If Today Was Your Last Day

Posted on May 24, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update, Product Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

10 Miles

10 Miles

Sure enough, just when I was thinking of cutting my run short at the halfway point after 5 miles, Nickelback’s If Today Was Your Last Day came up on my ipod shuffle and had me thinking, “If today were my last day(I’m pretty sure this is more grammatically correct but then again I study dead languages for a living), would I want to go out knowing I gave in on my last run?” At that, I kept on running and did another loop. But that same song had me thinking all day long.

Chickpeas Cooking

Chickpeas Cooking

If today was my last day, I’d knock off all the recipes I want to make over the Summer(listed here). I didn’t do all of them, but I did do 1: chickpeas from their dry state. This was so simple, and much cheaper. How had I not gotten on this before? Besides, fresh chickpeas make for the best lunches.

Olive Oil Seared Chickpeas, Grilled Sweet Potato Chunks, Onion, And Spinach Salad, Root Beer

Olive Oil Seared Chickpeas, Grilled Sweet Potato Chunks, Onion, And Spinach Salad, Root Beer

Virgil's Root Beer

Virgil's Root Beer

If today was my last day, I’d eat tons of fried food and drink through a brewery. Since it’s not, I stuck with pan-fried chickpeas and root beer. Oh my. When chickpeas take on olive oil is better than When Harry Met Sally, I’m just saying. Add in a cold one, and it’s a little sinly.

Green & Black's Ginger Dark Chocolate

Green & Black's Ginger Dark Chocolate

Lulu's Maca Love Bar

Lulu's Maca Love Bar

If today was my last day, I’d eat through pounds and pounds of chocolate. You could very well make an argument that I already do that. I had a few pieces of Green & Black’s ginger dark chocolate way before my run, and then a Maca Love Bar by Lulu’s chocolate as an afternoon delight. Hmm… I learned I’m not a maca lover. But this totally had me on the vanilla and the crunchy sea salt/coconut sugar combo. How could it not?

Vanilla Coconut Milk Ice Cream, Vegan Blondie

Vanilla Coconut Milk Ice Cream, Vegan Blondie

If today was my last day, dessert would have been for dinner. Instead, dessert came before dinner. Oo la la. These blondies are just as magical the day after as leftovers. Speaking of leftovers, I probably would have baked with less earth balance if I knew I’d still have these. Vegan don’t mean skinny 😉 And So Delicious vanilla bean coconut milk ice cream. Yes, please.

Paprika Pepper Fries, Vegan Stuffed Italian Pepper

Paprika Pepper Fries, Vegan Stuffed Italian Pepper

If today was my last day, I’d have my last meal be a big, juicy piece of grass-fed beef with a whole margarita, gluten-filled pizza with fresh mozzarella up the wazoo; I’m going out guns ablazin’ and belly abloated. In this instance, a vegan stuffed pepper would have to do.

  • Tofu
  • Tempeh
  • Ketchup
  • Soy Sauce
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Fresh Basil
  • Nutritional Yeast

Stuffed in a pepper and topped with ooey, gooey Daiya goodness next to some fries with pepper and paprika. I do believe it doesn’t have to be your last day to eat good.

What would you do if today was your last day? Of course, ipod shuffle isn’t always so profound. Case in point: Sex Bomb.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

14 Responses to “If Today Was Your Last Day”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

That’s a tough question. I have no idea what I would do. That stuffed pepper looks really good!

Wow…what a tough question. I guess if today was my last day I would surround myself around the people that I love and soak up all the time I could with them!!!

If today were *really* my last day, I’d spend it with my friends & family. But since that answer is boring, I’m going to say running, eating chocolate, and dancing 😀

If today was my last day I’d have all my family and friends together and we’d eat lots of bacon, beer and cake!

Woot to the Canadian band yah!
Hah! Great pics. I wasn’t a fan of the G&B ginger chocolate…but I still ate it ;)… tofu and tempeh in your pepper?!

there is so much in the past 2 posts!

“Lulu’s Maca Love Bar”- I would not like maca IN choc. At all. And I like maca. But the packaging on that bar looks so retro and awesome.

Black coffee, no stevia and cutting back. You can practice that task. I shall continue dumping loads of it in everything LOL

Dinner party and the blondies being a hit. God. I only go to parties where there is crap being served! And they do look so moist. Nothing worse than dry pastry/baked goods.

Beans from scratch. An exercise in patience but WAY better. Indeed.

Those “doritos” chips…I had that EXACT brand in my hand over the weekend at the store, but in multigrain. Almost bought them as a changeup from mary’s crackers but then didnt. GREAT info re the cheddar flavor, vegan situation not withstanding.

Daiya. Still need to get on that too!

You said it best: If today were my last day, I’d eat pounds and pounds of chocolate.

Oh Evan, I knew I liked you–so few people have an awareness of the subjunctive tense. yes, I am a total English grammar nerd.
Oh, and how awesome would that vanilla coconut ice cream be in a root beer float? Just sayin’.

I’d gather up my friends and family and have a huge ice cream party

I’d probably cry, LOL.

Love the chickpea salad! YUM

Jenn

haha this is great!! I love when a song on my iPod makes me run longer…and leaves me thinking.

It’s hard to say what I’d really do if today were my last day (besides cry!), but I think I’d definitely do a lot of eating…especially dessert and chocolate. I mean, who wants to go out eating health food (not I!). 😉

Maca tastes pretty nutty, which you don’t expect from a little white powder. I have learned just to start expecting the flavor.

Chocolate and coconut milk ice cream… a boy after my own heart.

I’m with you on the chocolate consumption…if it were my last day, I’d probably eat several pounds of Godiva, followed by a vat of chocolate buttercream and champagne. I’m intrigued my the idea of maca chocolate. I’ve had cocoa + maca together, but I’m surprised they actually put it in a chocolate bar!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

