Too Much Nature For Me

Posted on May 20, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Sometimes, I have to look at how my post makes me seem and laugh; I swear I’m not too crunchy granola, really 😉 I do have limits to my love of nature. Bloggers, do you feel like your blog persona is never the true you?

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge

Vegan Peanut Butter Fudge

I snacked on vegan peanut butter fudge before my run. Not only was I nervous about the thought of a 14-miler after 3 days of not running, but to make things work I looked out my window and say a big, black ball in my draveway. It turned out to be a wild turkey, and this one looked mean :-/ He left and soon enough I was off.

14 Miles

14 Miles

The highlight of the run, by far, was running past a beautiful, big brown cow who looked straight at me going by. The decaying possum on the side of the road I had to pass twice? Yeah, not so much. Oh, and the joy of everything was just finishing!

Raw Salad With Cherry Tomatoes And Olive Cashew Cheese, Multigrain FTSG Chips

Raw Salad With Cherry Tomatoes And Olive Cashew Cheese, Multigrain FTSG Chips

Since raw food takes no cooking, why not have a raw meal for quick post-run recovery? I mad a simple salad with arugula, spinach, basil, and olive oil, and tossed grape tomatoes in sea salt and black pepper.

Raw Olive Cashew Cheese

Raw Olive Cashew Cheese

We bought this cheese on this occasion at Grezzo’s and I finally dethawed it. Wow, is it delicious! It doesn’t really remind me of cheese, or cashews. It’s so unique. And somehow I insist I’m not that crunchy granola 😉

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

Dessert was an apple, and then I was off!

Wolf Hill Farm

Wolf Hill Farm

Raw Local Honey

Raw Local Honey

I went down to the local farm to get more honey. Apparently, I can go through almost a pound of honey a week–who knew?! I love supporting a local farmer, but… I really wish the middle aged woman running it would buy a support bra with all that support I’m giving. Now she is that crunchy granola.

Plain Chobani With Honey And Crunchy PB

Plain Chobani With Honey And Crunchy PB

This afternoon snack was a no-brainer: yogurt with honey and peanut butter. So good! It helps to mask that plain favor I despise so much. Have you seen the new blue containers? I think I dig them more than the pink, but it’ll take some getting used to.

Coconut Ice Cream With Crunchy PB

Coconut Ice Cream With Crunchy PB

And before dinner I polished off a coconut coconut milk ice cream to make room in the freezer. Adding peanut butter to ice cream is never as good than ice cream with peanut butter already in it. I think it needs a little extra sweetness.

Black Beans With Daiya, Peppered Potato Wedges With Caramelized Onions

Black Beans With Daiya, Peppered Potato Wedges With Caramelized Onions

Dinner was a lot of carbs with a new recipe! I’ll be posting it Saturday night, so potato fans keep an eye out 😉 I have just come to love the white potato over the past few weeks. Maybe I was Irish in a past life? The only thing that disgust me is cleaning the potato itself, especially once it’s started to grow stars. Ew, ew, ew! Too much nature for me.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Too Much Nature For Me”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

i love that you have lots of raw meals! i guess summer does that to people!
ps. cant wait to splurge on a jar of raw honey … whenever that is…

You saw a cow on your run?! That makes me jealous actually. That and the honey 😉

They’re a lot more fun to look at running past than to smell 🙂

Hah! at the support comment.

The farm sign with the hanging available produce made me smile – there’s a local farm around here that often has ‘marijuana’ stuck in there…only in NH!

Is the coconut ice cream flavor much different from the vanilla bean?…they look the same…;)(of course – duh I know). Love honey – but maple syrup more 🙂

Must. Find. Daiya.

The funny thing is I think I’m way more crunchy granola than I think I come off on my blog! If I added it all together I’ve probably spent more than a year of my life living in a tent. But I also like to wear dresses and sneak almond butter onto airplanes.

Haha, this post made me laugh. A lot.

I don’t know how much of my personality comes through my posts, but I agree with you on the “crunchy granola” part. I think you can be all natural/raw/organic without jumping into the deep end, if you know what I mean.

Sometimes I toy with the idea of doing a “vlog” post…I think that really lets people know your personality. But I don’t know…I’m still thinking about it…

LMAO:
“I really wish the middle aged woman running it would buy a support bra with all that support I’m giving. Now she is that crunchy granola.”

Oh that is just classic.

I think on my blog I come off as possibly not who i “really” am..but i dont even know who that is 🙂 i am crunchy, i am opinionated, i am flower child, but i am also a mercedes driving fine dining loving person. i am a real mixture. I have no idea if how i come off is really what i am. Then again, there are ppl who know me IRL who only know one side of me anyway. GREAT question!

Lol…your first question is funny. My sister was just talking about how much more upbeat and cheerful (she might have used the word “manic”) I am on my blog. In real life, I’m pretty low-key and quiet, but I get on my blog, and I am ALL about the exclamation points. 🙂

I love local honey!! In Louisiana, we get clover honey, and it is SO good.

ahhh…i saw sheep and some horses when i was in the field yesterday…and i even waved at them. i feel like they smiled right back at me.

it’s crazy when i see zebras looking at you though. that was in TX. ;D

great job on the vegan fudge?! but do you know how it compares texture and taste wise to REAL fudge? it’s the only kind i’ve ever made, and i’m too cheap to buy coconut oil.

I feel like my blog is a pretty good persona of me. I feel like I write with a voice which is how I normally talk.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

