A Night At The Museum

Posted on May 23, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I like to think I’m not stereotypical “meat and potatoes”, but…

Ground Beef, Potatoes, Olive Oil, Rosemary, Basil, Paprika, And Sea Salt

Ground Beef, Potatoes, Olive Oil, Rosemary, Basil, Paprika, And Sea Salt

My lunch yesterday comprised of meat and potatoes might argue differently. I did not realize what a great flavor paprika was for a smokiness! This whole dish was herby goodness. And it felt good to refuel after my slowish 10 mile-run.

Cantaloupe And Virgil's Root Beer

Cantaloupe And Virgil's Root Beer

We did our grocery shopping in the afternoon; beforehand, I grabbed some things from Whole Food and made it snack time.

Virgil's Root Beer

Virgil's Root Beer

I had a major craving for the real deal root beer, so I gave Virgil’s Root Beer a try because it was among the cheaper varieties and I remembered Mama Pea toting Papa Pea’s love for it here. ‘Twas alright; I don’t think I picked up all the subtle flavors listed as ingredients but it was a fun change of pace.

Chickpea-Raw Mozzarella Salad, Raw Almond Butter

Chickpea-Raw Mozzarella Salad, Raw Almond Butter

Back home I made a quickie-early dinner with a stick of Next Generation Dairy Raw Probiotic Mozarella and part of a can of chickpeas, all over spinach dressed in Foods Alive‘s Sweet & Sassy. Yum! for a sweet dessert, there was an Artisana Almond Butter sample eaten with a spoon. I swear it tasted like marzipan, it was that good.

Boston Skyline

Boston Skyline

Last night, I had a reunion of sorts held in the Museum Of Science’s skyline suite. Love that dirty water, Boston you’re my home.

Mixed Colored Vegetables, Beets And Golden Beets, Almond Encrusted Salmon

Mixed Colored Vegetables, Beets And Golden Beets, Almond Encrusted Salmon

I honestly had no faith in the food that’d be there so I was packing tofu and larabars, but I was pleasantly surprised to see loads of vegetables and wild salmon. I actually only had about 2 bites of the salmon–wasn’t in the mood–but grabbed a 2nd, equal-sized plates of vegetables and put those away too. I definitely run on plant power.

Newman's Own Organics' Super Dark Chocolate

Newman's Own Organics' Super Dark Chocolate

French Bulk Chocolate

French Bulk Chocolate

Dessert after a show was a Newman’s Own Organicssuper dark chocolate bar, and then a little bulk baker’s chocolate at home… times two… plus baby carrots. Have I mentioned I’m an insomniac every Saturday night?! That’s turning in to a frustrating habit…

Oatmeal With Raw Cashew Butter And Honey

Oatmeal With Raw Cashew Butter And Honey

2% Fage With Organic Strawberry Conserves

2% Fage With Organic Strawberry Conserves

Why is Fage so good?! It’s also the most expensive Greek yogurt brand around here, but it’s been on sale, and magically delicious. Take that, Lucky Charms.

What do you buy in bulk? Working with a 3-foot fridge and a tiny room, it was hard to buy anything in bulk all year long. Since coming home, I’ve started buying 5 pound bags of organic potatoes. And now I’ve done the math and discovered that if you buy the gourmet baking chocolate by the pound from Whole Foods, it’s cheaper than buying chocolate bars, so I’m sure I’ll be taking advantage of that from now one.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “A Night At The Museum”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Oh Boston is so lovely.
I’m a single girl on a limited budget, so buying most things in bulk is out of my price range – I get paid, I go buy food. But I like to buy bags of apples and sweet taters, it is cheaper that way. But…um…chocolate by the pound? Thanks for the tip!

Chocolate in bulk.
Nice pictures! Love to visit Boston.
I love Cashew Butter – but never had it raw…I’m not a fan of the Artisana butters in general though…weird, but true. I still have more to try though ;)…I like the Nuts To You Cashew Butter here in Canada..and love Maranatha!

lol…yes, Fage is magically delicious. I agree with you– none of the other Greek yogurts on the market even compare.

I love root beer…hardly ever drink it for some reason, but sometimes I just get a hankering for it.

We buy nuts, raisins, granola, rice, steel cut oats all in bulk!

Boston is my favorite city in the US 🙂
I’m pretty jealous that you get to live there!

I always buy oats in bulk!

Those meat and potatoes look really good!
I tend not to buy in bulk because I never end up using all of the stuff before it goes bad.
Fage… mmm…

Virgils makes my all time favorite root beer, it makes for an excellent root beer float!

oats! My mom always complains about how much room the hugh jass containers take up. Sadly enough, I can go through them in 2 weeks flat. I’m addicted and I’m not afraid to admit it.

It is definitely hard as a college student to buy in bulk. The only thing I can really get away with buying in bulk is Kashi bars and cereals.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

