72 Bitter-Sweet Hours

Posted on May 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

What could have been bitter? Over the past 72 hours, I…

As if that wasn’t all sweet enough, last night was a blast, too. We had family friends over for dinner. There were hors d’oeuvres…

Cheddar Food Should Taste Good Chips

Cheddar Food Should Taste Good Chips

I snacked on raw carrots and grape tomatoes and these Food Should Taste Good chips I had to try after hearing them referred to as Doritos. I disagree; they’re much classier and mroe sophisticated than Doritos. but they definitely have that Mexican tang that regular cheddar chips don’t. Anyway, yum!

Seasoned Fries, Roasted Brussels, Chipotle Chicken

Seasoned Fries, Roasted Brussels, Chipotle Chicken

I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of all the food; there was a lot! But this was my plate: potato fries(I made these for myself because there were only sweet potatoes otherwise and I wanted white), roasted brussels, and chipotle marinated Amish chicken. The chicken was remarkably good, and that’s coming from someone who usually thinks poultry is too “bland”. I suppose we would have expected no less from something grabbed from Whole Food.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

My mom made chocolate covered strawberries for dessert while I baked these blondies and our guests brought ice cream. It was all plenty rich for us.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Blondie With Tahitian Vanilla Gelato

Vegan Chocolate Chip Blondie With Tahitian Vanilla Gelato

This was my first plate. I get the irony of Talenti gelato on a dairy-free blondie but I don’t care; this was too good for words. The blondies came out so moist and everyone loved them.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Blondie

Vegan Chocolate Chip Blondie

I didn’t really take pictures of what else I ate but just assume I kept picking at the blondies and that’s why there’s less than half the pan left. After everyone left, I turned on Iron Chef and curled up with this:

Bulk French Chocolate

Bulk French Chocolate

Buying chocolate in bulk was a genius move. I have no idea how much chocolate this was, but it was all excellent. And there’s something so satisfying about biting in to a chunk of chocolate.

Today is being devoted to leftovers:

Oatmeal With Peanut Butter, Chipotle Chicken

Oatmeal With Peanut Butter, Chipotle Chicken

Lots and lots of leftovers:

Chipotle Chicken

Chipotle Chicken

I wasn’t “feeling” greek yogurt this morning for protein, so why not chicken just to get it out of the fridge before it goes bad? I’m curious how this is going to play out on a run…

So what’s been bitter? Over the past 72 hours, I tried going without stevia. I don’t use any artificial sweeteners, but have often used natural stevia in tea and coffee and a few other things. I’ve never gotten a bitter taste to it; it’s always been sweetness. And I think it’s perfectly fine in moderation and all. But, trying to go without it, I noticed my sweet tooth in general grew smaller and I discovered so many other pleasantly-bitter flavors.

Starbucks Sumatra Decaf

Starbucks Sumatra Decaf

I’ve been drinking black coffee, unsweetened iced tea, and dry seltzer, all of whose flavor I’ve been enjoying more and more without added sweetness. It took just a little getting used to, but I don’t really miss anything.

Virgil's Root Beer

Virgil's Root Beer

I did get one craving for a sweet drink, so I just had one sweetened with cane juice. This wasn’t my favorite beverage, but that was because of the flavoring and not the sweetening. I’m totally open to trying more, too.

2% Fage With Organic Strawberry Conserves

2% Fage With Organic Strawberry Conserves

Plain yogurt has become less repulsive in all its tart-glory. It helped to find Fage on sale, which is creamier and dreamier than any other brand in my opinion, but the same holds true for Oikos and Chobani plain.

French Bulk Chocolate

French Bulk Chocolate

And, of course, my favorite bitter treat is, was, and always will be, dark chocolate, which doesn’t need much to taste juuuust right. Have you ever had/used stevia? Like it? Hate it? I do enjoy it and think there’s nothing wrong with using it. But even now that the 72 hours are up I’m not rushing to throw some in my drinks.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

20 Responses to “72 Bitter-Sweet Hours”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That blondie with the ice cream just looks delicious. Yum! I have had stevia and it is fine for me. I’ve never baked with it, I just use regular sugar.

Blondies….yum! I do use stevia. I like NuNaturals stevia and I cook/bake with it all the time!

Yum, that vegan blondie is calling my name! I enjoy using stevia in my coffee and tea on occasion, and I like to carry a couple of packets around with me in case I ever want to use it while I’m out. I haven’t had any experience baking with it though. šŸ˜‰

Those blondies look so good!

I have tried stevia and I still use it, but I use Truvia mostly. I haven’t tried NuNaturals yet but I hear great things about it.

Jenn

I use truvia and its become easier to eat bitter things with it…I mean duh, cause it sweetens it up. But yes, I’ve also found that I’ve had a bigger sweet tooth since introducing it into my diet.

I’m a big stevia fan. I do get a kind of funny aftertaste with it, but overall, I like it!

Those blondies look SO moist. Excellent work. šŸ™‚

i am TOTALLY with you on the sweetener thing – i have cut down too, and throughout the years, have notice i prefer my coffee unsweetened, like plain yogurt more instead of sweetened, drink tea plain and all that. just goes to show – addictions (ahem, sugar) can be changed with little tweaks over time!

and i love that you ate chicken and oatmeal for breakfast. awesome.

Mmm, love blondies so much!

I definitely enjoy stevia but not too much of it…I don’t any sweetener to coffee but never really have so I guess I’m just used to the taste!

I have never tried stevia, and I don’t usually sweeten things except for my coffee, and it’s usually plain old refined sugar. Tea gets sweetened with almond milk, and that’s about it for what I drink other than water.

I totally need to try my chocolate-covered strawberry recipe that I have now that I see those..

i love stevia… i very rarely eat desserts, but i use stevia in a lot of lemonade these days as it’s such a refreshing, alkalizing drink. and a drop here and there in tea and salad dressings.

I can’t imagine eating chicken in the morning! I’m interested in seeing how it goes with your run…

I like using stevia, but I do try to use other sweeteners (or none at all) to mix it up a little. I usually don’t sweeten my tea or coffee, but I find that if I do sweeten it, I start craving more sugar in everything. Funny how it works that way.

I have tried stevia & while I don’t think it tastes as bad as splenda, etc, I still find it to be WAY sweeter than regular sugar, so that puts me off it a little. Still opening to trying it again though.

You had me at chocolate covered strawberries. Yum.

I’ve never tried Stevia and I don’t think I will. If I’m going to have sweet I’ll use regular sugar. This is currently my position but that may change. šŸ˜‰

Food Should Taste GOod always makes the best chips. Have you tried their blue corn tortilla chips? they are to die for!

blondies look good too!

I’m not a huge stevia fan. I don’t go crazy with the artificial sweeteners, I just reserve them for my occasional diet coke!

for some reason I am so amused at the fact that you ate your chicken alongside oats and peanut butter. Only you Evan, only you.

you’re right – the cheddar chips ARE more sophisticated than doritos. but that is what they reminded me of!

Yes! A picture of a cut blondie…they really do look super moist and delicious!

I’ve used stevia before in odd combinations of protein powder and such, but I’m not a regular user. I’m not really opposed to it, but I do think that it’s preferable to go without it.

I used to LOVE really sweet things, but as I got older and my outlook on what I was putting in my body changed, so did my tastes. I still like sweet stuff, but I prefer natural sugars. But today I probably ate half my weight in dark chocolate. It was a total major craving.

I use it very rarely, usually in winter when I want a sweet cinnamony oatmeal.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

