugala in this raw dressing. Then I added mulberries, chickpeas, sea salt, and cheddar organic raw cheese from Next Generation Dairy.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

13 Responses to “An Eventful Day In Boston Part 2”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Wow – those gelato flavors all sound amazing – I love the things you can find in Boston!

ahh love the authenticity of hte north end!! my brother lives right on hanover!! I dont know how he does it with all the amazing food that surrounds him every single day when he walks outside!! and PICCO is amazing!!!

Good luck on the last final Evan! Just think how AMAZING it will feel to be completely done!

Yummmm…all that Italian goodness for just eight bucks? Score!

Good luck on the last final! Are you from Boston?…accent?

No accent. I think Ive lived my life just far enough from the city to escape it 😉

Good luck on your final! Do you have a gluten intolerance? I didn’t know! And one of my favorite dishes is eggplant rolls stuffed with cheese. Mmm…

Good luck on your last final!! I hope it goes (went) well! I’m sure you’ll feel awesome to be done and have the whole summer in front of you. 🙂

And I love the North End!! That eggplant dish looks amazing and ridiculously cheap! …and the gelato? Even better!!

Good luck on your final! Mmm, those olives look amazing. That olive oil looks perfect for dipping bread in. 🙂

You’re so right–vanilla bean is so much more flavorful than regular old vanilla. Yum, yum! Hope your final went well!

YES!!! I 10000% agree that vanilla is the way to go if you want to know just how good an ice-cream or gelato is. If you say their vanilla is awesome, I bet it’s like…incredible. Ahhh good luck on that final!!! Don’t worry too much I bet you rocked it. 🙂

Is it sad that I have never had gelato?!

i’ve never had raw milk before and am definitely curious!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

