Balance And Contradiction

Posted on March 14, 2010. Filed under: Daily Update | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Sometimes two things balance each other out; sometimes they’re downright contradictions. C’est la vie.

Root Beer Zevia

I used to think natural diet soda was a contradiction before Zevia. Sure–I still think there’s a contradiction when popping one of these back while enjoying a greasy, fattening burger. But contradictions make the world more tasty. Milk chocolate on soy yogurt, anyone?

High Raw Chocolate Avocado Pudding

There’s nothing wrong with the balance in Chocolate avocado pudding when it’s made completely raw utilizing 3 ingredients: avocado, Xagave, and Navitas Naturals‘ raw cacao powder. There might, however, be a contradiction in eating it next to these…

Fudge Mint Back To Nature Cookies

So maybe Fudge Mint Back To Nature cookies aren’t the most raw thing around. Sue me. And let’s gloss over the contradiction of having a gluten intolerance and eating wheat cookies; I pay for that one enough as is. So what was in balance? Well, chocolate always goes good with more chocolate. Duh 😉

Pumpkin Oatmeal With Mighty Maple And Sea Salt

This was basically one big bowl of balance. Where can you go wrong with oats and peanut butter? Or maple with pumpkin? Or the sweet taste of Mighty Maple with some coarse sea salt for contrast? Yes, yes, and yes.

Raw Mint Chip Macaroon With English Breakfast Tea

Later last night ended up being full of contradictions and out-of-balance experiences. I think the jury is pretty much out on the contradiction of drinking decaf English breakfast tea when you can’t sleep on a Saturday night 😦 The Emmy’s Organic Mint Chip Macaroon? A perfect balance of mint and chocolate, and all deliciously raw 🙂 Oh, and me and college living and anything besides a nursing home are 100% out of balance. Call me a grandpa if you will but I do not want to hear “Tonight’s gonna be a good night” at 12:30. I want it to have been a good night and have gone to bed by 11. The fact that I was having insomnia on the 1 night a year we lose an hour’s time: What was up with that?

11 Miles In 1:36:46

Waking up after a mish-moshy 6 hours of sleep, part of my body felt like running, and the other part wanted to laugh. Really? Guess which part one. I did reach a good balance between training and rest by taking a rest day yesterday, if you didn’t notice. Apparently, all it takes to keep me from running is 50mph winds, a museum tour, and more work than I know what to do with. That left my legs well rested for 11 miles in 1:36:46.

To balance out the boredom, I listened to a monster long playlist while watching a Tom & Jerry 90 minute movie on Cartoon Network(yes, they have one of those). This is a pair who really balances each other out, don’t you think? I couldn’t help but notice the contradiction in describing sounds in the closed captioning(presumably mostly for deaf viewers) with other sounds; if I were deaf, how would I have known that Tom & Jerry bouncing around sound like a pinball machine?

Peanut Butter Perfect Foods Bar, Oatmeal With White Chocolate Wonderful

Perfect Foods Peanut Butter Bar

Breakfast is always my most mentally balancing meal of the day. What goes better together than honey and peanut butter in the Peanut Butter flavor of the Perfect Foods Bar? Or the flavors of cocoa butter and peanut butter in White Chocolate Wonderful, which truly is, as my European hopping hip blogger would say, wundebar! Or just the flavors of peanut butter and more peanut butter? I know PB&Co. would agree with me on that one.

What about you? Are you feeling balanced or a little contradictory this morning? Either can be good(and tasty) as I think I’ve shown. Or, any excited Sunday plans? It’s still raining 😦 But I have le familia scheduled to arrive soon now to taxi me to Bellingham to pick-up something I preordered I’m excited for, the ever-exclusive store Target for a new oats bowl(!!), and then the usual goodies and groceries with maybe a meal in between. Sounds like a plan to me! And you can also check out this Pirate’s Booty giveaway. Or even a giveaway for Blackwell’s gelato from 100 Cafe Street!

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

17 Responses to “Balance And Contradiction”

RSS Feed for Food Makes Fun Fuel Comments RSS Feed

Sending big dorm-room sympathy hugs – I well remember trying to sleep through the weekend noise! I love reading your themed blog posts – they’re so clever! 🙂 I completely agree that peanut butter and more peanut butter, as well as chocolate and more chocolate, equals the perfect balance! 🙂

I was feeling a little unbalanced yesterday, but nothing a nap and a trip to Trader Joe’s couldn’t fix… 🙂 It’s still raining here too – I hope it clears up where you are! Looking forward to seeing the new oats bowl! 🙂

haha…contradictions make life interesting and make a post like this hilarious. well-written my friend, well-written.

i want more mighty maple in my life. for some reason, the midwest decided it did not want to carry this flavor, and i couldn’t be more pissed about it.

have a great sunday 🙂

I LOVE this ginger diet root beer! I drank so much of it last time I was in Texas!!!
Wish they would sell it here in Paris 😦

There is nothing worse than weekend nights in a dorm room when all you want to do is sleep!

Awesome run Evan! Woot!

Thats my favorite flavor of zevia. Aren’t perfect food bars the best? I love the richness of the peanut butter. And these are the ONLY bars that are an actual meal for me. No other bars really keep me full for more than 1.5-2 hours.

welcome to college my friend and the weekend shenanigans. hahah. i feel a bit out of balance today but only because my alarm didn’t go off when i wanted it too so now i feel all behind in my life ha

Oooh have fun at target. I’m camped out on the couch sick so have extra fun for me!

ah this post reminds me of that starburst commercial…”one contradiction eating another”… I really hope you’ve seen it, otherwise I probably sound so crazy… per usual.

today i balanced the hour of time loss by skipping church. whoops! but that equals out the missing hour…

I totally feel you on the noise in dorm rooms…I have no shame in going to bed at 10pm, and when I lived in the dorms some nights I would be kept up until 1 and 2 am! I started sleeping with an ipod on, and never had a problem after that!
Are you able to find Perfect Foods bars in stores, or are they online order only?

I’m still eating sample one from the companies, but from what I can tell they’re available in stores in the West

Great run!

I was a little unbalanced this morning. Carb unbalance… waaay too many. In the form of oatmeal and a cinnamon roll. 🙂 Maybe I’ll balance it out with a chicken salad for dinner. 🙂

I just posted about Zevia in a post that just went out…I am meh about it but Scott loves it and I seem to win it frequently so hey, there ya go. The contradiction post…love it all LOL
Watching a movie while listening to ipod while reading closed captioning is a very dizzying mental feeling for me. It’s like too many streams of stimuli and my brain never hones in on any of it LOL

and i suffer from the gluten prob too but the Fudge Mint Back To Nature Cookies look delish!

Oh and playlists…do you have a secret score where you either 1. get some suggestions for what to put on your list or 2. way to save $ on them?

I mean, I make them frequently and 10-15 songs and 20 bucks later from itunes gets real old…

Most of my music I’ve gotten through online downloading–not my proudest moments. I also having downloaded any in a long time, though, and am mostly out of date

balance goes out the window in favor of those thin minty things, i love em!

What’s balance?! I’m one big walking contradiction! One example? I’m a future teacher who never wants to go to class! Ew to the dorm issues – I wouldn’t be a happy camper!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...