What 2 Semesters Have Taught Me

Posted on May 19, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

To be honest, I wasn’t sure about doing a post like this. Would I be flaming any fires? Would I or anyone be amused? If ever pen was going to be put to paper(or fingers to keyboard), it was going to be when the memories are fresh. So I dove right in…

What I learned…as a blogger

  • I kicked off the year buying my own domain and haven’t looked back.
  • I’ve learned that you might get anonymous commenter telling you you eat too much broccoli, but that really you couldn’t possibly eat too much broccoli
  • You might also commenters telling you your nights are lackluster and plugging their own blogs. But if you enjoy your time, and someone is sitting at a computer screen reading things they don’t even like, who’s really losing out?
  • I had my first blogger meet-up.

What I learned…as a student

  • I learned some really really dirty words in Latin between Catullus and Petronius.
  • I’m a much better essayist than I give myself credit for.
  • Acing a class you take without a grade might be a kicker, but the more important part is taking a class stress-free and for fun.
  • Sometimes, you need to devote a whole week to mental health.

What I learned…as a runner

  • The treadmill is not the dreadmill to me; to me, it’s a friend
  • You meet good people at the gym, some of whom you might inspire.
  • You can always achieve your goal with enough effort(and fuel).

What I learned…as a foodie

  • Grezzo’s first inspired me to eat more raw, and then it closed.
  • I can now cook a mean hash.
  • With an oven, eating healthy doesn’t have to be hard; it just takes time.
  • Garden Grille and Nick’s On Broadway will both be getting my business next year.
  • The Whole Foods salad bar makes the best… everything.

What I learned…as a person

  • It’s OK to walk through a room of people playing beer pong in your PJ’s to get ice cream.
  • Emma Watson can be pretty elusive.
  • The Today Show has become my number #1 and only source of news.
  • If you want to go to bed at 9:30, who the hell is stopping you?
  • I fell in love. Not with anyone, but with Rhode Island. The smallest state has taken a big place in my heart, much like it has for Heather and Sabrina. I don’t know what to say; I didn’t expect for this to happen. I’ve lived in the same house 17 years and this was the first time I could see myself living anywhere else and being happy.

Regrets?

Well, here are my regrets from the last 12 hours.

Almond Milk Chocolate Attune

Almond Milk Chocolate Attune

I regret not eating this Attune Almond Milk Chocolate bar for almost 3 months, because it was delicious. If you’ve ever had a hershey’s almond bar, that’s exactly what this was like, except all-natural and with probiotics. Rich and creamy with a nutty crunch–yum!

Dagoba Chai Ginger Milk Chocolate

Dagoba Chai Ginger Milk Chocolate

I regret thinking I must be a milk chocolate person now and ever buying this. You’d think it’d be good, right? Well, the chai was just too strong, and there was hardly any ginger. Don’t get me wrong: I ate it, because even when chocolate’s bad, it’s good. But I’m just not blown away by Dagoba.

365 OIAJ

365 OIAJ

I regretted pouring hot oats into this jar the second I noticed it starting to slant. But I’m willing to throw caution to the wind and risk a little melted plastic every once and a while. I know; I’m a rebel 😉

Empty Nut Butter Jar

Empty Nut Butter Jar

I regretted waking up to this and thinking it was like a one night stand.

Oatmeal With Almond Butter And Slivered Almonds, Fig YIAJ

Oatmeal With Almond Butter And Slivered Almonds, Fig YIAJ

I regretted not planning out the slivered almonds beforehand, so that when I went to grab them everything fell out of the cupboard and a bag of guar gum even fell into my oats. After a little clean-up, I was good to go with Earth Balance almond butter.

Yogurt In A Fig Jam Jar

Yogurt In A Fig Jam Jar

I regret not getting plain greek yogurt more often, because how good does it taste when you get to add your own jam, really? It’s even tastier when you get to add your yogurt to the jam jar instead of the other way around 😀

But, in general, no regrets. How could anyone live a certain way for the better part of a year and regret it? That’d be a nightmare. I don’t regret that my greatest intake of alcohol over the year has been from vanilla extract. I don’t regret not joining some god awful chorus group that meets past when I want to be in bed. I don’t regret the amount of time and effort I put into things. I just don’t live with regrets, and that keeps me happy. My first day of freedom is cold, and rainy, but I’m pretty sure that makes it perfect for movies, popcorn, and staring at the piles of things to put away thinking “Well that’s just not happening today.” What’s the weather like where you are?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

25 Responses to “What 2 Semesters Have Taught Me”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Sounds like a successful year!

nice. i should do a recap like that for my own sake too. also, you have the best jams!

Haha, nice post! I was going to do something very similar after I finished my last final on Thursday! And I go to bed at 8:30; though it keeps me from doing a few things and joining a few groups, I enjoy my sleep and I enjoy getting up at 5 to go to the gym and get some running done. Glad you learned a lot, I did too!

nice recap!

i feel like i learned so much my freshman year of college – you definitely grow and change so much 🙂

so jealous of your summer freedom!

it’s so cool to look back at all you’ve learned. blogging is such a great tool to be able to archive your thoughts!

I want to try some fig things; is jam a good way to go?

Definitely! Fig jam is one of my favorite. Paired with a little honey, it’s like eating straight from Greece

Cute, funny post! I especially like the points about Emma Watson and loving the state of RI. It makes me really excited to go off to college this fall and live in a new part of the country. Seriously.

I loved reading this post! Its definitely okay to walk past people playing beer pong to get your ice cream 🙂

No regrets is one of my favorite sayings, I always remind myself of it going into races.

You had me at fig jam! Yum. I love what you have learned. 🙂

haha best blog ever 😉

What are you studying in school? Classics?

I was a classics major at Pitt! I have learned many a dirty word in Latin. Not so much in Greek, because I took Greek at a Christian school and we translated the New Testament–that was pretty clean 😉

Yep! Very cool to meet another Classicist! I just wrapped up my 2nd year of Greek and my… 7th? of Latin. I’ll probably major in Classics and history or classics and linguistics

Awesome! I had a total of seven years of Latin. I even teach it to homeschooled students now (even though I have no certification at all). Latin is my one true love–but don’t tell my husband. I did minor in Philosophy. Plato is my other love (once again, don’t tell my husband)!

We classicists are a dying breed!!

Awww…love this post!! And your Emma Watson comment cracked me up 🙂

It’s always ok to walk by beer pong for ice cream, especially in your pjs. I did my own thing at college and had a blast.

melted plastic? totally okay in my book if the oats were good 🙂 sounds like you had a pretty great year 🙂

This is one of my favorite posts of yours. I feel that we both learned similar things as a person recently.

who needs a college education when you’ve got a blog 🙂

I loved reading through this year’s accomplishments! Great post:)
PS Fig jam sounds pretty phenom.

Windy!! And cool. I’m also not blown away by Dagoba. Great minds think alike? Maybe!

Wow I love this post…y’know I really respect that you do what makes YOU happy…I know alot of people can judge…I still think your too young not to go out and live alittle more – there’s aLOT out there to do besides food and blogging…
But the bottom line? That your happy…cause that’s ALL that matters…

amazing reflection. i love seeing posts like this, because you always need to take a look back, see how far you’ve come, learn what you’ve learned and head on into the future.

and eat more broccoli.

that’s pretty obvious though.

🙂

Awesome post. I know it sounds really cliche, but living without regrets really is the way to go. Everything is an opportunity to learn, so why should you regret it?

Best Post Ever. Will elaborate in the most current post…


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

