So Good I Could Cry

Posted on May 19, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

What a wonderful response to my freshmen review this morning.

But that’s not what my title is referring to. It’s referring mostly to this:

Sushi And Fudge

Sushi And Fudge

Sushi and fudge on a Wednesday for lunch. I think a tear just went into my wasabi(I’m joking, of course; I hate wasabi). I picked out this sushi at Whole Foods the other day and ended up not wanting it for dinner. I love when the Genji people make a custom order just for me 🙂 I’ve been craving raw salmon for too long; I’m surprised I didn’t end up curled in a ball in the corner clutching a can of salmon. This hit the perfect spot.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

Vegan Chocolate Fudge

And what’s more extravagant than fudge? My refrigerator will never be without fudge again, methinks.

Starbucks Extra Bold Decaf

Starbucks Extra Bold Decaf

And this! Oh my, words cannot express my enjoyment. You see, when we went to the auction a few weeks ago, my parents won more Starbucks coffee than you can dream of in a raffle. I’ve been weening off of it, moving to teccino, iced tea, or just water. But today I held nothing back. Absolutely dreamy.

Green Beans

Green Beans

My hunger was still up even without running so I noshed on sting beans while doing some reflecting. You see, even though I haven’t ran the past 2 days, today felt like my first true “rest” day in too long. Without schoolwork and with crappy weather, I gave myself full license to do nothing. If I had on a pedometer, it’d read about an 8. And that gave me time to dream up things like oatmeal. Dreamy, creamy oatmeal…

Pumpkin Flax Oatmeal

Pumpkin Flax Oatmeal

Pumpkin Flax Oatmeal

  • Oats
  • Crunchy peanut butter
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Flax seeds
  • Molasses

Oh, hello; this was a recreation of one of my favorite granolas and it did not disappoint. I forgot what a sweet and distinctive flavor molasses has.

Gluten-Free Biscuits

Gluten-Free Biscuits

OK, I did do a little work today. I whipped out the food processor and got baking. I blame this post which had me craving KFC biscuits–sweet, flaky, butter biscuits. I used this recipe and followed it to a T, but since I didn’t have a biscuit cutter, I kept them square and made 8.

Protein Hummus

Protein Hummus

I also whipped up some Mama Pea inspired protein hummus. Just chickpeas, tofu, garlic powder, onion powder, sea salt, and lemon juice. So simple!

Hummus Salad With Raw Veggies And Hummus Chips

Hummus Salad With Raw Veggies And Hummus Chips

Gluten-Free Biscuit

Gluten-Free Biscuit

Dinner was a simple hummus salad with raw veggies and hummus chips. On the side, of coarse, was a fresh biscuit patted with earth balance. Did I die and go to carb heaven tonight? I wish I had a marathon to eat for tomorrow; I don’t, but I’ll happily eat like I do. After this, I threw another one in the microwave and ate that, too. Who can resist biscuits when they’re fresh?

Did you ever love KFC? I remember eating there 1 a week in my childhood. Probably not the best habit, huh? My favorite thing on their menu was their thick cut, seasoned fries, and then their biscuits were a close second. And their mac n’ cheese–Yum! I actually didn’t care so much for the chicken thinking back.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

20 Responses to “So Good I Could Cry”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

I never ate KFC as a child! I’ve heard tons of good things about their mac n cheese and biscuits, but I guess I wasn’t allowed it? I had one of those layered bowls a couple years ago, but didn’t feel to great after… can’t imagine why;)

I want that fudge.
And protein hummus sounds like a great idea! I’ll definitely have to pick up some tofu and try it!

I loved KFC! Their chicken breast…the fries were never thick-cut here…kind of like McD fries I think..
God this post!!! Can you send me that FUDGE??!! Toooooo freaking good looking.
And raw salmon?? Wouldn’t that make you sick though 😉 ?…I don’t know though obviously! I don’t even do sushi…yet…

Holy Moly!
Sushi+Vegan Fudge? LOOVED IT!
😉
Loved your blog, girl!
Wish you a lovely week!
Brazilian XOXO´s,
Gabriela

Again – so sorry!
Wrong blog!
Loved the new layout, though 😀
Have a great week, Evan!
Brazilian XOXO´s,
Gabriela

Everything looks so yummy! I’ve been wanting to try your fudge for awhile…I should just do that!
I’m proud to say that I’ve never set foot inside a KFC, and I never plan to!

I am a southern girl that never got on board with fried chicken…I know gasp! I do love a fluffy biscuit, but that is because my grandmother made them for us. We used to eat the uncooked dough while she made them. I used the Bob’s Red Mill gluten free biscuit mix for my husband and he loved it!

I thought they had a biscuit mix; I’ll have to try it out. I just used the all purpose mix and a recipe from their site. I love that xanthan and guar gum are pantry staples so I can do that on the fly.

Haha, KFC used to be my favorite restaurant back in the day. I used to love their chicken strips and their biscuits. And I’d usually get a side of mashed potatoes and gravy. I’m sorry that happened, haha. But it’s all in the past…

Hopefully I’ll finally make homemade hummus tomorrow. Then I’d love to have it on a salad or with baby carrots!

Last post, was the best post ever. You also have a few other stellar ones that you linked back to that I was like, oh good, he put that one in there.

“I regretted waking up to this and thinking it was like a one night stand.”
OMG LOL. You know those “not purdy” carrots i made (good one btw!) well I had to nuke the PB to get it all out and in like 10 secs the jar was tipping. Whoa. BPA much?

I cant believe you truly dont drink. Other than nilla extract 🙂 I didnt really drink in college per se. I drank ages 21-29 hard core. I was actually too busy studying in college to party. I know, total good child and perfectionist and studied my butt off. I think it’s amazing that you study, and cut thru beer games in your pj’s to go fetch ice cream. and live without regrets.

and it’s fabulous that the worst things youve been told are you eat too much brock. wtf?! and that you dont have a life or blog too much. well, they’re reading it, arent they.

kfc. loved the cole slaw. the dressing was extra sweet. 25 yrs later, nothings changed, i still love (vegan) slaw dressing!

The only thing I remember about eating KFC when I was younger was the biscuits! They were darn tasty…

The only thing I liked there was their mac-n-cheese. For some reason I hated chicken as a child.

Lol…glad you got your biscuits! Ella is still waiting for hers 🙂

Never loved KFC. But have always loved vegan chocolate fudge. 😉

OH my gosh, it’s been way too long since I’ve had a good piece of fudge. Your fudge always looks so amazing. (haha, that sounded so weird!!).

I use molasses in my own granola, and it really is quite a distinctive flavor. I don’t even cook mine and that flavor comes out.

I used to eat at Boston Chicken (now Boston Market) ALL the time as a kid, but never KFC. I always ordered the meatloaf, creamed spinach, and mashed taters. Oh, and their cornbread. NOT the healthiest choices, at all!

Oh God, Boston Market makes THE BEST cornbread. I think I now have a new recipe I’ll have to dream up

I love rest days :D. I never liked KFC, even when I was really into processed foods in elementary school. We rarely got takeaway if ever, since my dad always cooked. Also, congrats again on being done! Can you believe how fast freshman year went?!

I used to eat at KFC. I hate their chicken, mashed potatoes, and gravy. Hahaha… I did, however, love their biscuits. I always loaded up on those. Now I’ll have to make some biscuits! Btw, check out South Park’s episode with KFC if you haven’t already seen it. Hilarious!

Shockingly, I have never eaten at a KFC. I always thought their mashed potatoes looked good though.

when i was a kid my folks got KFC like once a week. they considered it “healthy” fast food. man those biscuits were good.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

