Mean Miles And Extra Special Blondies

Posted on May 23, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Recipe | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

And here I thought a party at the Museum of Science’s skyline suite what special, I had no idea the blondies I’d be cooking up today.

Endangered Species Milk Chocolate With Peanut Butter

Endangered Species Milk Chocolate With Peanut Butter

Endangered Species chocolate = amazing pre-running fuel. The milk chocolate with a hint of peanut butter let me down the first time I had it, but now I feel like I get that hint–really subtle hint.

10 Miles

10 Miles

I had fun kind of running around the town and found a new route I liked that came across a reservoir. And it just so happened to be an even number of miles! I love it when that works out. And then I was stahvin’ for a good lunch.

Sweet Potato With BBQ Beans, Tofu, And Mighty Maple

Sweet Potato With BBQ Beans, Tofu, And Mighty Maple

Finishing off a jar of Mighty Maple is always tragic; at least it’s redeemed when it’s in a killer way. A sweet potato with BBQ baked beans, raw tofu chunks, and a scoop of the good stuff. Um, yum. Am I blessed to love the texture of raw, soft tofu or what?

Red Delicious Apple

Red Delicious Apple

This afternoon snack was missing something…

365 Creamy PB

365 Creamy PB

Perfect. Who says you need to eat the peanut butter on the apple? They taste fine separate 😀

Tonight, we’re having guests over. I wanted to recreate this recipe. The result was nothing more than “special”, extra “special”. It’s gluten-free and vegan. There are specks of vanilla bean in the batter. And it just tastes damn good. How could it not(with 2 sticks of earth balance)?

Extra Special Blondies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 sticks non-hydrogenated margarine
  • 1 cup all-purpose GF baking blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum(optional)
  • 2 tablespoons non-dairy milk
  • 2 teaspoons white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla paste(or vanilla extract)
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Recipe: Extra Special Blondies

Preheat your oven to 350 and let the margarine sit at room temperature for 30 minutes before working with it. Cream the margarine and the sugar in a large bowl. Sift in all ingredients from flour to xanthan gum(if using). Add the liquids and vanilla paste and mix thoroughly with a large spoon or rubber spatula. Add the chocolate chips and mix until evenly distributed. Press into an 8×8 baking pan and bake for35-40 minutes or until the center is set. Remove from the oven and let cool for 30 minutes before slicing. Makes 12 servings.

Now are those fattening, err… “special”, or what?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Mean Miles And Extra Special Blondies”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Great run! God, your mileage is insane…I’m a nut butter addict…are you one of those people that measure out your butters?? I can’t do it and can go through jars…on a spoon, on bread, pitas, oatmeal, whatever!..

I love me some blondies. I’m sure they were a hit!

Fattening or not, I’m sure those blondies were delish!

Mmmm…that tofu looks really good on the sweet potato. I’ll have to try that out!

Great run!

Ha, I like even numbers too…kind of like heads or tails. I always pick heads. Weird, huh?

Blondies look amazing; I want to see the inside!

MMm love the sound of that SP lunch! BBQ, baked beans, and maple–YUM!

great job on GF’ing AND veganizing the blondies! yay for that! ok so you will have to give us the taste verdict. Wait, damn good suffices 🙂

last post, fueled by plants and turning down salmon, you’re awesome

this post, raw tofu. I like tofu one way only: well done, not mushy, very dense. That is one food i cannot handle in a raw/uncooked state.

Have a great monday!

raw tofu is so good. so so good.

I love Blondies!!! Much better than regular brownies!

Do you not make Oats in a Jar when you’ve gone through your nut butters? When I finish a jar it’s definitely an exciting moment that I can have OIAJ again.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

